Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 8 · Peoria, Illinois

Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr in Peoria, Illinois enrolled 794 students in 2024-25 with 44.3 full-time teachers, 17.9 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 2% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 1% or less proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment rose 12% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 26%

709 students in 2022-23, 637 students in 2023-24, 794 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 35.2 to 44.3.

Students enrolled at Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr by school year2022-23: 709, 2023-24: 637, 2024-25: 79402004006008002022-237092023-246372024-25794
Students enrolled at Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr by school year2022-23: 709, 2023-24: 637, 2024-25: 79402004006008002022-237092023-246372024-25794
Students enrolled at Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr by school year2022-23: 709, 2023-24: 637, 2024-25: 79402004006008002022-237092023-246372024-25794
Students enrolled at Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr by school year2022-23: 709, 2023-24: 637, 2024-25: 79402004006008002022-237092023-246372024-25794
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2370935.220.2
2023-2463741.615.3
2024-2579444.317.9

17.9 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 95 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 17.9; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.9state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 17.9; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.9state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 17.9; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.9state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 17.9; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.9state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 298 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr enrolled 595 students and had 2.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 190 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)2.0, one per 298 of the 595 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions190
  • Chronically absent56.8% (2022-23)

Who attends

56.9% of students were Black, 30.5% Hispanic, 7.1% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. Black56.9%
  2. Hispanic30.5%
  3. Two or more races7.1%
  4. White4.9%
  5. Asian0.4%
  6. American Indian0.1%
  7. Pacific Islander0.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr scored proficient or above: 2% in reading in 2021-22 and 1% or less in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-222%13%29.9%
Math, 2022-231% or lessnot published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Peoria

20 public elementary schools in Peoria report 2024-25 enrollment; Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Lincoln School82315.2not reported
Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr79417.9not reported
The Elise Ford Allen Academy64215.5not reported
Annie Jo Gordon Comm Lrning Cntr54212.6not reported
Dr Maude A Sanders Primary School44215.2not reported
Ridgeview Elementary School43315.9not reported
Wilder-Waite Grade School40417.5not reported
Hines Primary School40314.9not reported

All public schools in Peoria →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr

  1. Lincoln SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.5 miles away: 823 students, 15.2 per teacher (2024-25).0.5 mi
  2. Franklin Primary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.4 miles away: 332 students, 12.9 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
  3. Compare Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr with Lincoln SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Peoria SD 150 spends per student$18,400 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$18,400
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisGlen Oak Comm Learning Cntr is the number 63 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#63 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher17.9 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.17.9:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr

  1. How many students attend Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr?
    794 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 709 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Peoria, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr?
    17.9 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr a Title I school?
    Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr do on state tests?
    The students tested at Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr scored proficient or above: 2% in reading in 2021-22 and 1% or less in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr in?
    Peoria SD 150, NCES district ID 1731230. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 173123003262 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22