Spencer-Van Etten Central School District

Public school district · Tioga County · New York · NCES district ID 3627750

Spencer-Van Etten Central School District spent $28,159 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 61% of the other New York districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $26,657). Its 3 schools enrolled 803 students in 2024-25; 61.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $29,317 per student, up 4.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (New York: 87.2%).

Spending per student among New York districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Spencer-Van Etten Central in enrollment (809 to 824 students) and Spencer-Van Etten Central itself.

Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Spencer-Van Etten Central, FY23Haldane Central $30,850; Sandy Creek Central $30,609; Spencer-Van Etten Central $28,159; Cassadaga Valley Central $27,897; Red Creek Central $27,704; Cambridge Central $26,343; Caledonia-Mumford Central $22,018; Dolgeville Central $21,917; Riverhead Charter School $19,026; Rochester Academy Charter School $15,772; State median, under 1,000 students $26,657.10k15k20k25k30k35kHaldane Central$30,850Sandy Creek Central$30,609Spencer-Van Etten Central$28,159Cassadaga Valley Central$27,897Red Creek Central$27,704Cambridge Central$26,343Caledonia-Mumford Central$22,018Dolgeville Central$21,917Riverhead Charter School$19,026Rochester Academy Charter Scho…$15,772State median, under 1,000 students $26,657
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Spencer-Van Etten Central, FY23Haldane Central $30,850; Sandy Creek Central $30,609; Spencer-Van Etten Central $28,159; Cassadaga Valley Central $27,897; Red Creek Central $27,704; Cambridge Central $26,343; Caledonia-Mumford Central $22,018; Dolgeville Central $21,917; Riverhead Charter School $19,026; Rochester Academy Charter School $15,772; State median, under 1,000 students $26,657.10k15k20k25k30k35kHaldane Central$30,850Sandy Creek Central$30,609Spencer-Van Etten Central$28,159Cassadaga Valley Central$27,897Red Creek Central$27,704Cambridge Central$26,343Caledonia-Mumford Central$22,018Dolgeville Central$21,917Riverhead Charter School$19,026Rochester Academy Charter School$15,772State median, under 1,000 students $26,657
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Spencer-Van Etten Central, FY23Haldane Central $30,850; Sandy Creek Central $30,609; Spencer-Van Etten Central $28,159; Cassadaga Valley Central $27,897; Red Creek Central $27,704; Cambridge Central $26,343; Caledonia-Mumford Central $22,018; Dolgeville Central $21,917; Riverhead Charter School $19,026; Rochester Academy Charter School $15,772; State median, under 1,000 students $26,657.10k20k30k35kHaldane Central$30,850Sandy Creek Central$30,609Spencer-Van Etten Central$28,159Cassadaga Valley Central$27,897Red Creek Central$27,704Cambridge Central$26,343Caledonia-Mumford Central$22,018Dolgeville Central$21,917Riverhead Charter School$19,026Rochester Academy Charter School$15,772State median, under 1,000 students $26,657
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Spencer-Van Etten Central, FY23Haldane Central $30,850; Sandy Creek Central $30,609; Spencer-Van Etten Central $28,159; Cassadaga Valley Central $27,897; Red Creek Central $27,704; Cambridge Central $26,343; Caledonia-Mumford Central $22,018; Dolgeville Central $21,917; Riverhead Charter School $19,026; Rochester Academy Charter School $15,772; State median, under 1,000 students $26,657.10k20k30k35kHaldane Central$30,850Sandy Creek Central$30,609Spencer-Van Etten Central$28,159Cassadaga Valley Central$27,897Red Creek Central$27,704Cambridge Central$26,343Caledonia-Mumford Central$22,018Dolgeville Central$21,917Riverhead Charter School$19,026Rochester Academy Charter School$15,772State median, under 1,000 students $26,657

Where the money came from

$28,277,000 in revenue: 61.0% state, 28.6% local and 10.4% federal. Total spending including $9,796,000 of capital outlay was $33,981,000, or $41,592 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Spencer-Van Etten Central School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $17,236,000; Local $8,090,000; Federal $2,951,000; total $28,277,000.
  • State$17,236,000 61%
  • Local$8,090,000 29%
  • Federal$2,951,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 540 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

808 students in 2022-23, 802 students in 2023-24, 803 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Spencer-Van Etten Central School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 808, 2023-24: 802, 2024-25: 80302505007501k2022-238082023-248022024-25803
Spencer-Van Etten Central School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 808, 2023-24: 802, 2024-25: 80302505007501k2022-238082023-248022024-25803
Spencer-Van Etten Central School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 808, 2023-24: 802, 2024-25: 80302505007501k2022-238082023-248022024-25803
Spencer-Van Etten Central School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 808, 2023-24: 802, 2024-25: 80302505007501k2022-238082023-248022024-25803

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2380881.59.9
2023-2480281.59.8
2024-2580377.010.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$5,356,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,556 per student

Spencer-Van Etten Central School District booked $5,356,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 81 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $65,726 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 19 in 100 New York districts with a figure (state median $80,291, 622 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,904,00072.9%
Special education$946,00017.7%
Vocational$179,0003.3%
Other programs$327,0006.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $6,426 in 2018-19, $6,561 in 2019-20, $6,674 in 2020-21, $6,442 in 2021-22, $6,556 in 2022-23.

Spencer-Van Etten Central School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,426, 2019-20: $6,561, 2020-21: $6,674, 2021-22: $6,442, 2022-23: $6,55602k4k6k8k2018-19$6,4262019-20$6,5612020-21$6,6742021-22$6,4422022-23$6,556
Spencer-Van Etten Central School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,426, 2019-20: $6,561, 2020-21: $6,674, 2021-22: $6,442, 2022-23: $6,55602k4k6k8k2018-19$6,4262019-20$6,5612020-21$6,6742021-22$6,4422022-23$6,556
Spencer-Van Etten Central School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,426, 2019-20: $6,561, 2020-21: $6,674, 2021-22: $6,442, 2022-23: $6,55602k4k6k8k2018-19$6,4262019-20$6,5612020-21$6,6742021-22$6,4422022-23$6,556
Spencer-Van Etten Central School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,426, 2019-20: $6,561, 2020-21: $6,674, 2021-22: $6,442, 2022-23: $6,55602k4k6k8k2018-19$6,4262019-20$6,5612020-21$6,6742021-22$6,4422022-23$6,556

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Spencer-Van Etten Central School District scored proficient or above: 32-41% in reading and 29-38% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New York, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew YorkStudents tested
Reading and language arts32-41%47%315
Math29-38%40%315

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 74 students in Spencer-Van Etten Central School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew York
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%87.2%
Students in the class74202,009

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 333 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Spencer-Van Etten Elementary School33312.359.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 236 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Spencer-Van Etten Middle School2369.360.6%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 234 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Spencer-Van Etten High School2349.557.7%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Spencer-Van Etten Central School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Spencer-Van Etten Central School District

  1. New York districts by spending per studentSpencer-Van Etten Central School District ranks 210 of 540 New York districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($28,159).#210 of 540
  2. Every school district in New YorkSpencer-Van Etten Central School District is the number 556 by size of 1,104 New York districts, with 817 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#556 of 1,104
  3. Red Creek Central School DistrictThe next larger New York district: 818 students in fall 2022, $27,704 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$27,704
  4. Caledonia-Mumford Central School DistrictThe next smaller New York district: 811 students in fall 2022, $22,018 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$22,018
  5. Compare Spencer-Van Etten Central School District with Red Creek Central School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Spencer-Van Etten High School, its largest high school234 students in 2024-25, 9.5 per teacher.234
  7. Teacher salary spending across New YorkSpencer-Van Etten Central School District spent $65,726 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $80,291); spending, not a salary.$65,726
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Spencer-Van Etten Central School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Spencer-Van Etten Central School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 803 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Spencer-Van Etten Central School District spend per student?
    $28,159 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New York median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $26,657 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $29,317 per student, up 4.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Spencer-Van Etten Central School District's money come from?
    $28,277,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 61.0% state, 28.6% local and 10.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Spencer-Van Etten Central School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 150 of the 965 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Spencer-Van Etten Central School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $5,356,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,556 per student. Divided by the 81 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $65,726 per teacher, more than 19 in 100 New York districts (state median $80,291). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Spencer-Van Etten Central School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Spencer-Van Etten Central School District scored proficient or above: 32-41% in reading and 29-38% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. New York's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Spencer-Van Etten Central School District?
    90-94% of the 74 students in Spencer-Van Etten Central School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Spencer-Van Etten Central School District's NCES district ID?
    3627750. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25