Morton School District 709

Listed by NCES as Morton CUSD 709 (district ID 1726800)

Public school district · Tazewell County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1726800

Morton School District 709 spent $14,122 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 83% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 6 schools enrolled 3,247 students in 2024-25; 25.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,231 per student, up 7.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 94% (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Morton School District 709 in enrollment (3,165 to 3,310 students) and Morton School District 709 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Morton School District 709, FY23Twp HSD 113 $36,038; Oak Park and River Forest High School $29,326; CCSD 93 $25,661; Thornton Fractional Twp HSD 215 $23,996; SD 45 DuPage County $22,608; Pekin Public Schools $16,904; Burbank SD 111 $16,823; Jacksonville SD 117 $15,969; Sterling Public Schools $14,348; Morton School District 709 $14,122; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30k40kTwp HSD 113$36,038Oak Park and River Forest High…$29,326CCSD 93$25,661Thornton Fractional Twp HSD 215$23,996SD 45 DuPage County$22,608Pekin Public Schools$16,904Burbank SD 111$16,823Jacksonville SD 117$15,969Sterling Public Schools$14,348Morton School District 709$14,122State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Morton School District 709, FY23Twp HSD 113 $36,038; Oak Park and River Forest High School $29,326; CCSD 93 $25,661; Thornton Fractional Twp HSD 215 $23,996; SD 45 DuPage County $22,608; Pekin Public Schools $16,904; Burbank SD 111 $16,823; Jacksonville SD 117 $15,969; Sterling Public Schools $14,348; Morton School District 709 $14,122; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30k40kTwp HSD 113$36,038Oak Park and River Forest High Scho…$29,326CCSD 93$25,661Thornton Fractional Twp HSD 215$23,996SD 45 DuPage County$22,608Pekin Public Schools$16,904Burbank SD 111$16,823Jacksonville SD 117$15,969Sterling Public Schools$14,348Morton School District 709$14,122State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Morton School District 709, FY23Twp HSD 113 $36,038; Oak Park and River Forest High School $29,326; CCSD 93 $25,661; Thornton Fractional Twp HSD 215 $23,996; SD 45 DuPage County $22,608; Pekin Public Schools $16,904; Burbank SD 111 $16,823; Jacksonville SD 117 $15,969; Sterling Public Schools $14,348; Morton School District 709 $14,122; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30k40kTwp HSD 113$36,038Oak Park and River Forest High School$29,326CCSD 93$25,661Thornton Fractional Twp HSD 215$23,996SD 45 DuPage County$22,608Pekin Public Schools$16,904Burbank SD 111$16,823Jacksonville SD 117$15,969Sterling Public Schools$14,348Morton School District 709$14,122State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Morton School District 709, FY23Twp HSD 113 $36,038; Oak Park and River Forest High School $29,326; CCSD 93 $25,661; Thornton Fractional Twp HSD 215 $23,996; SD 45 DuPage County $22,608; Pekin Public Schools $16,904; Burbank SD 111 $16,823; Jacksonville SD 117 $15,969; Sterling Public Schools $14,348; Morton School District 709 $14,122; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30k40kTwp HSD 113$36,038Oak Park and River Forest High School$29,326CCSD 93$25,661Thornton Fractional Twp HSD 215$23,996SD 45 DuPage County$22,608Pekin Public Schools$16,904Burbank SD 111$16,823Jacksonville SD 117$15,969Sterling Public Schools$14,348Morton School District 709$14,122State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$55,241,000 in revenue: 25.3% state, 70.9% local and 3.8% federal. Total spending including $4,713,000 of capital outlay was $50,861,000, or $15,727 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Morton School District 709 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $13,952,000; Local $39,173,000; Federal $2,116,000; total $55,241,000.
  • State$13,952,000 25%
  • Local$39,173,000 71%
  • Federal$2,116,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,234 students in 2022-23, 3,260 students in 2023-24, 3,247 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Morton School District 709 enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,234, 2023-24: 3,260, 2024-25: 3,24701k2k3k4k2022-233,2342023-243,2602024-253,247
Morton School District 709 enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,234, 2023-24: 3,260, 2024-25: 3,24701k2k3k4k2022-233,2342023-243,2602024-253,247
Morton School District 709 enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,234, 2023-24: 3,260, 2024-25: 3,24701k2k3k4k2022-233,2342023-243,2602024-253,247
Morton School District 709 enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,234, 2023-24: 3,260, 2024-25: 3,24701k2k3k4k2022-233,2342023-243,2602024-253,247

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,234207.615.6
2023-243,260212.915.3
2024-253,247206.515.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Morton School District 709 scored proficient or above: 57% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts57%29.9%1,565

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

94% of the 235 students in Morton School District 709's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate94%87.6%
Students in the class235149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 1,682 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lincoln Elementary School51716.8not reportedNot Title I
Grundy Elementary School46519.4not reportedNot Title I
Jefferson Elementary School35416.2not reportedTargeted program
Lettie Brown Elementary School34617.3not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 504 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Morton Jr High School50413.2not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,061 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Morton High School1,06114.8not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Morton School District 709

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Morton School District 709

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentMorton School District 709 ranks 314 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,122).#314 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisMorton School District 709 is the number 127 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 3,234 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#127 of 865
  3. CCSD 93The next larger Illinois district: 3,252 students in fall 2022, $25,661 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$25,661
  4. Burbank SD 111The next smaller Illinois district: 3,227 students in fall 2022, $16,823 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,823
  5. Compare Morton School District 709 with CCSD 93Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Morton High School, its largest high school1,061 students in 2024-25, 14.8 per teacher.1,061
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Morton School District 709

  1. How many schools and students are in Morton School District 709?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 3,247 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Morton School District 709 spend per student?
    $14,122 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,231 per student, up 7.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Morton School District 709's money come from?
    $55,241,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 25.3% state, 70.9% local and 3.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Morton School District 709 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 121 of the 3,426 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 3.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Morton School District 709 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Morton School District 709 scored proficient or above: 57% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Morton School District 709?
    94% of the 235 students in Morton School District 709's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Morton School District 709's NCES district ID?
    1726800. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25