Public schools in Prineville, OR
Prineville has 8 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 3 high, 1 middle, 3 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 4,182 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Crook County SD runs 6 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 2 districts and agencies that run Prineville's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Prineville | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crook County SD | 6 | 3,272 | $13,635 |
| Mitchell SD 55 | 2 | 1,027 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
3 high schools in Prineville, 1,010 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crook County High School | 842 | 20.4 | 71.0% | Crook County SD |
| Pioneer Secondary Alternative High School | 89 | 22.3 | 86.5% | Crook County SD |
| Destinations Career Academy of Oregon | 79 | 31.3 | not reported | Mitchell SD 55 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One middle school in Prineville, 616 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crook County Middle School | 616 | 15.3 | 71.8% | Crook County SD |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
3 elementary schools in Prineville, 1,330 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crooked River Elementary School | 553 | 16.1 | 79.9% | Crook County SD |
| Barnes Butte Elementary | 510 | 14.0 | 79.4% | Crook County SD |
| Steins Pillar Elementary | 267 | 15.1 | 79.8% | Crook County SD |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One other school in Prineville, 1,226 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cascade Virtual Academy | 1,226 | 35.3 | not reported | Mitchell SD 55 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Prineville's public schools compare with Oregon's
The median Prineville school has 18.3 students per full-time teacher, more than the Oregon median of 17.1. 25% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 41% across the state. Its median school enrolls 532 students (state 346).
| Prineville | Oregon | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 18.3 | 17.1 |
| Median school size (students) | 532 | 346 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 25% | 41% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 75% | 87% |
| Charter schools | 25% | 9.9% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 8 Prineville schools and the 1,266 Oregon schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Prineville
- Crook County SDRuns 6 of Prineville's 8 public schools and spent $13,635 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,635
- Crook County High School, the largest high school in Prineville842 students in 2024-25, 20.4 per teacher.842
- Compare Crook County SD with Mitchell SD 55Prineville's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in OregonOregon's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Prineville addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Oregon
Questions about schools in Prineville
How many public schools are in Prineville, OR?
8 public schools with an address in Prineville were open in 2024-25: 3 high, 1 middle, 3 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 4,182 students. 2 are charter schools.What is the largest high school in Prineville?
Crook County High School, with 842 students in 2024-25 (Crook County SD).Which districts run Prineville's schools?
Crook County SD (6 schools), Mitchell SD 55 (2 schools). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25