David Douglas SD 40
Public school district · Multnomah County · Oregon · NCES district ID 4103940
David Douglas SD 40 spent $21,259 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, the most of the 93 Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,368). Its 14 schools enrolled 8,716 students in 2024-25; 71.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,778 per student, up 7.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 73% (Oregon: 81.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Oregon districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to David Douglas SD 40 in enrollment (6,510 to 9,868 students) and David Douglas SD 40 itself.
Where the money came from
$206,505,000 in revenue: 71.9% state, 15.4% local and 12.7% federal. Total spending including $10,392,000 of capital outlay was $201,052,000, or $23,088 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$148,574,000 72%
- Local$31,776,000 15%
- Federal$26,155,000 13%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 93 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
8,580 students in 2022-23, 8,660 students in 2023-24, 8,716 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 8,580 | 465.7 | 18.4 |
| 2023-24 | 8,660 | 458.1 | 18.9 |
| 2024-25 | 8,716 | 468.8 | 18.6 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$43,604,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,007 per student
David Douglas SD 40 booked $43,604,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 473 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $92,276 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 99 in 100 Oregon districts with a figure (state median $65,110, 168 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oregon teacher salary at $69,671 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $26,957,000 | 61.8% |
| Special education | $8,512,000 | 19.5% |
| Vocational | $974,000 | 2.2% |
| Other programs | $7,161,000 | 16.4% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,025 in 2018-19, $4,125 in 2019-20, $4,399 in 2020-21, $4,962 in 2021-22, $5,007 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in David Douglas SD 40 scored proficient or above: 38% in reading and 22% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oregon, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Oregon | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 38% | 44% | 4,296 |
| Math | 22% | 30.6% | 4,291 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
73% of the 654 students in David Douglas SD 40's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Oregon | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 73% | 81.3% |
| Students in the class | 654 | 46,371 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
10 elementary schools, 3,902 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gilbert Park Elementary School | 503 | 24.0 | 76.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Mill Park Elementary School | 494 | 19.8 | 84.3% | Schoolwide program |
| Lincoln Park Elementary School | 457 | 18.7 | 81.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Cherry Park Elementary School | 442 | 17.0 | 86.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Gilbert Heights Elementary School | 405 | 18.2 | 76.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Earl Boyles Elementary | 365 | 15.9 | 87.9% | Schoolwide program |
| West Powellhurst Elementary School | 364 | 17.5 | 80.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Ventura Park Elementary School | 361 | 18.6 | 76.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Menlo Park Elementary School | 355 | 16.9 | 77.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Arthur Academy | 156 | 13.0 | 100.0% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 middle schools, 2,058 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ron Russell Middle School | 780 | 16.5 | 76.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Floyd Light Middle School | 684 | 19.5 | 78.3% | Schoolwide program |
| Alice Ott Middle School | 594 | 18.0 | 76.8% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 2,756 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| David Douglas High School | 2,756 | 19.9 | 92.3% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact David Douglas SD 40
- Website: ddouglas.k12.or.us
- Phone: (503) 252-2900
- Office: 11300 NE Halsey St, Portland, OR 97220
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about David Douglas SD 40
- Oregon districts by spending per studentDavid Douglas SD 40 ranks 1 of 93 Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,259).#1 of 93
- Every school district in OregonDavid Douglas SD 40 is the number 15 by size of 207 Oregon districts, with 8,708 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#15 of 207
- Greater Albany Public SD 8JThe next larger Oregon district: 9,060 students in fall 2022, $14,894 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,894
- Oregon City SD 62The next smaller Oregon district: 7,296 students in fall 2022, $12,743 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,743
- Compare David Douglas SD 40 with Greater Albany Public SD 8JEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- David Douglas High School, its largest high school2,756 students in 2024-25, 19.9 per teacher.2,756
- Teacher salary spending across OregonDavid Douglas SD 40 spent $92,276 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $65,110); spending, not a salary.$92,276
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about David Douglas SD 40
How many schools and students are in David Douglas SD 40?
14 schools were open in 2024-25 (10 elementary, 3 middle, 1 high), enrolling 8,716 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does David Douglas SD 40 spend per student?
$21,259 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oregon median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,368 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,778 per student, up 7.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does David Douglas SD 40's money come from?
$206,505,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 71.9% state, 15.4% local and 12.7% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in David Douglas SD 40 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 2,048 of the 10,295 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 19.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does David Douglas SD 40 spend on teacher salaries?
$43,604,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,007 per student. Divided by the 473 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $92,276 per teacher, more than 99 in 100 Oregon districts (state median $65,110). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oregon teacher salary at $69,671 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in David Douglas SD 40 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in David Douglas SD 40 scored proficient or above: 38% in reading and 22% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Oregon's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in David Douglas SD 40?
73% of the 654 students in David Douglas SD 40's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is David Douglas SD 40's NCES district ID?
4103940. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25