Public schools in Shelton, WA
Shelton has 14 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 5 high, 3 middle, 6 elementary, enrolling 5,794 students. They are run by 4 districts and agencies; Shelton School District runs 10 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 4 districts and agencies that run Shelton's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Shelton | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shelton School District | 10 | 4,540 | $17,578 |
| Pioneer School District 402 | 2 | 759 | $19,599 |
| Hood Canal School District | 1 | 346 | $21,882 |
| Southside School District | 1 | 195 | $18,005 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
5 high schools in Shelton, 1,795 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shelton High School | 1,455 | 18.9 | 49.3% | Shelton |
| Choice Middle and High School | 217 | 20.7 | 54.4% | Shelton |
| Cedar High School | 100 | 13.9 | 48.0% | Shelton |
| Shelton Open Doors | 22 | not reported | 45.5% | Shelton |
| Mason County Detention Center | 1 | 1.0 | not reported | Shelton |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
3 middle schools in Shelton, 1,395 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olympic Middle School | 601 | 17.4 | 63.2% | Shelton |
| Oakland Bay Junior High School | 544 | 17.0 | 58.1% | Shelton |
| Pioneer Middle School | 250 | 12.9 | 52.4% | Pioneer |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
6 elementary schools in Shelton, 2,604 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mountain View Elementary | 671 | 15.0 | 62.1% | Shelton |
| Bordeaux Elementary School | 528 | 14.7 | 60.8% | Shelton |
| Pioneer Elementary School | 482 | 15.2 | 56.4% | Pioneer |
| Evergreen Elementary School | 378 | 12.7 | 74.6% | Shelton |
| Hood Canal Elementary School | 337 | 13.9 | 64.4% | Hood Canal |
| Southside Elementary | 208 | 14.4 | 34.1% | Southside |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Shelton's public schools compare with Washington's
The median Shelton school has 14.8 students per full-time teacher, fewer than the Washington median of 16.7. 21% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 37% across the state. Its median school enrolls 358 students (state 391).
| Shelton | Washington | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 14.8 | 16.7 |
| Median school size (students) | 358 | 391 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 21% | 37% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 79% | 53% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 0.6% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 14 Shelton schools and the 2,437 Washington schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Shelton
- Shelton School DistrictRuns 10 of Shelton's 14 public schools and spent $17,578 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,578
- Shelton High School, the largest high school in Shelton1,455 students in 2024-25, 18.9 per teacher.1,455
- Compare Shelton School District with Pioneer School District 402Shelton's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in WashingtonWashington's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Shelton addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Washington
Questions about schools in Shelton
How many public schools are in Shelton, WA?
14 public schools with an address in Shelton were open in 2024-25: 5 high, 3 middle, 6 elementary, enrolling 5,794 students.What is the largest high school in Shelton?
Shelton High School, with 1,455 students in 2024-25 (Shelton School District).Which districts run Shelton's schools?
Shelton School District (10 schools), Pioneer School District 402 (2 schools), Hood Canal School District (1 school), Southside School District (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25