Polson Elementary

Public school district · Lake County · Montana · NCES district ID 3021060

Polson Elementary spent $12,918 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 72% of the other Montana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,120). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,075 students in 2024-25; 40.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,596 per student, down 2.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Montana districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Polson Elementary in enrollment (1,105 to 1,342 students) and Polson Elementary itself.

Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Polson Elementary, FY23Browning Elementary $21,449; Hardin Elementary $17,138; Butte High School $14,554; Polson Elementary $12,918; Whitefish Elementary $12,488; Laurel Elementary $12,438; Libby Public Schools $12,407; Ronan Elementary $12,176; Havre Elementary $12,094; Corvallis K-12 Schools $10,829; State median, 1,000+ students $12,120.5k10k15k20k25kBrowning Elementary$21,449Hardin Elementary$17,138Butte High School$14,554Polson Elementary$12,918Whitefish Elementary$12,488Laurel Elementary$12,438Libby Public Schools$12,407Ronan Elementary$12,176Havre Elementary$12,094Corvallis K-12 Schools$10,829State median, 1,000+ students $12,120
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Polson Elementary, FY23Browning Elementary $21,449; Hardin Elementary $17,138; Butte High School $14,554; Polson Elementary $12,918; Whitefish Elementary $12,488; Laurel Elementary $12,438; Libby Public Schools $12,407; Ronan Elementary $12,176; Havre Elementary $12,094; Corvallis K-12 Schools $10,829; State median, 1,000+ students $12,120.5k10k15k20k25kBrowning Elementary$21,449Hardin Elementary$17,138Butte High School$14,554Polson Elementary$12,918Whitefish Elementary$12,488Laurel Elementary$12,438Libby Public Schools$12,407Ronan Elementary$12,176Havre Elementary$12,094Corvallis K-12 Schools$10,829State median, 1,000+ students $12,120
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Polson Elementary, FY23Browning Elementary $21,449; Hardin Elementary $17,138; Butte High School $14,554; Polson Elementary $12,918; Whitefish Elementary $12,488; Laurel Elementary $12,438; Libby Public Schools $12,407; Ronan Elementary $12,176; Havre Elementary $12,094; Corvallis K-12 Schools $10,829; State median, 1,000+ students $12,120.5k15k25kBrowning Elementary$21,449Hardin Elementary$17,138Butte High School$14,554Polson Elementary$12,918Whitefish Elementary$12,488Laurel Elementary$12,438Libby Public Schools$12,407Ronan Elementary$12,176Havre Elementary$12,094Corvallis K-12 Schools$10,829State median, 1,000+ students $12,120
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Polson Elementary, FY23Browning Elementary $21,449; Hardin Elementary $17,138; Butte High School $14,554; Polson Elementary $12,918; Whitefish Elementary $12,488; Laurel Elementary $12,438; Libby Public Schools $12,407; Ronan Elementary $12,176; Havre Elementary $12,094; Corvallis K-12 Schools $10,829; State median, 1,000+ students $12,120.5k15k25kBrowning Elementary$21,449Hardin Elementary$17,138Butte High School$14,554Polson Elementary$12,918Whitefish Elementary$12,488Laurel Elementary$12,438Libby Public Schools$12,407Ronan Elementary$12,176Havre Elementary$12,094Corvallis K-12 Schools$10,829State median, 1,000+ students $12,120

Where the money came from

$15,942,000 in revenue: 40.5% state, 34.1% local and 25.4% federal. Total spending including $1,382,000 of capital outlay was $16,579,000, or $14,134 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Polson Elementary revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,454,000; Local $5,444,000; Federal $4,044,000; total $15,942,000.
  • State$6,454,000 40%
  • Local$5,444,000 34%
  • Federal$4,044,000 25%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 30 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,173 students in 2022-23, 1,124 students in 2023-24, 1,075 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Polson Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,173, 2023-24: 1,124, 2024-25: 1,07505001k1.5k2022-231,1732023-241,1242024-251,075
Polson Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,173, 2023-24: 1,124, 2024-25: 1,07505001k1.5k2022-231,1732023-241,1242024-251,075
Polson Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,173, 2023-24: 1,124, 2024-25: 1,07505001k1.5k2022-231,1732023-241,1242024-251,075
Polson Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,173, 2023-24: 1,124, 2024-25: 1,07505001k1.5k2022-231,1732023-241,1242024-251,075

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,17378.714.9
2023-241,12476.114.8
2024-251,07571.915.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$5,874,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,008 per student

Polson Elementary booked $5,874,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 79 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $74,666 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 95 in 100 Montana districts with a figure (state median $53,321, 282 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Montana teacher salary at $53,628 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,005,00085.2%
Special education$806,00013.7%
Vocational$63,0001.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,663 in 2018-19, $4,804 in 2019-20, $5,069 in 2020-21, $5,089 in 2021-22, $5,008 in 2022-23.

Polson Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,663, 2019-20: $4,804, 2020-21: $5,069, 2021-22: $5,089, 2022-23: $5,00802k4k6k2018-19$4,6632019-20$4,8042020-21$5,0692021-22$5,0892022-23$5,008
Polson Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,663, 2019-20: $4,804, 2020-21: $5,069, 2021-22: $5,089, 2022-23: $5,00802k4k6k2018-19$4,6632019-20$4,8042020-21$5,0692021-22$5,0892022-23$5,008
Polson Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,663, 2019-20: $4,804, 2020-21: $5,069, 2021-22: $5,089, 2022-23: $5,00802k4k6k2018-19$4,6632019-20$4,8042020-21$5,0692021-22$5,0892022-23$5,008
Polson Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,663, 2019-20: $4,804, 2020-21: $5,069, 2021-22: $5,089, 2022-23: $5,00802k4k6k2018-19$4,6632019-20$4,8042020-21$5,0692021-22$5,0892022-23$5,008

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Polson Elementary scored proficient or above: 42% in reading and 32% in math, against 45.7% in reading and 35.2% in math across Montana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Montana, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMontanaStudents tested
Reading and language arts42%45.7%765
Math32%35.2%749

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

2 elementary schools, 598 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Linderman School35515.565.1%Schoolwide program
Cherry Valley School24312.672.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 477 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Polson Middle School47716.153.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Polson Elementary

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Polson Elementary

  1. Montana districts by spending per studentPolson Elementary ranks 9 of 30 Montana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,918).#9 of 30
  2. Every school district in MontanaPolson Elementary is the number 28 by size of 398 Montana districts, with 1,173 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#28 of 398
  3. Havre ElementaryThe next larger Montana district: 1,199 students in fall 2022, $12,094 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,094
  4. Libby Public SchoolsThe next smaller Montana district: 1,164 students in fall 2022, $12,407 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,407
  5. Compare Polson Elementary with Havre ElementaryEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across MontanaPolson Elementary spent $74,666 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $53,321); spending, not a salary.$74,666
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Polson Elementary

  1. How many schools and students are in Polson Elementary?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 1,075 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Polson Elementary spend per student?
    $12,918 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Montana median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,120 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,596 per student, down 2.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Polson Elementary's money come from?
    $15,942,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 40.5% state, 34.1% local and 25.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Polson Elementary live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 197 of the 1,176 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Polson Elementary spend on teacher salaries?
    $5,874,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,008 per student. Divided by the 79 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $74,666 per teacher, more than 95 in 100 Montana districts (state median $53,321). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Montana teacher salary at $53,628 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Polson Elementary do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Polson Elementary scored proficient or above: 42% in reading and 32% in math, against 45.7% in reading and 35.2% in math across Montana. Montana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Polson Elementary's NCES district ID?
    3021060. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25