Compass Charter School of Yolo District

Public school district · Ventura County · California · NCES district ID 0602521

Compass Charter School of Yolo District spent $13,025 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 88% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 389 students in 2024-25; 73.0% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (California: 86.2%).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Compass Charter School of Yolo District in enrollment (663 to 676 students) and Compass Charter School of Yolo District itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Compass Charter School of Yolo District, FY23School of Arts and Enterprise District $23,021; Vineland $22,041; Crescent Valley Public Charter School II $20,370; YouthBuild Charter School of California District $19,865; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District $18,046; Trinity Alps Unified $17,371; Summerville Union High $16,090; ELITE Public Schools $14,566; Futuro Academy $14,457; Compass Charter School of Yolo District $13,025; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSchool of Arts and Enterprise …$23,021Vineland$22,041Crescent Valley Public Charter…$20,370YouthBuild Charter School of C…$19,865Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #…$18,046Trinity Alps Unified$17,371Summerville Union High$16,090ELITE Public Schools$14,566Futuro Academy$14,457Compass Charter School of Yolo…$13,025State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Compass Charter School of Yolo District, FY23School of Arts and Enterprise District $23,021; Vineland $22,041; Crescent Valley Public Charter School II $20,370; YouthBuild Charter School of California District $19,865; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District $18,046; Trinity Alps Unified $17,371; Summerville Union High $16,090; ELITE Public Schools $14,566; Futuro Academy $14,457; Compass Charter School of Yolo District $13,025; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSchool of Arts and Enterprise Distr…$23,021Vineland$22,041Crescent Valley Public Charter Scho…$20,370YouthBuild Charter School of Califo…$19,865Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 Dis…$18,046Trinity Alps Unified$17,371Summerville Union High$16,090ELITE Public Schools$14,566Futuro Academy$14,457Compass Charter School of Yolo Dist…$13,025State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Compass Charter School of Yolo District, FY23School of Arts and Enterprise District $23,021; Vineland $22,041; Crescent Valley Public Charter School II $20,370; YouthBuild Charter School of California District $19,865; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District $18,046; Trinity Alps Unified $17,371; Summerville Union High $16,090; ELITE Public Schools $14,566; Futuro Academy $14,457; Compass Charter School of Yolo District $13,025; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSchool of Arts and Enterprise District$23,021Vineland$22,041Crescent Valley Public Charter School II$20,370YouthBuild Charter School of California Dis…$19,865Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District$18,046Trinity Alps Unified$17,371Summerville Union High$16,090ELITE Public Schools$14,566Futuro Academy$14,457Compass Charter School of Yolo District$13,025State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Compass Charter School of Yolo District, FY23School of Arts and Enterprise District $23,021; Vineland $22,041; Crescent Valley Public Charter School II $20,370; YouthBuild Charter School of California District $19,865; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District $18,046; Trinity Alps Unified $17,371; Summerville Union High $16,090; ELITE Public Schools $14,566; Futuro Academy $14,457; Compass Charter School of Yolo District $13,025; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSchool of Arts and Enterprise District$23,021Vineland$22,041Crescent Valley Public Charter School II$20,370YouthBuild Charter School of California…$19,865Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 District$18,046Trinity Alps Unified$17,371Summerville Union High$16,090ELITE Public Schools$14,566Futuro Academy$14,457Compass Charter School of Yolo District$13,025State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$9,096,000 in revenue: 73.0% state, 23.0% local and 4.1% federal. Total spending including $87,000 of capital outlay was $8,949,000, or $13,337 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Compass Charter School of Yolo District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,636,000; Local $2,088,000; Federal $372,000; total $9,096,000.
  • State$6,636,000 73%
  • Local$2,088,000 23%
  • Federal$372,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

671 students in 2022-23, 706 students in 2023-24, 389 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Compass Charter School of Yolo District enrollment by school year2022-23: 671, 2023-24: 706, 2024-25: 38902004006008002022-236712023-247062024-25389
Compass Charter School of Yolo District enrollment by school year2022-23: 671, 2023-24: 706, 2024-25: 38902004006008002022-236712023-247062024-25389
Compass Charter School of Yolo District enrollment by school year2022-23: 671, 2023-24: 706, 2024-25: 38902004006008002022-236712023-247062024-25389
Compass Charter School of Yolo District enrollment by school year2022-23: 671, 2023-24: 706, 2024-25: 38902004006008002022-236712023-247062024-25389

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2367127.624.3
2023-2470628.225.0
2024-2538915.125.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Compass Charter School of Yolo District scored proficient or above: 43-52% in reading and 30-37% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts43-52%45%289
Math30-37%34%292

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 19 students in Compass Charter School of Yolo District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtCalifornia
Four-year graduation rate80% or more86.2%
Students in the class19495,492

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 other school, 389 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Compass Charter School of Yolo38925.833.7%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Compass Charter School of Yolo District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Compass Charter School of Yolo District

  1. California districts by spending per studentCompass Charter School of Yolo District ranks 1,094 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,025).#1,094 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaCompass Charter School of Yolo District is the number 804 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 671 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#804 of 1,991
  3. Trinity Alps UnifiedThe next larger California district: 672 students in fall 2022, $17,371 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,371
  4. Camino Nuevo Charter Academy #2 DistrictThe next smaller California district: 669 students in fall 2022, $18,046 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,046
  5. Compare Compass Charter School of Yolo District with Trinity Alps UnifiedEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Compass Charter School of Yolo District

  1. How many schools and students are in Compass Charter School of Yolo District?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 other), enrolling 389 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Compass Charter School of Yolo District spend per student?
    $13,025 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Compass Charter School of Yolo District's money come from?
    $9,096,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 73.0% state, 23.0% local and 4.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in Compass Charter School of Yolo District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Compass Charter School of Yolo District scored proficient or above: 43-52% in reading and 30-37% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is the graduation rate in Compass Charter School of Yolo District?
    80% or more of the 19 students in Compass Charter School of Yolo District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  6. What is Compass Charter School of Yolo District's NCES district ID?
    0602521. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25