Wilder-Waite Grade School

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Peoria, Illinois

Wilder-Waite Grade School in Peoria, Illinois enrolled 404 students in 2024-25 with 23.1 full-time teachers, 17.5 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 50-54% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment rose 5% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 2%

383 students in 2022-23, 373 students in 2023-24, 404 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 23.5 to 23.1.

Students enrolled at Wilder-Waite Grade School by school year2022-23: 383, 2023-24: 373, 2024-25: 40402004006002022-233832023-243732024-25404
Students enrolled at Wilder-Waite Grade School by school year2022-23: 383, 2023-24: 373, 2024-25: 40402004006002022-233832023-243732024-25404
Students enrolled at Wilder-Waite Grade School by school year2022-23: 383, 2023-24: 373, 2024-25: 40402004006002022-233832023-243732024-25404
Students enrolled at Wilder-Waite Grade School by school year2022-23: 383, 2023-24: 373, 2024-25: 40402004006002022-233832023-243732024-25404
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2338323.516.3
2023-2437321.817.1
2024-2540423.117.5

17.5 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 94 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 17.5; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.5state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 17.5; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.5state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 17.5; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.5state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 17.5; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.5state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 391 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Wilder-Waite Grade School enrolled 391 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 5 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 391 of the 391 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions5
  • Chronically absent17.0% (2022-23)

Who attends

52.0% of students were White, 22.5% Asian, 8.9% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White52.0%
  2. Asian22.5%
  3. Hispanic8.9%
  4. Black8.9%
  5. Two or more races7.2%
  6. American Indian0.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Wilder-Waite Grade School scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-2250‑54%61%29.9%
Math, 2022-2355‑59%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Peoria

20 public elementary schools in Peoria report 2024-25 enrollment; Wilder-Waite Grade School is number 7 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Lincoln School82315.2not reported
Glen Oak Comm Learning Cntr79417.9not reported
The Elise Ford Allen Academy64215.5not reported
Annie Jo Gordon Comm Lrning Cntr54212.6not reported
Dr Maude A Sanders Primary School44215.2not reported
Ridgeview Elementary School43315.9not reported
Wilder-Waite Grade School40417.5not reported
Hines Primary School40314.9not reported

All public schools in Peoria →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Wilder-Waite Grade School

  1. Ridgeview Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 1.9 miles away: 433 students, 15.9 per teacher (2024-25).1.9 mi
  2. Northmoor Primary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 3.4 miles away: 365 students, 13.5 per teacher (2024-25).3.4 mi
  3. Compare Wilder-Waite Grade School with Ridgeview Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Dunlap CUSD 323 spends per student$12,919 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,919
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisWilder-Waite Grade School is the number 967 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#967 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher17.5 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.17.5:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Wilder-Waite Grade School

  1. How many students attend Wilder-Waite Grade School?
    404 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 383 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Peoria, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Wilder-Waite Grade School?
    17.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Wilder-Waite Grade School a Title I school?
    Wilder-Waite Grade School ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Wilder-Waite Grade School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Wilder-Waite Grade School scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Wilder-Waite Grade School in?
    Dunlap CUSD 323, NCES district ID 1712700. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 171270001524 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22