Hesston
Public school district · Harvey County · Kansas · NCES district ID 2007170
Hesston spent $11,840 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 99% of the other Kansas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,054). Its 3 schools enrolled 853 students in 2024-25; 72.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,120 per student, up 10.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Kansas: 88%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Kansas districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hesston in enrollment (833 to 893 students) and Hesston itself.
Where the money came from
$13,038,000 in revenue: 72.3% state, 23.0% local and 4.7% federal. Total spending including $981,000 of capital outlay was $11,783,000, or $13,544 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$9,432,000 72%
- Local$2,999,000 23%
- Federal$607,000 5%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 203 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
870 students in 2022-23, 831 students in 2023-24, 853 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 870 | 52.1 | 16.7 |
| 2023-24 | 831 | 51.2 | 16.2 |
| 2024-25 | 853 | 60.1 | 14.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$3,246,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,731 per student
Hesston booked $3,246,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 52 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $62,363 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 72 in 100 Kansas districts with a figure (state median $57,761, 260 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kansas teacher salary at $54,815 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $3,066,000 | 94.5% |
| Vocational | $180,000 | 5.5% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,392 in 2018-19, $3,600 in 2019-20, $3,973 in 2020-21, $3,825 in 2021-22, $3,731 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Hesston scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 50% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kansas, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Kansas | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 43% | 32.5% | 472 |
| Math | 50% | 29.4% | 471 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
95% or more of the 80 students in Hesston's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Kansas | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 95% or more | 88% |
| Students in the class | 80 | 36,783 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 306 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hesston Elementary | 306 | 14.8 | 22.2% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 273 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hesston Middle | 273 | 16.9 | 16.5% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 274 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hesston High | 274 | 11.7 | 16.8% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Hesston
- Website: hesstonschools.org
- Phone: (620) 327-4931
- Office: 150 N Ridge Road, Hesston, KS 67062
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Hesston
- Kansas districts by spending per studentHesston ranks 201 of 203 Kansas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,840).#201 of 203
- Every school district in KansasHesston is the number 96 by size of 290 Kansas districts, with 870 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#96 of 290
- Prairie View USD 362The next larger Kansas district: 871 students in fall 2022, $18,586 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,586
- Fort Larned USD 495The next smaller Kansas district: 864 students in fall 2022, $19,481 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,481
- Compare Hesston with Prairie View USD 362Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Hesston High, its largest high school274 students in 2024-25, 11.7 per teacher.274
- Teacher salary spending across KansasHesston spent $62,363 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $57,761); spending, not a salary.$62,363
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Hesston
How many schools and students are in Hesston?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 853 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Hesston spend per student?
$11,840 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kansas median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,054 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,120 per student, up 10.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Hesston's money come from?
$13,038,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 72.3% state, 23.0% local and 4.7% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Hesston live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 37 of the 792 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 4.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Hesston spend on teacher salaries?
$3,246,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,731 per student. Divided by the 52 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $62,363 per teacher, more than 72 in 100 Kansas districts (state median $57,761). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kansas teacher salary at $54,815 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Hesston do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Hesston scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 50% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Kansas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Hesston?
95% or more of the 80 students in Hesston's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Hesston's NCES district ID?
2007170. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25