Washington District-Wide Elementary

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Rochester, Minnesota

Washington District-Wide Elementary in Rochester, Minnesota enrolled 334 students in 2024-25. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 60-64% of its students tested were proficient in reading and 60-64% proficient in math in 2021-22 (Minnesota: 51.1% and 44.8%).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

332 students in 2022-23, 325 students in 2023-24, 334 students in 2024-25.

Students enrolled at Washington District-Wide Elementary by school year2022-23: 332, 2023-24: 325, 2024-25: 33401002003004002022-233322023-243252024-25334
Students enrolled at Washington District-Wide Elementary by school year2022-23: 332, 2023-24: 325, 2024-25: 33401002003004002022-233322023-243252024-25334
Students enrolled at Washington District-Wide Elementary by school year2022-23: 332, 2023-24: 325, 2024-25: 33401002003004002022-233322023-243252024-25334
Students enrolled at Washington District-Wide Elementary by school year2022-23: 332, 2023-24: 325, 2024-25: 33401002003004002022-233322023-243252024-25334
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2333220.316.3
2023-2432520.915.6
2024-253340.0not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25.

One counselor per 644 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Washington District-Wide Elementary enrolled 322 students and had 0.5 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 2 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.5, one per 644 of the 322 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions2
  • Chronically absent13.0% (2022-23)

Who attends

55.4% of students were White, 21.0% Asian, 11.1% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White55.4%
  2. Asian21.0%
  3. Two or more races11.1%
  4. Hispanic6.3%
  5. Black6.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested at Washington District-Wide Elementary scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading and 60-64% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis schoolIts districtMinnesota
Reading and language arts60‑64%49%51.1%
Math60‑64%40%44.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive): ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Rochester

20 public elementary schools in Rochester report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Gibbs Elementary675not reported27.0%
Franklin Elementary600not reported43.7%
Bamber Valley Elementary599not reported16.5%
Overland Elementary School549not reported37.9%
Bishop Elementary545not reported33.9%
Riverside Central Elementary509not reported55.2%
Lincoln K-8 District-Wide School506not reported14.0%
Jefferson Elementary464not reported28.9%

All public schools in Rochester →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Washington District-Wide Elementary

  1. Sunset Terrace ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.9 miles away: 437 students (2024-25).0.9 mi
  2. Hoover ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.0 miles away: 228 students (2024-25).1.0 mi
  3. Compare Washington District-Wide Elementary with Sunset Terrace ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Rochester Public Schools spends per student$14,804 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,804
  5. The largest public schools in MinnesotaWashington District-Wide Elementary is the number 585 by size of 994 Minnesota elementary schools open in 2024-25.#585 of 994
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Washington District-Wide Elementary

  1. How many students attend Washington District-Wide Elementary?
    334 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 332 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Rochester, MN.
  2. Is Washington District-Wide Elementary a Title I school?
    Washington District-Wide Elementary was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).
  3. How do students at Washington District-Wide Elementary do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested at Washington District-Wide Elementary scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading and 60-64% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  4. What district is Washington District-Wide Elementary in?
    Rochester Public Schools, NCES district ID 2731800. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 273180001011 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22