Maine Township High School District 207

Listed by NCES as Maine Township HSD 207 (district ID 1724090)

Public school district · Cook County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1724090

Maine Township High School District 207 spent $28,152 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 95% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $18,127). Its 3 schools enrolled 6,272 students in 2024-25; 21.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $29,333 per student, up 4.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 92% (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Maine Township High School District 207 in enrollment (5,817 to 6,383 students) and Maine Township High School District 207 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Maine Township High School District 207, FY23Evanston-Skokie School District 65 $29,769; Maine Township High School District 207 $28,152; Wheeling CCSD 21 $23,330; Round Lake CUSD 116 $22,324; Harlem School District 122 $21,101; Rock Island SD 41 $20,881; Woodstock Community Unit School District 200 $18,475; Granite City Community Unit School District #9 $14,168; Quincy SD 172 $12,997; Collinsville Community Unit School District #10 $12,244; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25k30k35kEvanston-Skokie School Distric…$29,769Maine Township High School Dis…$28,152Wheeling CCSD 21$23,330Round Lake CUSD 116$22,324Harlem School District 122$21,101Rock Island SD 41$20,881Woodstock Community Unit Schoo…$18,475Granite City Community Unit Sc…$14,168Quincy SD 172$12,997Collinsville Community Unit Sc…$12,244State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Maine Township High School District 207, FY23Evanston-Skokie School District 65 $29,769; Maine Township High School District 207 $28,152; Wheeling CCSD 21 $23,330; Round Lake CUSD 116 $22,324; Harlem School District 122 $21,101; Rock Island SD 41 $20,881; Woodstock Community Unit School District 200 $18,475; Granite City Community Unit School District #9 $14,168; Quincy SD 172 $12,997; Collinsville Community Unit School District #10 $12,244; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25k30k35kEvanston-Skokie School District 65$29,769Maine Township High School District…$28,152Wheeling CCSD 21$23,330Round Lake CUSD 116$22,324Harlem School District 122$21,101Rock Island SD 41$20,881Woodstock Community Unit School Dis…$18,475Granite City Community Unit School …$14,168Quincy SD 172$12,997Collinsville Community Unit School …$12,244State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Maine Township High School District 207, FY23Evanston-Skokie School District 65 $29,769; Maine Township High School District 207 $28,152; Wheeling CCSD 21 $23,330; Round Lake CUSD 116 $22,324; Harlem School District 122 $21,101; Rock Island SD 41 $20,881; Woodstock Community Unit School District 200 $18,475; Granite City Community Unit School District #9 $14,168; Quincy SD 172 $12,997; Collinsville Community Unit School District #10 $12,244; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30k35kEvanston-Skokie School District 65$29,769Maine Township High School District 207$28,152Wheeling CCSD 21$23,330Round Lake CUSD 116$22,324Harlem School District 122$21,101Rock Island SD 41$20,881Woodstock Community Unit School District 200$18,475Granite City Community Unit School District…$14,168Quincy SD 172$12,997Collinsville Community Unit School District…$12,244State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Maine Township High School District 207, FY23Evanston-Skokie School District 65 $29,769; Maine Township High School District 207 $28,152; Wheeling CCSD 21 $23,330; Round Lake CUSD 116 $22,324; Harlem School District 122 $21,101; Rock Island SD 41 $20,881; Woodstock Community Unit School District 200 $18,475; Granite City Community Unit School District #9 $14,168; Quincy SD 172 $12,997; Collinsville Community Unit School District #10 $12,244; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30k35kEvanston-Skokie School District 65$29,769Maine Township High School District 207$28,152Wheeling CCSD 21$23,330Round Lake CUSD 116$22,324Harlem School District 122$21,101Rock Island SD 41$20,881Woodstock Community Unit School Distric…$18,475Granite City Community Unit School Dist…$14,168Quincy SD 172$12,997Collinsville Community Unit School Dist…$12,244State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$224,248,000 in revenue: 21.6% state, 76.1% local and 2.3% federal. Total spending including $39,955,000 of capital outlay was $227,318,000, or $36,765 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Maine Township High School District 207 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $48,444,000; Local $170,626,000; Federal $5,178,000; total $224,248,000.
  • State$48,444,000 22%
  • Local$170,626,000 76%
  • Federal$5,178,000 2%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

6,183 students in 2022-23, 6,211 students in 2023-24, 6,272 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Maine Township High School District 207 enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,183, 2023-24: 6,211, 2024-25: 6,27202k4k6k8k2022-236,1832023-246,2112024-256,272
Maine Township High School District 207 enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,183, 2023-24: 6,211, 2024-25: 6,27202k4k6k8k2022-236,1832023-246,2112024-256,272
Maine Township High School District 207 enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,183, 2023-24: 6,211, 2024-25: 6,27202k4k6k8k2022-236,1832023-246,2112024-256,272
Maine Township High School District 207 enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,183, 2023-24: 6,211, 2024-25: 6,27202k4k6k8k2022-236,1832023-246,2112024-256,272

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-236,183390.615.8
2023-246,211396.015.7
2024-256,272409.615.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Maine Township High School District 207 scored proficient or above: 38% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts38%29.9%1,541

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

92% of the 1,605 students in Maine Township High School District 207's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate92%87.6%
Students in the class1,605149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 high schools, 6,272 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Maine South High School2,49416.6not reportedNot Title I
Maine East High School1,92114.1not reportedSchoolwide program
Maine West High School1,85715.1not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Maine Township High School District 207

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Maine Township High School District 207

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentMaine Township High School District 207 ranks 20 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($28,152).#20 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisMaine Township High School District 207 is the number 44 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 6,183 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#44 of 865
  3. Rock Island SD 41The next larger Illinois district: 6,204 students in fall 2022, $20,881 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,881
  4. Harlem School District 122The next smaller Illinois district: 6,178 students in fall 2022, $21,101 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,101
  5. Compare Maine Township High School District 207 with Rock Island SD 41Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Maine South High School, its largest high school2,494 students in 2024-25, 16.6 per teacher.2,494
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Maine Township High School District 207

  1. How many schools and students are in Maine Township High School District 207?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 high), enrolling 6,272 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Maine Township High School District 207 spend per student?
    $28,152 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $29,333 per student, up 4.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Maine Township High School District 207's money come from?
    $224,248,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 21.6% state, 76.1% local and 2.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Maine Township High School District 207 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 659 of the 7,268 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 9.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Maine Township High School District 207 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Maine Township High School District 207 scored proficient or above: 38% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Maine Township High School District 207?
    92% of the 1,605 students in Maine Township High School District 207's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Maine Township High School District 207's NCES district ID?
    1724090. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25