Saginaw Township Community Schools
Public school district · Saginaw County · Michigan · NCES district ID 2630450
Saginaw Township Community Schools spent $13,133 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 79% of the other Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,214). Its 8 schools enrolled 4,447 students in 2024-25; 62.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,148 per student, up 7.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 78% (Michigan: 81.8%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Michigan districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Saginaw Township Community Schools in enrollment (4,352 to 4,864 students) and Saginaw Township Community Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$72,329,000 in revenue: 62.7% state, 29.3% local and 8.0% federal. Total spending including $4,004,000 of capital outlay was $67,543,000, or $14,696 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$45,376,000 63%
- Local$21,187,000 29%
- Federal$5,766,000 8%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 347 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
4,492 students in 2022-23, 4,401 students in 2023-24, 4,447 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,492 | 268.1 | 16.8 |
| 2023-24 | 4,401 | 269.7 | 16.3 |
| 2024-25 | 4,447 | 255.0 | 17.4 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$17,897,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,894 per student
Saginaw Township Community Schools booked $17,897,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 271 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $65,943 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 65 in 100 Michigan districts with a figure (state median $62,387, 536 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $14,196,000 | 79.3% |
| Special education | $2,704,000 | 15.1% |
| Vocational | $53,000 | 0.3% |
| Other programs | $944,000 | 5.3% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,480 in 2018-19, $3,453 in 2019-20, $3,566 in 2020-21, $3,705 in 2021-22, $3,894 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Saginaw Township Community Schools scored proficient or above: 43-44% in reading and 27-28% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Michigan, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Michigan | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 43-44% | 44% | 1,940 |
| Math | 27-28% | 34% | 1,941 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
78% of the 367 students in Saginaw Township Community Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Michigan | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 78% | 81.8% |
| Students in the class | 367 | 115,301 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
5 elementary schools, 1,977 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sherwood Elementary School | 531 | 14.7 | 59.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Arrowwood Elementary School | 445 | 16.9 | 54.6% | Eligible, no program |
| Weiss Elementary School | 357 | 16.3 | 55.7% | Eligible, no program |
| Hemmeter Elementary School | 331 | 20.1 | 10.3% | Not Title I |
| Westdale Elementary School | 313 | 16.7 | 65.2% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 1,019 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| White Pine Middle School | 1,019 | 16.4 | 44.3% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 high schools, 1,451 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heritage High School | 1,313 | 19.6 | 35.6% | Not Title I |
| Mackinaw High School | 138 | 23.0 | 68.8% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Saginaw Township Community Schools
- Website: stcs.org
- Phone: (989) 797-1800
- Office: 3465 N Center Rd, Saginaw, MI 48603
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Saginaw Township Community Schools
- Michigan districts by spending per studentSaginaw Township Community Schools ranks 274 of 347 Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,133).#274 of 347
- Every school district in MichiganSaginaw Township Community Schools is the number 64 by size of 892 Michigan districts, with 4,596 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#64 of 892
- Caledonia Community SchoolsThe next larger Michigan district: 4,613 students in fall 2022, $14,535 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,535
- Okemos Public SchoolsThe next smaller Michigan district: 4,593 students in fall 2022, $14,309 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,309
- Compare Saginaw Township Community Schools with Caledonia Community SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Heritage High School, its largest high school1,313 students in 2024-25, 19.6 per teacher.1,313
- Teacher salary spending across MichiganSaginaw Township Community Schools spent $65,943 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,387); spending, not a salary.$65,943
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Saginaw Township Community Schools
How many schools and students are in Saginaw Township Community Schools?
8 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high), enrolling 4,447 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Saginaw Township Community Schools spend per student?
$13,133 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Michigan median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,214 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,148 per student, up 7.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Saginaw Township Community Schools' money come from?
$72,329,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 62.7% state, 29.3% local and 8.0% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Saginaw Township Community Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 691 of the 5,569 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Saginaw Township Community Schools spend on teacher salaries?
$17,897,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,894 per student. Divided by the 271 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $65,943 per teacher, more than 65 in 100 Michigan districts (state median $62,387). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Saginaw Township Community Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Saginaw Township Community Schools scored proficient or above: 43-44% in reading and 27-28% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Michigan's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Saginaw Township Community Schools?
78% of the 367 students in Saginaw Township Community Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Saginaw Township Community Schools' NCES district ID?
2630450. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25