Gulf

Public school district · Gulf County · Florida · NCES district ID 1200690

Gulf spent $14,110 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 94% of the other Florida districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,744). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,901 students in 2024-25; 16.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,881 per student, up 5.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (Florida: 88%).

Spending per student among Florida districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Gulf in enrollment (1,144 to 2,418 students) and Gulf itself.

Current spending per student, Florida districts closest in size to Gulf, FY23Franklin County $16,334; Glades $14,636; Gulf $14,110; Hamilton County $13,296; Liberty $12,890; Lafayette $12,884; Dixie District Schools $12,445; Madison $11,877; Calhoun $11,836; Union $11,686; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.10k12k14k16k18kFranklin County$16,334Glades$14,636Gulf$14,110Hamilton County$13,296Liberty$12,890Lafayette$12,884Dixie District Schools$12,445Madison$11,877Calhoun$11,836Union$11,686State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, Florida districts closest in size to Gulf, FY23Franklin County $16,334; Glades $14,636; Gulf $14,110; Hamilton County $13,296; Liberty $12,890; Lafayette $12,884; Dixie District Schools $12,445; Madison $11,877; Calhoun $11,836; Union $11,686; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.10k12k14k16k18kFranklin County$16,334Glades$14,636Gulf$14,110Hamilton County$13,296Liberty$12,890Lafayette$12,884Dixie District Schools$12,445Madison$11,877Calhoun$11,836Union$11,686State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, Florida districts closest in size to Gulf, FY23Franklin County $16,334; Glades $14,636; Gulf $14,110; Hamilton County $13,296; Liberty $12,890; Lafayette $12,884; Dixie District Schools $12,445; Madison $11,877; Calhoun $11,836; Union $11,686; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.10k14k18kFranklin County$16,334Glades$14,636Gulf$14,110Hamilton County$13,296Liberty$12,890Lafayette$12,884Dixie District Schools$12,445Madison$11,877Calhoun$11,836Union$11,686State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, Florida districts closest in size to Gulf, FY23Franklin County $16,334; Glades $14,636; Gulf $14,110; Hamilton County $13,296; Liberty $12,890; Lafayette $12,884; Dixie District Schools $12,445; Madison $11,877; Calhoun $11,836; Union $11,686; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.10k14k18kFranklin County$16,334Glades$14,636Gulf$14,110Hamilton County$13,296Liberty$12,890Lafayette$12,884Dixie District Schools$12,445Madison$11,877Calhoun$11,836Union$11,686State median, 1,000+ students $11,744

Where the money came from

$29,538,000 in revenue: 16.0% state, 67.5% local and 16.4% federal. Total spending including $1,455,000 of capital outlay was $29,247,000, or $15,170 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Gulf revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $4,736,000; Local $19,948,000; Federal $4,854,000; total $29,538,000.
  • State$4,736,000 16%
  • Local$19,948,000 68%
  • Federal$4,854,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 66 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,928 students in 2022-23, 1,915 students in 2023-24, 1,901 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Gulf enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,928, 2023-24: 1,915, 2024-25: 1,90105001k1.5k2k2022-231,9282023-241,9152024-251,901
Gulf enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,928, 2023-24: 1,915, 2024-25: 1,90105001k1.5k2k2022-231,9282023-241,9152024-251,901
Gulf enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,928, 2023-24: 1,915, 2024-25: 1,90105001k1.5k2k2022-231,9282023-241,9152024-251,901
Gulf enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,928, 2023-24: 1,915, 2024-25: 1,90105001k1.5k2k2022-231,9282023-241,9152024-251,901

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,928122.715.7
2023-241,915126.215.2
2024-251,901129.514.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$8,539,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,429 per student

Gulf booked $8,539,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 123 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $69,310 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 94 in 100 Florida districts with a figure (state median $58,157, 66 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Florida teacher salary at $51,230 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,673,00066.4%
Special education$2,493,00029.2%
Vocational$257,0003.0%
Other programs$116,0001.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,899 in 2018-19, $3,002 in 2019-20, $4,101 in 2020-21, $4,023 in 2021-22, $4,429 in 2022-23.

Gulf teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,899, 2019-20: $3,002, 2020-21: $4,101, 2021-22: $4,023, 2022-23: $4,42902k4k6k2018-19$2,8992019-20$3,0022020-21$4,1012021-22$4,0232022-23$4,429
Gulf teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,899, 2019-20: $3,002, 2020-21: $4,101, 2021-22: $4,023, 2022-23: $4,42902k4k6k2018-19$2,8992019-20$3,0022020-21$4,1012021-22$4,0232022-23$4,429
Gulf teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,899, 2019-20: $3,002, 2020-21: $4,101, 2021-22: $4,023, 2022-23: $4,42902k4k6k2018-19$2,8992019-20$3,0022020-21$4,1012021-22$4,0232022-23$4,429
Gulf teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,899, 2019-20: $3,002, 2020-21: $4,101, 2021-22: $4,023, 2022-23: $4,42902k4k6k2018-19$2,8992019-20$3,0022020-21$4,1012021-22$4,0232022-23$4,429

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Gulf scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 50-54% in math, against 53% in reading and 55% in math across Florida. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Florida, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtFloridaStudents tested
Reading and language arts45-49%53%827
Math50-54%55%830

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-84% of the 146 students in Gulf's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtFlorida
Four-year graduation rate80‑84%88%
Students in the class146208,274

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 876 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wewahitchka Elementary School44815.549.3%Schoolwide program
Port St. Joe Elementary School42812.637.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 1,001 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Port St. Joe High School57514.535.7%Eligible, no program
Wewahitchka High School42615.846.7%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 24 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Prek Ese24not reported12.5%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Gulf

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Gulf

  1. Florida districts by spending per studentGulf ranks 5 of 66 Florida districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,110).#5 of 66
  2. Every school district in FloridaGulf is the number 66 by size of 80 Florida districts, with 1,928 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#66 of 80
  3. Dixie District SchoolsThe next larger Florida district: 2,090 students in fall 2022, $12,445 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,445
  4. GladesThe next smaller Florida district: 1,819 students in fall 2022, $14,636 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,636
  5. Compare Gulf with Dixie District SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Port St. Joe High School, its largest high school575 students in 2024-25, 14.5 per teacher.575
  7. Teacher salary spending across FloridaGulf spent $69,310 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $58,157); spending, not a salary.$69,310
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Gulf

  1. How many schools and students are in Gulf?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 2 high, 1 other), enrolling 1,901 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Gulf spend per student?
    $14,110 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Florida median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,744 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,881 per student, up 5.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Gulf's money come from?
    $29,538,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 16.0% state, 67.5% local and 16.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Gulf live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 377 of the 1,965 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 19.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Gulf spend on teacher salaries?
    $8,539,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,429 per student. Divided by the 123 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $69,310 per teacher, more than 94 in 100 Florida districts (state median $58,157). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Florida teacher salary at $51,230 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Gulf do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Gulf scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 50-54% in math, against 53% in reading and 55% in math across Florida. Florida's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Gulf?
    80-84% of the 146 students in Gulf's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Gulf's NCES district ID?
    1200690. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25