New York City Geographic District #25

Public school district · Queens County · New York · NCES district ID 3600122

New York City Geographic District #25's fiscal year 2022-23 finance report (NCES F-33) gives no current spending per student. Its 46 schools enrolled 33,704 students in 2024-25. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85% (New York: 87.2%).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

33,496 students in 2022-23, 33,802 students in 2023-24, 33,704 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

New York City Geographic District #25 enrollment by school year2022-23: 33,496, 2023-24: 33,802, 2024-25: 33,704010k20k30k40k2022-2333,4962023-2433,8022024-2533,704
New York City Geographic District #25 enrollment by school year2022-23: 33,496, 2023-24: 33,802, 2024-25: 33,704010k20k30k40k2022-2333,4962023-2433,8022024-2533,704
New York City Geographic District #25 enrollment by school year2022-23: 33,496, 2023-24: 33,802, 2024-25: 33,704010k20k30k40k2022-2333,4962023-2433,8022024-2533,704
New York City Geographic District #25 enrollment by school year2022-23: 33,496, 2023-24: 33,802, 2024-25: 33,704010k20k30k40k2022-2333,4962023-2433,8022024-2533,704

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2333,4962480.813.5
2023-2433,8022493.513.6
2024-2533,7042566.713.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in New York City Geographic District #25 scored proficient or above: 63% in reading and 57% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New York, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew YorkStudents tested
Reading and language arts63%47%15,155
Math57%40%15,019

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85% of the 2,381 students in New York City Geographic District #25's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew York
Four-year graduation rate85%87.2%
Students in the class2,381202,009

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

26 elementary schools, 16,917 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
PS 24 Andrew Jackson1,19713.080.7%Schoolwide program
PS 79 Francis Lewis1,08815.460.5%Not Title I
PS 21 Edward Hart1,08613.175.4%Schoolwide program
PS 129 Patricia Larkin1,07112.583.1%Schoolwide program
PS 20 John Bowne99513.883.5%Schoolwide program
PS 32 State Street81513.261.8%Schoolwide program
PS 107 Thomas a Dooley80613.979.5%Schoolwide program
PS 163 Flushing Heights75714.379.3%Schoolwide program
PS 12074813.486.1%Schoolwide program
PS 22 Thomas Jefferson74713.080.3%Schoolwide program
PS 2968212.584.9%Schoolwide program
PS 165 Edith K Bergtraum6068.370.3%Schoolwide program
The other 14 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
PS 219 Paul Klapper5968.971.3%Schoolwide program
PS 193 Alfred J Kennedy55916.038.3%Not Title I
PS 15454213.672.9%Schoolwide program
Queens College School for Math Science & Technology (the)53614.949.8%Not Title I
PS 164 Queens Valley52711.165.8%Schoolwide program
PS/Ms 200 Magnet School-Global Studi48911.665.0%Schoolwide program
PS 184 Flushing Manor46214.653.2%Not Title I
Active Learning Elementary School (the)45816.471.8%Schoolwide program
PS 209 Clearview Gardens44513.138.4%Not Title I
PS 169 Bay Terrace40615.031.0%Not Title I
PS 13036113.152.1%Not Title I
PS 214 Cadwallader Colden33112.076.1%Schoolwide program
PS 201 Discovery School for Inquiry and Research (the)30410.282.9%Schoolwide program
PS 242 Leonard P Stavisky Early Childhood School30312.662.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

8 middle schools, 6,572 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
JHS 185 Edward Bleeker1,51613.672.2%Schoolwide program
Is 2371,31315.280.4%Schoolwide program
Is 25 Adrien Block1,02314.164.9%Not Title I
JHS 194 William Carr98613.962.1%Not Title I
JHS 189 Daniel Carter Beard60310.982.6%Schoolwide program
Bell Academy44115.841.7%Not Title I
College Point Collaborative43610.882.6%Schoolwide program
Is 250 Robert F Kennedy Community Middle School (the)2549.682.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

12 high schools, 10,215 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
John Bowne High School2,77813.576.2%Schoolwide program
Flushing High School1,65014.382.7%Schoolwide program
Townsend Harris High School1,34214.951.2%Not Title I
East-West School of International Studies70010.679.4%Schoolwide program
Veritas Academy65315.280.1%Schoolwide program
World Journalism Preparatory: a College Board School61313.751.1%Not Title I
Queens School of Inquiry (the)59312.763.2%Not Title I
Robert F Kennedy Community High School58712.574.4%Schoolwide program
Queens High School for Language Studies44115.278.7%Schoolwide program
Flushing International High School39012.887.7%Schoolwide program
Queens Academy High School35111.992.3%Schoolwide program
North Queens Community High School1178.778.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact New York City Geographic District #25

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about New York City Geographic District #25

  1. Every school district in New YorkNew York City Geographic District #25 is the number 10 by size of 1,104 New York districts, with 34,704 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#10 of 1,104
  2. New York City Geographic District #30The next larger New York district: 36,007 students in fall 2022.
  3. New York City Geographic District #21The next smaller New York district: 34,421 students in fall 2022.
  4. Compare New York City Geographic District #25 with New York City Geographic District #30Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  5. John Bowne High School, its largest high school2,778 students in 2024-25, 13.5 per teacher.2,778
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about New York City Geographic District #25

  1. How many schools and students are in New York City Geographic District #25?
    46 schools were open in 2024-25 (26 elementary, 8 middle, 12 high), enrolling 33,704 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How do students in New York City Geographic District #25 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in New York City Geographic District #25 scored proficient or above: 63% in reading and 57% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. New York's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  3. What is the graduation rate in New York City Geographic District #25?
    85% of the 2,381 students in New York City Geographic District #25's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  4. What is New York City Geographic District #25's NCES district ID?
    3600122. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25