Lighthouse Public Schools
Public school district · Bexar County · Texas · NCES district ID 4800246
Lighthouse Public Schools spent $11,410 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 92% of the other Texas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,156). Its 3 schools enrolled 462 students in 2024-25; 74.8% of its revenue came from the state.
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Lighthouse Public Schools in enrollment (414 to 431 students) and Lighthouse Public Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$6,235,000 in revenue: 74.8% state, 0.1% local and 25.0% federal. Total spending was $4,906,000, or $11,626 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.
- State$4,665,000 75%
- Local$9,000 0%
- Federal$1,561,000 25%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 629 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
422 students in 2022-23, 382 students in 2023-24, 462 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 422 | 25.0 | 16.9 |
| 2023-24 | 382 | 26.0 | 14.7 |
| 2024-25 | 462 | 24.9 | 18.6 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$835,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $1,979 per student
Lighthouse Public Schools booked $835,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 25 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $33,413 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 1 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $681,000 | 81.6% |
| Special education | $57,000 | 6.8% |
| Vocational | $39,000 | 4.7% |
| Other programs | $58,000 | 6.9% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,651 in 2018-19, $2,359 in 2019-20, $2,260 in 2020-21, $2,584 in 2021-22, $1,979 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Lighthouse Public Schools scored proficient or above: 20-32% in reading and 2-16% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Texas | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 20-32% | 52% | 183 |
| Math | 2-16% | 42% | 178 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 273 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lighthouse Elementary | 273 | 17.6 | 88.6% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 101 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lighthouse Middle | 101 | 23.8 | 89.1% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 88 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lighthouse High | 88 | 17.3 | 84.1% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Lighthouse Public Schools
- Website: lighthousesa.org
- Phone: (210) 236-7693
- Office: 8138 Westshire Dr, San Antonio, TX 78227
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Lighthouse Public Schools
- Texas districts by spending per studentLighthouse Public Schools ranks 580 of 629 Texas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,410).#580 of 629
- Every school district in TexasLighthouse Public Schools is the number 863 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 422 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#863 of 1,212
- Bovina ISDThe next larger Texas district: 425 students in fall 2022, $15,473 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,473
- Hamlin Collegiate ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 418 students in fall 2022, $17,206 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,206
- Compare Lighthouse Public Schools with Bovina ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Lighthouse High, its largest high school88 students in 2024-25, 17.3 per teacher.88
- Teacher salary spending across TexasLighthouse Public Schools spent $33,413 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$33,413
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Lighthouse Public Schools
How many schools and students are in Lighthouse Public Schools?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 462 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Lighthouse Public Schools spend per student?
$11,410 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,156 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does Lighthouse Public Schools' money come from?
$6,235,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 74.8% state, 0.1% local and 25.0% federal (NCES F-33).How much does Lighthouse Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
$835,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $1,979 per student. Divided by the 25 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $33,413 per teacher, more than 1 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Lighthouse Public Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Lighthouse Public Schools scored proficient or above: 20-32% in reading and 2-16% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Lighthouse Public Schools' NCES district ID?
4800246. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25