Franklin CUSD 1
Public school district · Morgan County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1715750
Franklin CUSD 1 spent $20,200 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 79% of the other Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,409). Its 3 schools enrolled 284 students in 2024-25; 29.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,101 per student, up 14.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50% or more (Illinois: 87.6%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Franklin CUSD 1 in enrollment (279 to 291 students) and Franklin CUSD 1 itself.
Where the money came from
$6,954,000 in revenue: 29.2% state, 60.2% local and 10.6% federal. Total spending including $203,000 of capital outlay was $6,423,000, or $22,537 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$2,028,000 29%
- Local$4,186,000 60%
- Federal$740,000 11%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 468 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25
285 students in 2022-23, 278 students in 2023-24, 284 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 285 | 28.4 | 10.0 |
| 2023-24 | 278 | 27.3 | 10.2 |
| 2024-25 | 284 | 27.8 | 10.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Franklin CUSD 1 scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 20-24% | 29.9% | 152 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
50% or more of the 13 students in Franklin CUSD 1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 50% or more | 87.6% |
| Students in the class | 13 | 149,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 elementary schools, 127 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Franklin East Grade School | 80 | 13.9 | not reported | Targeted program |
| Franklin Elementary School | 47 | 9.5 | not reported | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 157 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Franklin Jr/Sr High School | 157 | 9.2 | not reported | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Franklin CUSD 1
- Website: franklinhigh.com
- Phone: (217) 675-2334
- Office: 110 State, Franklin, IL 62638
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Franklin CUSD 1
- Illinois districts by spending per studentFranklin CUSD 1 ranks 100 of 468 Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($20,200).#100 of 468
- Every school district in IllinoisFranklin CUSD 1 is the number 722 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 285 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#722 of 865
- Donovan CUSD 3The next larger Illinois district: 289 students in fall 2022, $16,529 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,529
- St. Anne Grade SchoolThe next smaller Illinois district: 281 students in fall 2022, $19,779 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,779
- Compare Franklin CUSD 1 with Donovan CUSD 3Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Franklin Jr/Sr High School, its largest high school157 students in 2024-25, 9.2 per teacher.157
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Franklin CUSD 1
How many schools and students are in Franklin CUSD 1?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 284 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Franklin CUSD 1 spend per student?
$20,200 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,409 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,101 per student, up 14.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Franklin CUSD 1's money come from?
$6,954,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 29.2% state, 60.2% local and 10.6% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Franklin CUSD 1 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 18 of the 287 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Franklin CUSD 1 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Franklin CUSD 1 scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Franklin CUSD 1?
50% or more of the 13 students in Franklin CUSD 1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Franklin CUSD 1's NCES district ID?
1715750. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25