Summerville Union High School District

Listed by NCES as Summerville Union High (district ID 0638280)

Public school district · Tuolumne County · California · NCES district ID 0638280

Summerville Union High School District spent $16,090 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 63% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its 6 schools enrolled 643 students in 2024-25; 50.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,695 per student, up 16.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (California: 86.2%).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Summerville Union High in enrollment (663 to 672 students) and Summerville Union High itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Summerville Union High, FY23Madera County Superintendent of Schools $71,630; School of Arts and Enterprise District $23,021; Crescent Valley Public Charter School II $20,370; YouthBuild Charter School of California District $19,865; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District $18,046; Trinity Alps Unified $17,371; Summerville Union High $16,090; ELITE Public Schools $14,566; Futuro Academy $14,457; Compass Charter School of Yolo District $13,025; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.020k40k60k80kMadera County Superintendent o…$71,630School of Arts and Enterprise …$23,021Crescent Valley Public Charter…$20,370YouthBuild Charter School of C…$19,865Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #…$18,046Trinity Alps Unified$17,371Summerville Union High$16,090ELITE Public Schools$14,566Futuro Academy$14,457Compass Charter School of Yolo…$13,025State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Summerville Union High, FY23Madera County Superintendent of Schools $71,630; School of Arts and Enterprise District $23,021; Crescent Valley Public Charter School II $20,370; YouthBuild Charter School of California District $19,865; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District $18,046; Trinity Alps Unified $17,371; Summerville Union High $16,090; ELITE Public Schools $14,566; Futuro Academy $14,457; Compass Charter School of Yolo District $13,025; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.020k40k60k80kMadera County Superintendent of Sch…$71,630School of Arts and Enterprise Distr…$23,021Crescent Valley Public Charter Scho…$20,370YouthBuild Charter School of Califo…$19,865Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 Dis…$18,046Trinity Alps Unified$17,371Summerville Union High$16,090ELITE Public Schools$14,566Futuro Academy$14,457Compass Charter School of Yolo Dist…$13,025State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Summerville Union High, FY23Madera County Superintendent of Schools $71,630; School of Arts and Enterprise District $23,021; Crescent Valley Public Charter School II $20,370; YouthBuild Charter School of California District $19,865; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District $18,046; Trinity Alps Unified $17,371; Summerville Union High $16,090; ELITE Public Schools $14,566; Futuro Academy $14,457; Compass Charter School of Yolo District $13,025; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.040k80kMadera County Superintendent of Schools$71,630School of Arts and Enterprise District$23,021Crescent Valley Public Charter School II$20,370YouthBuild Charter School of California Dis…$19,865Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District$18,046Trinity Alps Unified$17,371Summerville Union High$16,090ELITE Public Schools$14,566Futuro Academy$14,457Compass Charter School of Yolo District$13,025State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Summerville Union High, FY23Madera County Superintendent of Schools $71,630; School of Arts and Enterprise District $23,021; Crescent Valley Public Charter School II $20,370; YouthBuild Charter School of California District $19,865; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District $18,046; Trinity Alps Unified $17,371; Summerville Union High $16,090; ELITE Public Schools $14,566; Futuro Academy $14,457; Compass Charter School of Yolo District $13,025; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.040k80kMadera County Superintendent of Schools$71,630School of Arts and Enterprise District$23,021Crescent Valley Public Charter School II$20,370YouthBuild Charter School of California…$19,865Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District$18,046Trinity Alps Unified$17,371Summerville Union High$16,090ELITE Public Schools$14,566Futuro Academy$14,457Compass Charter School of Yolo District$13,025State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$17,874,000 in revenue: 50.7% state, 46.3% local and 3.0% federal. Total spending including $54,000 of capital outlay was $12,264,000, or $18,359 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Summerville Union High School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $9,058,000; Local $8,277,000; Federal $539,000; total $17,874,000.
  • State$9,058,000 51%
  • Local$8,277,000 46%
  • Federal$539,000 3%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

667 students in 2022-23, 640 students in 2023-24, 643 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Summerville Union High School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 667, 2023-24: 640, 2024-25: 64302004006008002022-236672023-246402024-25643
Summerville Union High School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 667, 2023-24: 640, 2024-25: 64302004006008002022-236672023-246402024-25643
Summerville Union High School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 667, 2023-24: 640, 2024-25: 64302004006008002022-236672023-246402024-25643
Summerville Union High School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 667, 2023-24: 640, 2024-25: 64302004006008002022-236672023-246402024-25643

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2366733.420.0
2023-2464034.418.6
2024-2564335.018.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,276,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,904 per student

Summerville Union High School District booked $3,276,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 33 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $98,231 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 47 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,632,00080.3%
Special education$200,0006.1%
Vocational$212,0006.5%
Other programs$232,0007.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2019-20 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,633 in 2019-20, $4,469 in 2020-21, $5,072 in 2021-22, $4,904 in 2022-23.

Summerville Union High School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $4,633, 2020-21: $4,469, 2021-22: $5,072, 2022-23: $4,90402k4k6k2019-20$4,6332020-21$4,4692021-22$5,0722022-23$4,904
Summerville Union High School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $4,633, 2020-21: $4,469, 2021-22: $5,072, 2022-23: $4,90402k4k6k2019-20$4,6332020-21$4,4692021-22$5,0722022-23$4,904
Summerville Union High School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $4,633, 2020-21: $4,469, 2021-22: $5,072, 2022-23: $4,90402k4k6k2019-20$4,6332020-21$4,4692021-22$5,0722022-23$4,904
Summerville Union High School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $4,633, 2020-21: $4,469, 2021-22: $5,072, 2022-23: $4,90402k4k6k2019-20$4,6332020-21$4,4692021-22$5,0722022-23$4,904

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Summerville Union High School District scored proficient or above: 44-74% in reading and 32-62% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts44-74%45%27
Math32-62%34%27

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 144 students in Summerville Union High School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtCalifornia
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%86.2%
Students in the class144495,492

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

6 high schools, 643 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Summerville High50823.239.6%Not reported
Connections Visual and Performing Arts Academy11719.927.4%Not reported
Long Barn High99.066.7%Not reported
South Fork High41.9not reportedNot reported
Mountain High31.4not reportedNot reported
Cold Springs High21.0not reportedNot reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Summerville Union High School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Summerville Union High School District

  1. California districts by spending per studentSummerville Union High School District ranks 785 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,090).#785 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaSummerville Union High School District is the number 807 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 668 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#807 of 1,991
  3. Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 DistrictThe next larger California district: 669 students in fall 2022, $18,046 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,046
  4. School of Arts and Enterprise DistrictThe next smaller California district: 667 students in fall 2022, $23,021 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,021
  5. Compare Summerville Union High School District with Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Summerville High, its largest high school508 students in 2024-25, 23.2 per teacher.508
  7. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaSummerville Union High School District spent $98,231 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$98,231
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Summerville Union High School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Summerville Union High School District?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 high), enrolling 643 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Summerville Union High School District spend per student?
    $16,090 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,695 per student, up 16.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Summerville Union High School District's money come from?
    $17,874,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 50.7% state, 46.3% local and 3.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Summerville Union High School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 58 of the 491 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Summerville Union High School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,276,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,904 per student. Divided by the 33 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $98,231 per teacher, more than 47 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Summerville Union High School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Summerville Union High School District scored proficient or above: 44-74% in reading and 32-62% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Summerville Union High School District?
    90-94% of the 144 students in Summerville Union High School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Summerville Union High School District's NCES district ID?
    0638280. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25