Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1
Public school district · Deschutes County · Oregon · NCES district ID 4101980
Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 spent $14,077 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 77% of the other Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,368). Its 35 schools enrolled 16,838 students in 2024-25; 42.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,753 per student, up 4.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 84% (Oregon: 81.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Oregon's largest districts
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 ranks 9.
Where the money came from
$311,712,000 in revenue: 42.7% state, 51.1% local and 6.3% federal. Total spending including $20,444,000 of capital outlay was $285,773,000, or $16,462 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$133,025,000 43%
- Local$159,194,000 51%
- Federal$19,493,000 6%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 93 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25
17,007 students in 2022-23, 17,075 students in 2023-24, 16,838 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 17,007 | 874.5 | 19.4 |
| 2023-24 | 17,075 | 830.9 | 20.5 |
| 2024-25 | 16,838 | 797.8 | 21.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$66,434,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,827 per student
Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 booked $66,434,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 890 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $74,686 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 79 in 100 Oregon districts with a figure (state median $65,110, 168 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oregon teacher salary at $69,671 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $55,219,000 | 83.1% |
| Special education | $6,812,000 | 10.3% |
| Vocational | $398,000 | 0.6% |
| Other programs | $4,005,000 | 6.0% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,034 in 2018-19, $3,073 in 2019-20, $3,586 in 2020-21, $3,789 in 2021-22, $3,827 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 scored proficient or above: 56% in reading and 45% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oregon, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Oregon | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 56% | 44% | 7,672 |
| Math | 45% | 30.6% | 7,453 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
84% of the 1,507 students in Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Oregon | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 84% | 81.3% |
| Students in the class | 1,507 | 46,371 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
21 elementary schools, 7,566 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pine Ridge Elementary | 528 | 19.1 | 48.3% | Not Title I |
| Bear Creek Elementary School | 521 | 16.9 | 97.3% | Schoolwide program |
| William E Miller Elementary | 501 | 19.8 | 48.1% | Not Title I |
| LaPine Elementary School | 483 | 17.6 | 98.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Ponderosa Elementary | 464 | 19.7 | 48.1% | Not Title I |
| Elk Meadow Elementary School | 459 | 17.9 | 48.6% | Schoolwide program |
| Silver Rail Elementary School | 457 | 19.1 | 48.1% | Schoolwide program |
| Juniper Elementary School | 432 | 17.6 | 47.7% | Schoolwide program |
| R E Jewell Elementary School | 421 | 17.5 | 48.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Three Rivers Elementary School | 421 | 18.8 | 48.0% | Schoolwide program |
| High Lakes Elementary School | 415 | 19.1 | 48.4% | Not Title I |
| Lava Ridge Elementary School | 404 | 19.0 | 48.3% | Not Title I |
The other 9 elementary schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highland School at Kenwood Elementary School | 384 | 20.4 | 48.2% | Not Title I |
| Buckingham Elementary School | 340 | 16.8 | 47.9% | Schoolwide program |
| North Star Elementary | 319 | 17.4 | 49.5% | Not Title I |
| Bend International School | 217 | 18.7 | 28.6% | Not Title I |
| Westside Village Magnet School at Kingston Elementary School | 203 | 17.5 | 47.3% | Schoolwide program |
| Desert Sky Montessori | 168 | 21.2 | not reported | Not Title I |
| Rosland Elementary | 155 | 10.8 | 98.7% | Schoolwide program |
| Amity Creek Elementary School | 144 | 18.9 | 47.2% | Not Title I |
| Ensworth Elementary School | 130 | 11.4 | 97.7% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
7 middle schools, 3,567 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cascade Middle School | 687 | 24.2 | 47.9% | Not Title I |
| High Desert Middle School | 668 | 22.0 | 47.9% | Not Title I |
| Sky View Middle School | 598 | 21.9 | 47.8% | Not Title I |
| Pilot Butte Middle School | 589 | 19.9 | 47.2% | Not Title I |
| Pacific Crest Middle School | 585 | 24.6 | 50.6% | Not Title I |
| LaPine Middle School | 284 | 17.1 | 99.3% | Not Title I |
| Realms Middle School | 156 | 18.8 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
7 high schools, 5,705 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caldera High School | 1,354 | not reported | 48.3% | Not Title I |
| Summit High School | 1,282 | 26.2 | 48.2% | Not Title I |
| Bend Senior High School | 1,204 | 22.5 | 48.3% | Not Title I |
| Mountain View Senior High School | 1,161 | 22.8 | 48.9% | Not Title I |
| LaPine Senior High School | 440 | 17.4 | 48.6% | Not Title I |
| Realms High School | 148 | 12.7 | 98.6% | Not Title I |
| Marshall High School | 116 | 10.2 | 46.6% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1
- Website: bend.k12.or.us
- Phone: (541) 355-1000
- Office: 520 NW Wall St, Bend, OR 97703
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1
- Oregon districts by spending per studentBend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 ranks 72 of 93 Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,077).#72 of 93
- Every school district in OregonBend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 is the number 5 by size of 207 Oregon districts, with 17,360 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#5 of 207
- Hillsboro School DistrictThe next larger Oregon district: 18,920 students in fall 2022, $16,743 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,743
- North Clackamas School DistrictThe next smaller Oregon district: 16,778 students in fall 2022, $15,025 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,025
- Compare Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 with Hillsboro School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Caldera High School, its largest high school1,354 students in 2024-25.1,354
- Teacher salary spending across OregonBend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 spent $74,686 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $65,110); spending, not a salary.$74,686
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1
How many schools and students are in Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1?
35 schools were open in 2024-25 (21 elementary, 7 middle, 7 high), enrolling 16,838 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 spend per student?
$14,077 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oregon median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,368 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,753 per student, up 4.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1's money come from?
$311,712,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 42.7% state, 51.1% local and 6.3% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 1,449 of the 19,879 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 7.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 spend on teacher salaries?
$66,434,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,827 per student. Divided by the 890 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $74,686 per teacher, more than 79 in 100 Oregon districts (state median $65,110). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oregon teacher salary at $69,671 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1 scored proficient or above: 56% in reading and 45% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Oregon's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1?
84% of the 1,507 students in Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Bend-LaPine Administrative SD 1's NCES district ID?
4101980. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25