Public schools in Bishop, CA
Bishop has 6 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 3 high, 1 middle, 2 elementary, enrolling 1,932 students. They are run by 3 districts and agencies; Bishop Unified runs 4 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 3 districts and agencies that run Bishop's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Bishop | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bishop Unified | 4 | 1,930 | $16,848 |
| Round Valley Joint Elementary | 1 | 63 | $27,302 |
| Inyo County Office of Education | 1 | 5 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
3 high schools in Bishop, 618 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bishop Union High | 608 | 18.2 | 35.5% | Bishop Unified |
| Jill Kinmont Boothe | 7 | 6.7 | not reported | Inyo County Office of Education |
| Keith B. Bright High (Juvenile Hall) | 3 | 1.6 | All free (CEP) | Bishop Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One middle school in Bishop, 414 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Street Middle | 414 | 19.3 | 48.3% | Bishop Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 elementary schools in Bishop, 900 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bishop Elementary | 832 | 18.8 | 55.9% | Bishop Unified |
| Round Valley Elementary | 68 | 11.3 | 23.5% | Round Valley Joint Elementary |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Bishop's public schools compare with California's
The median Bishop school has 18.2 students per full-time teacher, fewer than the California median of 21.6. Its median school enrolls 241 students (state 471).
| Bishop | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 18.2 | 21.6 |
| Median school size (students) | 241 | 471 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | not reported | not reported |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 75% | 74% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 13% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 6 Bishop schools and the 9,918 California schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Bishop
- Bishop UnifiedRuns 4 of Bishop's 6 public schools and spent $16,848 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,848
- Bishop Union High, the largest high school in Bishop608 students in 2024-25, 18.2 per teacher.608
- Compare Bishop Unified with Round Valley Joint ElementaryBishop's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in CaliforniaCalifornia's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Bishop addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in California
- Los Angeles564 schools
- San Diego283 schools
- San Jose232 schools
- Sacramento197 schools
- Fresno179 schools
- Bakersfield146 schools
- San Francisco123 schools
- Stockton122 schools
Questions about schools in Bishop
How many public schools are in Bishop, CA?
6 public schools with an address in Bishop were open in 2024-25: 3 high, 1 middle, 2 elementary, enrolling 1,932 students.What is the largest high school in Bishop?
Bishop Union High, with 608 students in 2024-25 (Bishop Unified).Which districts run Bishop's schools?
Bishop Unified (4 schools), Round Valley Joint Elementary (1 school), Inyo County Office of Education (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25