Dayton City

Public school district · Montgomery County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904384

Dayton City spent $20,743 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 96% of the other Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,273). Its 28 schools enrolled 12,679 students in 2024-25; 43.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,963 per student, up 1.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 69% (Ohio: 86.2%).

Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Dayton City in enrollment (8,584 to 14,571 students) and Dayton City itself.

Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Dayton City, FY23Dayton City $20,743; Parma City $17,600; Worthington Schools $15,189; Westerville City $14,875; Hamilton City Schools $13,968; Mason City $13,834; Pickerington Local $13,484; Northwest Local $12,991; Fairfield City $12,387; Ohio Virtual Academy $8,985; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.5k10k15k20k25kDayton City$20,743Parma City$17,600Worthington Schools$15,189Westerville City$14,875Hamilton City Schools$13,968Mason City$13,834Pickerington Local$13,484Northwest Local$12,991Fairfield City$12,387Ohio Virtual Academy$8,985State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Dayton City, FY23Dayton City $20,743; Parma City $17,600; Worthington Schools $15,189; Westerville City $14,875; Hamilton City Schools $13,968; Mason City $13,834; Pickerington Local $13,484; Northwest Local $12,991; Fairfield City $12,387; Ohio Virtual Academy $8,985; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.5k10k15k20k25kDayton City$20,743Parma City$17,600Worthington Schools$15,189Westerville City$14,875Hamilton City Schools$13,968Mason City$13,834Pickerington Local$13,484Northwest Local$12,991Fairfield City$12,387Ohio Virtual Academy$8,985State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Dayton City, FY23Dayton City $20,743; Parma City $17,600; Worthington Schools $15,189; Westerville City $14,875; Hamilton City Schools $13,968; Mason City $13,834; Pickerington Local $13,484; Northwest Local $12,991; Fairfield City $12,387; Ohio Virtual Academy $8,985; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.5k15k25kDayton City$20,743Parma City$17,600Worthington Schools$15,189Westerville City$14,875Hamilton City Schools$13,968Mason City$13,834Pickerington Local$13,484Northwest Local$12,991Fairfield City$12,387Ohio Virtual Academy$8,985State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Dayton City, FY23Dayton City $20,743; Parma City $17,600; Worthington Schools $15,189; Westerville City $14,875; Hamilton City Schools $13,968; Mason City $13,834; Pickerington Local $13,484; Northwest Local $12,991; Fairfield City $12,387; Ohio Virtual Academy $8,985; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.5k15k25kDayton City$20,743Parma City$17,600Worthington Schools$15,189Westerville City$14,875Hamilton City Schools$13,968Mason City$13,834Pickerington Local$13,484Northwest Local$12,991Fairfield City$12,387Ohio Virtual Academy$8,985State median, 1,000+ students $14,273

Where the money came from

$299,920,000 in revenue: 43.7% state, 33.9% local and 22.3% federal. Total spending including $31,117,000 of capital outlay was $294,783,000, or $24,413 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Dayton City revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $131,213,000; Local $101,738,000; Federal $66,969,000; total $299,920,000.
  • State$131,213,000 44%
  • Local$101,738,000 34%
  • Federal$66,969,000 22%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 452 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

11,828 students in 2022-23, 12,285 students in 2023-24, 12,679 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Dayton City enrollment by school year2022-23: 11,828, 2023-24: 12,285, 2024-25: 12,67905k10k15k2022-2311,8282023-2412,2852024-2512,679
Dayton City enrollment by school year2022-23: 11,828, 2023-24: 12,285, 2024-25: 12,67905k10k15k2022-2311,8282023-2412,2852024-2512,679
Dayton City enrollment by school year2022-23: 11,828, 2023-24: 12,285, 2024-25: 12,67905k10k15k2022-2311,8282023-2412,2852024-2512,679
Dayton City enrollment by school year2022-23: 11,828, 2023-24: 12,285, 2024-25: 12,67905k10k15k2022-2311,8282023-2412,2852024-2512,679

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2311,828817.014.5
2023-2412,285833.014.7
2024-2512,679735.017.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$61,868,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,124 per student

Dayton City booked $61,868,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 835 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $74,129 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 35 in 100 Ohio districts with a figure (state median $78,983, 642 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$39,160,00063.3%
Special education$20,221,00032.7%
Vocational$2,487,0004.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,791 in 2018-19, $4,403 in 2019-20, $4,717 in 2020-21, $5,270 in 2021-22, $5,124 in 2022-23.

Dayton City teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,791, 2019-20: $4,403, 2020-21: $4,717, 2021-22: $5,270, 2022-23: $5,12402k4k6k2018-19$3,7912019-20$4,4032020-21$4,7172021-22$5,2702022-23$5,124
Dayton City teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,791, 2019-20: $4,403, 2020-21: $4,717, 2021-22: $5,270, 2022-23: $5,12402k4k6k2018-19$3,7912019-20$4,4032020-21$4,7172021-22$5,2702022-23$5,124
Dayton City teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,791, 2019-20: $4,403, 2020-21: $4,717, 2021-22: $5,270, 2022-23: $5,12402k4k6k2018-19$3,7912019-20$4,4032020-21$4,7172021-22$5,2702022-23$5,124
Dayton City teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,791, 2019-20: $4,403, 2020-21: $4,717, 2021-22: $5,270, 2022-23: $5,12402k4k6k2018-19$3,7912019-20$4,4032020-21$4,7172021-22$5,2702022-23$5,124

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Dayton City scored proficient or above: 26% in reading and 16% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOhioStudents tested
Reading and language arts26%59%4,798
Math16%54%4,798

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

69% of the 976 students in Dayton City's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate69%86.2%
Students in the class976132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

15 elementary schools, 6,610 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Valerie Elementary School56619.5All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Ruskin Elementary School55319.8All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
River's Edge Montessori Elementary School55219.0All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Kiser Elementary School55218.4All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Fairview Elementary School47420.6All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Belle Haven Elementary School47320.6All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Kemp Elementary School42221.1All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Eastmont Elementary School41421.8All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Roosevelt Elementary School41417.3All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Cleveland Elementary School40418.4All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Horace Mann Elementary School38516.7All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Charity Adams Earley Girls Academy37617.9All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
The other 3 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Edison Elementary School35717.9All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Westwood Elementary School35220.7All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Louise Troy Elementary School31616.6All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 middle schools, 1,018 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wright Brothers Middle School37417.8All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Edwin Joel Brown Middle School32612.5All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Wogaman Middle School31813.3All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

8 high schools, 4,509 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Belmont High School1,15319.9All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Stivers School For The Arts83717.4All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
David H. Ponitz Career Technology Center78519.1All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Thurgood Marshall High School54817.7All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Dunbar Early College High School54219.4All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Meadowdale High School47911.1All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Mound Street Academy15612.0All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Dayton Digital Academy99.0not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 other schools, 542 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
The International School3139.53.7%Not reported
Rosa Parks Early Learning Center22910.9All free (CEP)Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Dayton Digital Academy

High school in Dayton; open in 2024-25; 9 students; 9.0 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Dayton City

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Dayton City

  1. Ohio districts by spending per studentDayton City ranks 20 of 452 Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($20,743).#20 of 452
  2. Every school district in OhioDayton City is the number 13 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 12,075 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#13 of 999
  3. Ohio Virtual AcademyThe next larger Ohio district: 14,334 students in fall 2022, $8,985 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,985
  4. Pickerington Local School DistrictThe next smaller Ohio district: 11,370 students in fall 2022, $13,484 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,484
  5. Compare Dayton City with Ohio Virtual AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Belmont High School, its largest high school1,153 students in 2024-25, 19.9 per teacher.1,153
  7. Teacher salary spending across OhioDayton City spent $74,129 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $78,983); spending, not a salary.$74,129
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Dayton City

  1. How many schools and students are in Dayton City?
    28 schools were open in 2024-25 (15 elementary, 3 middle, 8 high, 2 other), enrolling 12,679 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Dayton City spend per student?
    $20,743 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,273 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,963 per student, up 1.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Dayton City's money come from?
    $299,920,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 43.7% state, 33.9% local and 22.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Dayton City live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 7,663 of the 23,292 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 32.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Dayton City spend on teacher salaries?
    $61,868,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,124 per student. Divided by the 835 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $74,129 per teacher, more than 35 in 100 Ohio districts (state median $78,983). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Dayton City do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Dayton City scored proficient or above: 26% in reading and 16% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Dayton City?
    69% of the 976 students in Dayton City's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Dayton City's NCES district ID?
    3904384. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25