Travis B Bryan High School
Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Bryan, Texas
Travis B Bryan High School in Bryan, Texas enrolled 2,426 students in 2024-25 with 171.8 full-time teachers, 14.1 students per teacher against the Texas high-school median of 14.0. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 19% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Texas: 43.7%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% (Texas: 90.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 5%
2,419 students in 2022-23, 2,475 students in 2023-24, 2,426 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 180.8 to 171.8.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 2,419 | 180.8 | 13.4 |
| 2023-24 | 2,475 | 181.4 | 13.6 |
| 2024-25 | 2,426 | 171.8 | 14.1 |
14.1 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 50 of every 100 Texas high schools
Among the 1,824 Texas high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 14.0; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
18 AP courses and one counselor per 336 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Travis B Bryan High School enrolled 2,355 students and had 7.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 246 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement courses18
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)7.0, one per 336 of the 2,355 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions246
- Chronically absent37.5% (2022-23)
Who attends
58.3% of students were Hispanic, 21.4% White, 17.1% Black in 2024-25.
- Hispanic58.3%
- White21.4%
- Black17.1%
- Two or more races2.2%
- Asian0.8%
- American Indian0.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2022-23
In 2022-23, the students tested at Travis B Bryan High School scored proficient or above: 19% in math, against 43.7% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This school | Its district | Texas |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | 19% | 33% (2021-22) | 43.7% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90% of the 506 students in Travis B Bryan High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This school | Its district | Texas | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90% | 90% | 90.3% |
| Students in the class | 506 | 1,165 | 403,301 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
High schools in Bryan
7 public high schools in Bryan report 2024-25 enrollment; Travis B Bryan High School is the largest.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Travis B Bryan High School | 2,426 | 14.1 | 70.0% |
| James Earl Rudder High School | 1,697 | 13.3 | 79.6% |
| Bryan Collegiate High School | 465 | 24.2 | 70.5% |
| The Mary Catherine Harris School-School of Choice | 195 | 10.3 | 85.1% |
| Disciplinary Alternative Educational Progam (DAEP) | 81 | 6.2 | 86.4% |
| Brazos Co Juvenile Detention Center | 23 | 5.8 | 65.2% |
| Brazos County JJAEP | 9 | not reported | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Travis B Bryan High School
- The Mary Catherine Harris School-School of ChoiceThe nearest public high school, 0.6 miles away: 195 students, 10.3 per teacher (2024-25).0.6 mi
- Disciplinary Alternative Educational Progam (DAEP)The next nearest public high school, 0.7 miles away: 81 students, 6.2 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
- Compare Travis B Bryan High School with The Mary Catherine Harris School-School of ChoiceStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Bryan ISD spends per student$12,964 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,964
- The largest public schools in TexasTravis B Bryan High School is the number 188 by size of 2,039 Texas high schools open in 2024-25.#188 of 2,039
- Texas schools by students per teacher14.1 students per teacher here against the Texas median of 14.0 for high schools.14.1:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Travis B Bryan High School
How many students attend Travis B Bryan High School?
2,426 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 2,419 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Bryan, TX.What is the student-teacher ratio at Travis B Bryan High School?
14.1 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Texas median for high schools is 14.0. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Travis B Bryan High School a Title I school?
Travis B Bryan High School was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).How do students at Travis B Bryan High School do on state tests?
In 2022-23, the students tested at Travis B Bryan High School scored proficient or above: 19% in math, against 43.7% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What is the graduation rate at Travis B Bryan High School?
90% of the 506 students in Travis B Bryan High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Travis B Bryan High School in?
Bryan ISD, NCES district ID 4811790. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 481179000682 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.