South Coffeyville Public Schools

Listed by NCES as South Coffeyville (district ID 4026640)

Public school district · Nowata County · Oklahoma · NCES district ID 4026640

South Coffeyville Public Schools spent $9,973 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 92% of the other Oklahoma districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,870). Its 2 schools enrolled 244 students in 2024-25; 47.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,819 per student, up 18.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 60-79% (Oklahoma: 81.2%).

Spending per student among Oklahoma districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to South Coffeyville Public Schools in enrollment (257 to 268 students) and South Coffeyville Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to South Coffeyville Public Schools, FY23Bray-Doyle Public Schools $19,851; Mountain View-Gotebo Public Schools $15,541; Lane Public Schools $15,134; Buffalo Public Schools $14,288; Beaver $13,865; Earlsboro Public Schools $12,190; New Lima $11,747; Anderson Public School $10,537; South Coffeyville Public Schools $9,973; Middleberg Public School $8,579; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.5k10k15k20k25kBray-Doyle Public Schools$19,851Mountain View-Gotebo Public Sc…$15,541Lane Public Schools$15,134Buffalo Public Schools$14,288Beaver$13,865Earlsboro Public Schools$12,190New Lima$11,747Anderson Public School$10,537South Coffeyville Public Schoo…$9,973Middleberg Public School$8,579State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to South Coffeyville Public Schools, FY23Bray-Doyle Public Schools $19,851; Mountain View-Gotebo Public Schools $15,541; Lane Public Schools $15,134; Buffalo Public Schools $14,288; Beaver $13,865; Earlsboro Public Schools $12,190; New Lima $11,747; Anderson Public School $10,537; South Coffeyville Public Schools $9,973; Middleberg Public School $8,579; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.5k10k15k20k25kBray-Doyle Public Schools$19,851Mountain View-Gotebo Public Schools$15,541Lane Public Schools$15,134Buffalo Public Schools$14,288Beaver$13,865Earlsboro Public Schools$12,190New Lima$11,747Anderson Public School$10,537South Coffeyville Public Schools$9,973Middleberg Public School$8,579State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to South Coffeyville Public Schools, FY23Bray-Doyle Public Schools $19,851; Mountain View-Gotebo Public Schools $15,541; Lane Public Schools $15,134; Buffalo Public Schools $14,288; Beaver $13,865; Earlsboro Public Schools $12,190; New Lima $11,747; Anderson Public School $10,537; South Coffeyville Public Schools $9,973; Middleberg Public School $8,579; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.5k15k25kBray-Doyle Public Schools$19,851Mountain View-Gotebo Public Schools$15,541Lane Public Schools$15,134Buffalo Public Schools$14,288Beaver$13,865Earlsboro Public Schools$12,190New Lima$11,747Anderson Public School$10,537South Coffeyville Public Schools$9,973Middleberg Public School$8,579State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to South Coffeyville Public Schools, FY23Bray-Doyle Public Schools $19,851; Mountain View-Gotebo Public Schools $15,541; Lane Public Schools $15,134; Buffalo Public Schools $14,288; Beaver $13,865; Earlsboro Public Schools $12,190; New Lima $11,747; Anderson Public School $10,537; South Coffeyville Public Schools $9,973; Middleberg Public School $8,579; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.5k15k25kBray-Doyle Public Schools$19,851Mountain View-Gotebo Public Schools$15,541Lane Public Schools$15,134Buffalo Public Schools$14,288Beaver$13,865Earlsboro Public Schools$12,190New Lima$11,747Anderson Public School$10,537South Coffeyville Public Schools$9,973Middleberg Public School$8,579State median, under 1,000 students $12,870

Where the money came from

$3,099,000 in revenue: 47.7% state, 27.1% local and 25.2% federal. Total spending including $630,000 of capital outlay was $3,254,000, or $12,373 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

South Coffeyville Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,477,000; Local $841,000; Federal $781,000; total $3,099,000.
  • State$1,477,000 48%
  • Local$841,000 27%
  • Federal$781,000 25%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 408 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

263 students in 2022-23, 249 students in 2023-24, 244 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

South Coffeyville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 263, 2023-24: 249, 2024-25: 24401002003002022-232632023-242492024-25244
South Coffeyville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 263, 2023-24: 249, 2024-25: 24401002003002022-232632023-242492024-25244
South Coffeyville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 263, 2023-24: 249, 2024-25: 24401002003002022-232632023-242492024-25244
South Coffeyville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 263, 2023-24: 249, 2024-25: 24401002003002022-232632023-242492024-25244

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2326315.616.8
2023-2424913.518.5
2024-2524415.016.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$744,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $2,829 per student

South Coffeyville Public Schools booked $744,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 16 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $47,540 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 41 in 100 Oklahoma districts with a figure (state median $48,166, 514 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$582,00078.2%
Special education$47,0006.3%
Vocational$59,0007.9%
Other programs$56,0007.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,426 in 2018-19, $3,368 in 2019-20, $3,226 in 2020-21, $2,791 in 2021-22, $2,829 in 2022-23.

South Coffeyville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,426, 2019-20: $3,368, 2020-21: $3,226, 2021-22: $2,791, 2022-23: $2,82901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,4262019-20$3,3682020-21$3,2262021-22$2,7912022-23$2,829
South Coffeyville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,426, 2019-20: $3,368, 2020-21: $3,226, 2021-22: $2,791, 2022-23: $2,82901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,4262019-20$3,3682020-21$3,2262021-22$2,7912022-23$2,829
South Coffeyville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,426, 2019-20: $3,368, 2020-21: $3,226, 2021-22: $2,791, 2022-23: $2,82901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,4262019-20$3,3682020-21$3,2262021-22$2,7912022-23$2,829
South Coffeyville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,426, 2019-20: $3,368, 2020-21: $3,226, 2021-22: $2,791, 2022-23: $2,82901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,4262019-20$3,3682020-21$3,2262021-22$2,7912022-23$2,829

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in South Coffeyville Public Schools scored proficient or above: 10-14% in reading and 5% or less in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOklahomaStudents tested
Reading and language arts10-14%27.2%112
Math5% or less24.9%112

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

60-79% of the 23 students in South Coffeyville Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOklahoma
Four-year graduation rate60‑79%81.2%
Students in the class2352,179

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 163 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
South Coffeyville Elementary School16317.0not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 81 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
South Coffeyville High School8114.9not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact South Coffeyville Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about South Coffeyville Public Schools

  1. Oklahoma districts by spending per studentSouth Coffeyville Public Schools ranks 375 of 408 Oklahoma districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($9,973).#375 of 408
  2. Every school district in OklahomaSouth Coffeyville Public Schools is the number 376 by size of 544 Oklahoma districts, with 263 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#376 of 544
  3. Buffalo Public SchoolsThe next larger Oklahoma district: 267 students in fall 2022, $14,288 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,288
  4. Bray-Doyle Public SchoolsThe next smaller Oklahoma district: 262 students in fall 2022, $19,851 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,851
  5. Compare South Coffeyville Public Schools with Buffalo Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. South Coffeyville High School, its largest high school81 students in 2024-25, 14.9 per teacher.81
  7. Teacher salary spending across OklahomaSouth Coffeyville Public Schools spent $47,540 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $48,166); spending, not a salary.$47,540
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about South Coffeyville Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in South Coffeyville Public Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 244 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does South Coffeyville Public Schools spend per student?
    $9,973 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oklahoma median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,870 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,819 per student, up 18.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does South Coffeyville Public Schools' money come from?
    $3,099,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 47.7% state, 27.1% local and 25.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in South Coffeyville Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 31 of the 231 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does South Coffeyville Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $744,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $2,829 per student. Divided by the 16 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $47,540 per teacher, more than 41 in 100 Oklahoma districts (state median $48,166). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in South Coffeyville Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in South Coffeyville Public Schools scored proficient or above: 10-14% in reading and 5% or less in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in South Coffeyville Public Schools?
    60-79% of the 23 students in South Coffeyville Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is South Coffeyville Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    4026640. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25