West Carroll Special School District

Listed by NCES as West Carroll Sp Dist (district ID 4704490)

Public school district · Carroll County · Tennessee · NCES district ID 4704490

West Carroll Special School District spent $11,840 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 59% of the other Tennessee districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $11,915). Its 3 schools enrolled 734 students in 2024-25; 52.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,208 per student, up 11.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Tennessee: 87.3%).

Spending per student among Tennessee districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to West Carroll Special in enrollment (658 to 968 students) and West Carroll Special itself.

Current spending per student, Tennessee districts closest in size to West Carroll Special, FY23Hancock County Schools $13,442; Moore County $12,768; Van Buren County Schools $12,612; Lake County Schools $12,486; Lexington City Schools $12,031; Clinton City Schools $11,959; West Carroll Special $11,840; Newport $11,705; Dayton $10,657; Hollow Rock - Bruceton $10,246; State median, under 1,000 students $11,915.8k10k12k14kHancock County Schools$13,442Moore County$12,768Van Buren County Schools$12,612Lake County Schools$12,486Lexington City Schools$12,031Clinton City Schools$11,959West Carroll Special$11,840Newport$11,705Dayton$10,657Hollow Rock - Bruceton$10,246State median, under 1,000 students $11,915
Current spending per student, Tennessee districts closest in size to West Carroll Special, FY23Hancock County Schools $13,442; Moore County $12,768; Van Buren County Schools $12,612; Lake County Schools $12,486; Lexington City Schools $12,031; Clinton City Schools $11,959; West Carroll Special $11,840; Newport $11,705; Dayton $10,657; Hollow Rock - Bruceton $10,246; State median, under 1,000 students $11,915.8k10k12k14kHancock County Schools$13,442Moore County$12,768Van Buren County Schools$12,612Lake County Schools$12,486Lexington City Schools$12,031Clinton City Schools$11,959West Carroll Special$11,840Newport$11,705Dayton$10,657Hollow Rock - Bruceton$10,246State median, under 1,000 students $11,915
Current spending per student, Tennessee districts closest in size to West Carroll Special, FY23Hancock County Schools $13,442; Moore County $12,768; Van Buren County Schools $12,612; Lake County Schools $12,486; Lexington City Schools $12,031; Clinton City Schools $11,959; West Carroll Special $11,840; Newport $11,705; Dayton $10,657; Hollow Rock - Bruceton $10,246; State median, under 1,000 students $11,915.8k10k12k14kHancock County Schools$13,442Moore County$12,768Van Buren County Schools$12,612Lake County Schools$12,486Lexington City Schools$12,031Clinton City Schools$11,959West Carroll Special$11,840Newport$11,705Dayton$10,657Hollow Rock - Bruceton$10,246State median, under 1,000 students $11,915
Current spending per student, Tennessee districts closest in size to West Carroll Special, FY23Hancock County Schools $13,442; Moore County $12,768; Van Buren County Schools $12,612; Lake County Schools $12,486; Lexington City Schools $12,031; Clinton City Schools $11,959; West Carroll Special $11,840; Newport $11,705; Dayton $10,657; Hollow Rock - Bruceton $10,246; State median, under 1,000 students $11,915.8k10k12k14kHancock County Schools$13,442Moore County$12,768Van Buren County Schools$12,612Lake County Schools$12,486Lexington City Schools$12,031Clinton City Schools$11,959West Carroll Special$11,840Newport$11,705Dayton$10,657Hollow Rock - Bruceton$10,246State median, under 1,000 students $11,915

Where the money came from

$11,354,000 in revenue: 52.6% state, 27.4% local and 20.0% federal. Total spending including $586,000 of capital outlay was $10,623,000, or $12,692 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

West Carroll Special School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,975,000; Local $3,107,000; Federal $2,272,000; total $11,354,000.
  • State$5,975,000 53%
  • Local$3,107,000 27%
  • Federal$2,272,000 20%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 18 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2023-24

837 students in 2022-23, 783 students in 2023-24, counted across the schools that reported each year.

West Carroll Special School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 837, 2023-24: 78302505007501k2022-238372023-24783
West Carroll Special School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 837, 2023-24: 78302505007501k2022-238372023-24783
West Carroll Special School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 837, 2023-24: 78302505007501k2022-238372023-24783
West Carroll Special School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 837, 2023-24: 78302505007501k2022-238372023-24783

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2383769.512.0
2023-2478365.711.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,568,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,263 per student

West Carroll Special School District booked $3,568,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 70 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $51,338 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 12 in 100 Tennessee districts with a figure (state median $57,379, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Tennessee teacher salary at $53,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,159,00088.5%
Special education$218,0006.1%
Vocational$191,0005.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,587 in 2018-19, $3,604 in 2019-20, $4,024 in 2020-21, $4,224 in 2021-22, $4,263 in 2022-23.

West Carroll Special School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,587, 2019-20: $3,604, 2020-21: $4,024, 2021-22: $4,224, 2022-23: $4,26302k4k6k2018-19$3,5872019-20$3,6042020-21$4,0242021-22$4,2242022-23$4,263
West Carroll Special School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,587, 2019-20: $3,604, 2020-21: $4,024, 2021-22: $4,224, 2022-23: $4,26302k4k6k2018-19$3,5872019-20$3,6042020-21$4,0242021-22$4,2242022-23$4,263
West Carroll Special School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,587, 2019-20: $3,604, 2020-21: $4,024, 2021-22: $4,224, 2022-23: $4,26302k4k6k2018-19$3,5872019-20$3,6042020-21$4,0242021-22$4,2242022-23$4,263
West Carroll Special School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,587, 2019-20: $3,604, 2020-21: $4,024, 2021-22: $4,224, 2022-23: $4,26302k4k6k2018-19$3,5872019-20$3,6042020-21$4,0242021-22$4,2242022-23$4,263

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in West Carroll Special School District scored proficient or above: 18-27% in reading and 13-22% in math, against 35% in reading and 35% in math across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTennesseeStudents tested
Reading and language arts18-27%35%324
Math13-22%35%324

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 77 students in West Carroll Special School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTennessee
Four-year graduation rate95% or more87.3%
Students in the class7771,510

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 432 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
West Carroll Elementary School22211.9All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
West Carroll Primary21015.1All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 302 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
West Carroll Junior/Senior High School30210.8All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact West Carroll Special School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about West Carroll Special School District

  1. Tennessee districts by spending per studentWest Carroll Special School District ranks 11 of 18 Tennessee districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,840).#11 of 18
  2. Every school district in TennesseeWest Carroll Special School District is the number 131 by size of 148 Tennessee districts, with 837 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#131 of 148
  3. DaytonThe next larger Tennessee district: 848 students in fall 2022, $10,657 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,657
  4. Van Buren County SchoolsThe next smaller Tennessee district: 794 students in fall 2022, $12,612 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,612
  5. Compare West Carroll Special School District with DaytonEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. West Carroll Junior/Senior High School, its largest high school302 students in 2024-25, 10.8 per teacher.302
  7. Teacher salary spending across TennesseeWest Carroll Special School District spent $51,338 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $57,379); spending, not a salary.$51,338
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about West Carroll Special School District

  1. How many schools and students are in West Carroll Special School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 734 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does West Carroll Special School District spend per student?
    $11,840 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Tennessee median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,915 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,208 per student, up 11.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does West Carroll Special School District's money come from?
    $11,354,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 52.6% state, 27.4% local and 20.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in West Carroll Special School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 219 of the 1,150 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 19.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does West Carroll Special School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,568,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,263 per student. Divided by the 70 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $51,338 per teacher, more than 12 in 100 Tennessee districts (state median $57,379). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Tennessee teacher salary at $53,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in West Carroll Special School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in West Carroll Special School District scored proficient or above: 18-27% in reading and 13-22% in math, against 35% in reading and 35% in math across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in West Carroll Special School District?
    95% or more of the 77 students in West Carroll Special School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is West Carroll Special School District's NCES district ID?
    4704490. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25