Pinon Unified District (4390)

Public school district · Navajo County · Arizona · NCES district ID 0400023

Pinon Unified District (4390) spent $22,666 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, the most of the 157 Arizona districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $10,493). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,019 students in 2024-25; 40.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,962 per student, up 9.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-74% (Arizona: 77.8%).

Spending per student among Arizona districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Pinon Unified District (4390) in enrollment (1,035 to 1,076 students) and Pinon Unified District (4390) itself.

Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Pinon Unified District (4390), FY23Pinon Unified District (4390) $22,666; Empower College Prep (91277) $16,251; Willcox Unified $12,351; Maryvale Preparatory Academy (90861) $11,779; LEAD Charter Schools (79967) $11,257; Archway Classical Academy Scottsdale (90857) $11,082; Academy of Mathematics and Science Inc. (92768) $9,771; Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa (834265) $8,877; Edkey Inc. - Pathfinder Academy (81045) $7,394; Career Success Schools (79047) $6,934; State median, 1,000+ students $10,493.5k10k15k20k25kPinon Unified District (4390)$22,666Empower College Prep (91277)$16,251Willcox Unified$12,351Maryvale Preparatory Academy (…$11,779LEAD Charter Schools (79967)$11,257Archway Classical Academy Scot…$11,082Academy of Mathematics and Sci…$9,771Legacy Traditional School - Ea…$8,877Edkey Inc. - Pathfinder Academ…$7,394Career Success Schools (79047)$6,934State median, 1,000+ students $10,493
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Pinon Unified District (4390), FY23Pinon Unified District (4390) $22,666; Empower College Prep (91277) $16,251; Willcox Unified $12,351; Maryvale Preparatory Academy (90861) $11,779; LEAD Charter Schools (79967) $11,257; Archway Classical Academy Scottsdale (90857) $11,082; Academy of Mathematics and Science Inc. (92768) $9,771; Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa (834265) $8,877; Edkey Inc. - Pathfinder Academy (81045) $7,394; Career Success Schools (79047) $6,934; State median, 1,000+ students $10,493.5k10k15k20k25kPinon Unified District (4390)$22,666Empower College Prep (91277)$16,251Willcox Unified$12,351Maryvale Preparatory Academy (90861)$11,779LEAD Charter Schools (79967)$11,257Archway Classical Academy Scottsdal…$11,082Academy of Mathematics and Science …$9,771Legacy Traditional School - East Me…$8,877Edkey Inc. - Pathfinder Academy (81…$7,394Career Success Schools (79047)$6,934State median, 1,000+ students $10,493
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Pinon Unified District (4390), FY23Pinon Unified District (4390) $22,666; Empower College Prep (91277) $16,251; Willcox Unified $12,351; Maryvale Preparatory Academy (90861) $11,779; LEAD Charter Schools (79967) $11,257; Archway Classical Academy Scottsdale (90857) $11,082; Academy of Mathematics and Science Inc. (92768) $9,771; Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa (834265) $8,877; Edkey Inc. - Pathfinder Academy (81045) $7,394; Career Success Schools (79047) $6,934; State median, 1,000+ students $10,493.5k15k25kPinon Unified District (4390)$22,666Empower College Prep (91277)$16,251Willcox Unified$12,351Maryvale Preparatory Academy (90861)$11,779LEAD Charter Schools (79967)$11,257Archway Classical Academy Scottsdale (90857)$11,082Academy of Mathematics and Science Inc. (92…$9,771Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa (8342…$8,877Edkey Inc. - Pathfinder Academy (81045)$7,394Career Success Schools (79047)$6,934State median, 1,000+ students $10,493
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Pinon Unified District (4390), FY23Pinon Unified District (4390) $22,666; Empower College Prep (91277) $16,251; Willcox Unified $12,351; Maryvale Preparatory Academy (90861) $11,779; LEAD Charter Schools (79967) $11,257; Archway Classical Academy Scottsdale (90857) $11,082; Academy of Mathematics and Science Inc. (92768) $9,771; Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa (834265) $8,877; Edkey Inc. - Pathfinder Academy (81045) $7,394; Career Success Schools (79047) $6,934; State median, 1,000+ students $10,493.5k15k25kPinon Unified District (4390)$22,666Empower College Prep (91277)$16,251Willcox Unified$12,351Maryvale Preparatory Academy (90861)$11,779LEAD Charter Schools (79967)$11,257Archway Classical Academy Scottsdale (9…$11,082Academy of Mathematics and Science Inc.…$9,771Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa (…$8,877Edkey Inc. - Pathfinder Academy (81045)$7,394Career Success Schools (79047)$6,934State median, 1,000+ students $10,493

Where the money came from

$23,654,000 in revenue: 40.6% state, 3.8% local and 55.6% federal. Total spending including $2,324,000 of capital outlay was $25,289,000, or $24,964 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Pinon Unified District (4390) revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $9,609,000; Local $895,000; Federal $13,150,000; total $23,654,000.
  • State$9,609,000 41%
  • Local$895,000 4%
  • Federal$13,150,000 56%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 157 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,053 students in 2022-23, 1,039 students in 2023-24, 1,019 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Pinon Unified District (4390) enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,053, 2023-24: 1,039, 2024-25: 1,01905001k1.5k2022-231,0532023-241,0392024-251,019
Pinon Unified District (4390) enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,053, 2023-24: 1,039, 2024-25: 1,01905001k1.5k2022-231,0532023-241,0392024-251,019
Pinon Unified District (4390) enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,053, 2023-24: 1,039, 2024-25: 1,01905001k1.5k2022-231,0532023-241,0392024-251,019
Pinon Unified District (4390) enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,053, 2023-24: 1,039, 2024-25: 1,01905001k1.5k2022-231,0532023-241,0392024-251,019

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,05378.013.5
2023-241,03975.013.9
2024-251,01974.013.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$5,194,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,127 per student

Pinon Unified District (4390) booked $5,194,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 78 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $66,590 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 63 in 100 Arizona districts with a figure (state median $62,248, 172 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Arizona teacher salary at $54,580 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,205,00081.0%
Special education$676,00013.0%
Vocational$302,0005.8%
Other programs$11,0000.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,017 in 2018-19, $4,108 in 2019-20, $5,176 in 2020-21, $6,001 in 2021-22, $5,127 in 2022-23.

Pinon Unified District (4390) teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,017, 2019-20: $4,108, 2020-21: $5,176, 2021-22: $6,001, 2022-23: $5,12702k4k6k8k2018-19$4,0172019-20$4,1082020-21$5,1762021-22$6,0012022-23$5,127
Pinon Unified District (4390) teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,017, 2019-20: $4,108, 2020-21: $5,176, 2021-22: $6,001, 2022-23: $5,12702k4k6k8k2018-19$4,0172019-20$4,1082020-21$5,1762021-22$6,0012022-23$5,127
Pinon Unified District (4390) teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,017, 2019-20: $4,108, 2020-21: $5,176, 2021-22: $6,001, 2022-23: $5,12702k4k6k8k2018-19$4,0172019-20$4,1082020-21$5,1762021-22$6,0012022-23$5,127
Pinon Unified District (4390) teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,017, 2019-20: $4,108, 2020-21: $5,176, 2021-22: $6,001, 2022-23: $5,12702k4k6k8k2018-19$4,0172019-20$4,1082020-21$5,1762021-22$6,0012022-23$5,127

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Pinon Unified District (4390) scored proficient or above: 14% in reading and 9% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtArizonaStudents tested
Reading and language arts14%40.4%467
Math9%34.8%471

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

70-74% of the 73 students in Pinon Unified District (4390)'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtArizona
Four-year graduation rate70‑74%77.8%
Students in the class7393,470

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 439 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pinon Elementary School43913.383.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 232 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pinon Accelerated Middle School23211.680.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 348 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pinon High School34816.676.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Pinon Unified District (4390)

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Pinon Unified District (4390)

  1. Arizona districts by spending per studentPinon Unified District (4390) ranks 1 of 157 Arizona districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($22,666).#1 of 157
  2. Every school district in ArizonaPinon Unified District (4390) is the number 150 by size of 661 Arizona districts, with 1,053 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#150 of 661
  3. Academy of Mathematics and Science Inc. (92768)The next larger Arizona district: 1,058 students in fall 2022, $9,771 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,771
  4. Legacy Traditional School - East Mesa (834265)The next smaller Arizona district: 1,049 students in fall 2022, $8,877 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,877
  5. Compare Pinon Unified District (4390) with Academy of Mathematics and Science Inc. (92768)Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Pinon High School, its largest high school348 students in 2024-25, 16.6 per teacher.348
  7. Teacher salary spending across ArizonaPinon Unified District (4390) spent $66,590 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,248); spending, not a salary.$66,590
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Pinon Unified District (4390)

  1. How many schools and students are in Pinon Unified District (4390)?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,019 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Pinon Unified District (4390) spend per student?
    $22,666 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Arizona median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $10,493 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,962 per student, up 9.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Pinon Unified District (4390)'s money come from?
    $23,654,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 40.6% state, 3.8% local and 55.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Pinon Unified District (4390) live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 741 of the 1,425 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 52.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Pinon Unified District (4390) spend on teacher salaries?
    $5,194,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,127 per student. Divided by the 78 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $66,590 per teacher, more than 63 in 100 Arizona districts (state median $62,248). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Arizona teacher salary at $54,580 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Pinon Unified District (4390) do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Pinon Unified District (4390) scored proficient or above: 14% in reading and 9% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Pinon Unified District (4390)?
    70-74% of the 73 students in Pinon Unified District (4390)'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Pinon Unified District (4390)'s NCES district ID?
    0400023. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25