Public schools in Powell, TN

Powell has 5 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 1 high, 1 middle, 3 elementary, enrolling 3,852 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Knox County Schools runs 4 of them.

The 2 districts and agencies that run Powell's public schools

Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.

DistrictSchools in PowellDistrict students, fall 2022Spending per student, FY23
Knox County Schools460,609$11,187
Anderson County School District16,317$12,945

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.

One high school in Powell, 1,253 students

SchoolStudents 2024‑25Per teacherFree lunchDistrict
Powell High School1,25317.4All free (CEP)Knox County Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.

One middle school in Powell, 810 students

SchoolStudents 2024‑25Per teacherFree lunchDistrict
Powell Middle School81014.9All free (CEP)Knox County Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.

3 elementary schools in Powell, 1,789 students

SchoolStudents 2024‑25Per teacherFree lunchDistrict
Powell Elementary85214.9All free (CEP)Knox County Schools
Copper Ridge Elementary48113.9All free (CEP)Knox County Schools
Claxton Elementary45613.7All free (CEP)Anderson County

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.

How Powell's public schools compare with Tennessee's

20% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 67% across the state. Its median school enrolls 810 students (state 469).

Powell against Tennessee, schools open in 2024-25 with students
PowellTennessee
Median students per teachernot reportednot reported
Median school size (students)810469
Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22)20%67%
Schools where every student eats free (CEP)100%66%
Charter schools0%5.5%

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 5 Powell schools and the 1,804 Tennessee schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.

What to look at next in Powell

  1. Knox County SchoolsRuns 4 of Powell's 5 public schools and spent $11,187 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,187
  2. Powell High School, the largest high school in Powell1,253 students in 2024-25, 17.4 per teacher.1,253
  3. Compare Knox County Schools with Anderson County School DistrictPowell's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
  4. The largest public schools in TennesseeTennessee's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
  5. Find the school district for a Powell addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).

Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.

Other cities in Tennessee

  1. Memphis191 schools
  2. Nashville118 schools
  3. Knoxville80 schools
  4. Chattanooga48 schools
  5. Clarksville37 schools
  6. Murfreesboro32 schools
  7. Cleveland25 schools
  8. Franklin25 schools

Questions about schools in Powell

  1. How many public schools are in Powell, TN?
    5 public schools with an address in Powell were open in 2024-25: 1 high, 1 middle, 3 elementary, enrolling 3,852 students.
  2. What is the largest high school in Powell?
    Powell High School, with 1,253 students in 2024-25 (Knox County Schools).
  3. Which districts run Powell's schools?
    Knox County Schools (4 schools), Anderson County School District (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.

These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.

Sources

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25