George W. Jenkins Senior High

Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Lakeland, Florida

George W. Jenkins Senior High in Lakeland, Florida enrolled 2,469 students in 2024-25 with 115.0 full-time teachers, 21.5 students per teacher against the Florida high-school median of 21.6. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 31% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Florida: 52.2%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% (Florida: 88%).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 6%

2,451 students in 2022-23, 2,517 students in 2023-24, 2,469 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 109.0 to 115.0.

Students enrolled at George W. Jenkins Senior High by school year2022-23: 2,451, 2023-24: 2,517, 2024-25: 2,46901k2k3k2022-232,4512023-242,5172024-252,469
Students enrolled at George W. Jenkins Senior High by school year2022-23: 2,451, 2023-24: 2,517, 2024-25: 2,46901k2k3k2022-232,4512023-242,5172024-252,469
Students enrolled at George W. Jenkins Senior High by school year2022-23: 2,451, 2023-24: 2,517, 2024-25: 2,46901k2k3k2022-232,4512023-242,5172024-252,469
Students enrolled at George W. Jenkins Senior High by school year2022-23: 2,451, 2023-24: 2,517, 2024-25: 2,46901k2k3k2022-232,4512023-242,5172024-252,469
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,451109.022.5
2023-242,517112.022.5
2024-252,469115.021.5

21.5 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 52 of every 100 Florida high schools

Among the 730 Florida high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 21.6; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Florida high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 97.0; This school 21.5; state median 21.6.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 21.5state median 21.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Florida high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 97.0; This school 21.5; state median 21.6.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 21.5state median 21.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Florida high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 97.0; This school 21.5; state median 21.6.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 21.5state median 21.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Florida high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 97.0; This school 21.5; state median 21.6.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 21.5state median 21.6U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

23 AP courses and one counselor per 384 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection George W. Jenkins Senior High enrolled 2,306 students and had 6.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 364 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement courses23
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)6.0, one per 384 of the 2,306 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions364
  • Chronically absent37.1% (2022-23)

Who attends

45.9% of students were White, 30.7% Hispanic, 16.5% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White45.9%
  2. Hispanic30.7%
  3. Black16.5%
  4. Two or more races3.8%
  5. Asian2.8%
  6. American Indian0.2%
  7. Pacific Islander0.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2022-23

In 2022-23, the students tested at George W. Jenkins Senior High scored proficient or above: 31% in math, against 52.2% in math across Florida. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Florida, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2022-23
SubjectThis schoolIts districtFlorida
Math31%45% (2021-22)52.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% of the 493 students in George W. Jenkins Senior High's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtFlorida
Four-year graduation rate95%78%88%
Students in the class4937,813208,274

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Lakeland

13 public high schools in Lakeland report 2024-25 enrollment; George W. Jenkins Senior High is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
George W. Jenkins Senior High2,46921.547.0%
Lakeland Senior High School1,98519.356.8%
Lake Gibson Senior High School1,97321.262.3%
Kathleen Senior High School1,86124.569.8%
Mckeel Academy of Technology1,75023.632.0%
Tenoroc High School1,14123.872.7%
Polk State College Collegiate High School34368.6not reported
Polk State Lakeland Gateway to College Charter High School29632.9not reported

All public schools in Lakeland →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about George W. Jenkins Senior High

  1. Polk State College Collegiate High SchoolThe nearest public high school, 2.9 miles away: 343 students, 68.6 per teacher (2024-25).2.9 mi
  2. Polk State Lakeland Gateway to College Charter High SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 2.9 miles away: 296 students, 32.9 per teacher (2024-25).2.9 mi
  3. Compare George W. Jenkins Senior High with Polk State College Collegiate High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Polk County Public Schools spends per student$11,747 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,747
  5. The largest public schools in FloridaGeorge W. Jenkins Senior High is the number 78 by size of 818 Florida high schools open in 2024-25.#78 of 818
  6. Florida schools by students per teacher21.5 students per teacher here against the Florida median of 21.6 for high schools.21.5:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about George W. Jenkins Senior High

  1. How many students attend George W. Jenkins Senior High?
    2,469 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 2,451 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Lakeland, FL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at George W. Jenkins Senior High?
    21.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Florida median for high schools is 21.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is George W. Jenkins Senior High a Title I school?
    George W. Jenkins Senior High was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).
  4. How do students at George W. Jenkins Senior High do on state tests?
    In 2022-23, the students tested at George W. Jenkins Senior High scored proficient or above: 31% in math, against 52.2% in math across Florida. Florida's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at George W. Jenkins Senior High?
    95% of the 493 students in George W. Jenkins Senior High's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is George W. Jenkins Senior High in?
    Polk County Public Schools, NCES district ID 1201590. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 120159001985 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22