Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech

Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Springfield, Massachusetts

Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech in Springfield, Massachusetts enrolled 95 students in 2024-25 with 7.3 full-time teachers, 13.1 students per teacher against the Massachusetts high-school median of 11.2. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 20% or less of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 42%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 40-59% (Massachusetts: 89.2%).

Enrollment rose 8% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 29%

88 students in 2022-23, 72 students in 2023-24, 95 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 5.6 to 7.3.

Students enrolled at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech by school year2022-23: 88, 2023-24: 72, 2024-25: 9502550751002022-23882023-24722024-2595
Students enrolled at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech by school year2022-23: 88, 2023-24: 72, 2024-25: 9502550751002022-23882023-24722024-2595
Students enrolled at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech by school year2022-23: 88, 2023-24: 72, 2024-25: 9502550751002022-23882023-24722024-2595
Students enrolled at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech by school year2022-23: 88, 2023-24: 72, 2024-25: 9502550751002022-23882023-24722024-2595
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23885.615.7
2023-24726.411.2
2024-25957.313.1

13.1 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 79 of every 100 Massachusetts high schools

Among the 373 Massachusetts high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.2; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 13.1; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.1state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 13.1; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.1state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 13.1; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.1state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 13.1; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.1state median 11.2U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech enrolled 76 students and reported no counselor; it reported 1 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions1
  • Chronically absent63.6% (2022-23)

Who attends

66.3% of students were Hispanic, 16.8% Black, 13.7% White in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic66.3%
  2. Black16.8%
  3. White13.7%
  4. Asian2.1%
  5. Two or more races1.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2022-23

In 2022-23, the students tested at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech scored proficient or above: 20% or less in math, against 42% in math across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23.

Students proficient or above, 2022-23
SubjectThis schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Math20% or less15% (2021-22)42%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

40-59% of the 22 students in Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Four-year graduation rate40‑59%83%89.2%
Students in the class221,76972,602

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Springfield

16 public high schools in Springfield report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Springfield Central High1,98312.2not reported
Roger L. Putnam Vocational Technical Academy1,38211.8not reported
Springfield High School of Science and Technology1,09112.3not reported
High School Of Commerce96610.9not reported
John J Duggan Academy82311.8not reported
The Springfield Renaissance School an Expeditionary Learning59311.0not reported
Libertas Academy Charter School5637.8not reported
Baystate Academy Charter Public School3886.7not reported

All public schools in Springfield →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech

  1. Springfield High School of Science and TechnologyThe nearest public high school, under 0.1 miles away: 1,091 students, 12.3 per teacher (2024-25).under 0.1 mi
  2. Roger L. Putnam Vocational Technical AcademyThe next nearest public high school, 0.1 miles away: 1,382 students, 11.8 per teacher (2024-25).0.1 mi
  3. Compare Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech with Springfield High School of Science and TechnologyStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Springfield Public Schools spends per student$26,729 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$26,729
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsSpringfield International Academy at Sci-Tech is the number 344 by size of 378 Massachusetts high schools open in 2024-25.#344 of 378
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher13.1 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 11.2 for high schools.13.1:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech

  1. How many students attend Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech?
    95 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 88 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Springfield, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech?
    13.1 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for high schools is 11.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech a Title I school?
    Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech do on state tests?
    In 2022-23, the students tested at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech scored proficient or above: 20% or less in math, against 42% in math across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech?
    40-59% of the 22 students in Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Springfield International Academy at Sci-Tech in?
    Springfield Public Schools, NCES district ID 2511130. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 251113002884 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22