Mission CISD

Public school district · Hidalgo County · Texas · NCES district ID 4831040

Mission CISD spent $13,955 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 84% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,244). Its 23 schools enrolled 13,768 students in 2024-25; 53.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,264 per student, up 9.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 93% (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Mission CISD in enrollment (13,548 to 15,253 students) and Mission CISD itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Mission CISD, FY23Waco ISD $14,294; Mission CISD $13,955; Southwest ISD $13,119; Eagle Pass ISD $12,625; Abilene ISD $11,604; Belton ISD $11,135; College Station ISD $10,959; Magnolia ISD $10,946; San Angelo ISD $10,684; Grapevine-Colleyville ISD $10,666; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kWaco ISD$14,294Mission CISD$13,955Southwest ISD$13,119Eagle Pass ISD$12,625Abilene ISD$11,604Belton ISD$11,135College Station ISD$10,959Magnolia ISD$10,946San Angelo ISD$10,684Grapevine-Colleyville ISD$10,666State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Mission CISD, FY23Waco ISD $14,294; Mission CISD $13,955; Southwest ISD $13,119; Eagle Pass ISD $12,625; Abilene ISD $11,604; Belton ISD $11,135; College Station ISD $10,959; Magnolia ISD $10,946; San Angelo ISD $10,684; Grapevine-Colleyville ISD $10,666; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kWaco ISD$14,294Mission CISD$13,955Southwest ISD$13,119Eagle Pass ISD$12,625Abilene ISD$11,604Belton ISD$11,135College Station ISD$10,959Magnolia ISD$10,946San Angelo ISD$10,684Grapevine-Colleyville ISD$10,666State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Mission CISD, FY23Waco ISD $14,294; Mission CISD $13,955; Southwest ISD $13,119; Eagle Pass ISD $12,625; Abilene ISD $11,604; Belton ISD $11,135; College Station ISD $10,959; Magnolia ISD $10,946; San Angelo ISD $10,684; Grapevine-Colleyville ISD $10,666; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kWaco ISD$14,294Mission CISD$13,955Southwest ISD$13,119Eagle Pass ISD$12,625Abilene ISD$11,604Belton ISD$11,135College Station ISD$10,959Magnolia ISD$10,946San Angelo ISD$10,684Grapevine-Colleyville ISD$10,666State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Mission CISD, FY23Waco ISD $14,294; Mission CISD $13,955; Southwest ISD $13,119; Eagle Pass ISD $12,625; Abilene ISD $11,604; Belton ISD $11,135; College Station ISD $10,959; Magnolia ISD $10,946; San Angelo ISD $10,684; Grapevine-Colleyville ISD $10,666; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kWaco ISD$14,294Mission CISD$13,955Southwest ISD$13,119Eagle Pass ISD$12,625Abilene ISD$11,604Belton ISD$11,135College Station ISD$10,959Magnolia ISD$10,946San Angelo ISD$10,684Grapevine-Colleyville ISD$10,666State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$226,780,000 in revenue: 53.2% state, 17.5% local and 29.4% federal. Total spending including $8,497,000 of capital outlay was $216,932,000, or $14,959 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Mission CISD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $120,607,000; Local $39,588,000; Federal $66,585,000; total $226,780,000.
  • State$120,607,000 53%
  • Local$39,588,000 17%
  • Federal$66,585,000 29%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

14,502 students in 2022-23, 14,068 students in 2023-24, 13,765 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Mission CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 14,502, 2023-24: 14,068, 2024-25: 13,76505k10k15k2022-2314,5022023-2414,0682024-2513,765
Mission CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 14,502, 2023-24: 14,068, 2024-25: 13,76505k10k15k2022-2314,5022023-2414,0682024-2513,765
Mission CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 14,502, 2023-24: 14,068, 2024-25: 13,76505k10k15k2022-2314,5022023-2414,0682024-2513,765
Mission CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 14,502, 2023-24: 14,068, 2024-25: 13,76505k10k15k2022-2314,5022023-2414,0682024-2513,765

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2314,502969.915.0
2023-2414,068970.314.5
2024-2513,765982.914.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$61,440,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,237 per student

Mission CISD booked $61,440,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 971 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $63,252 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 96 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$47,121,00076.7%
Special education$5,922,0009.6%
Vocational$3,003,0004.9%
Other programs$5,394,0008.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,482 in 2018-19, $3,783 in 2019-20, $3,838 in 2020-21, $4,232 in 2021-22, $4,237 in 2022-23.

Mission CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,482, 2019-20: $3,783, 2020-21: $3,838, 2021-22: $4,232, 2022-23: $4,23702k4k6k2018-19$3,4822019-20$3,7832020-21$3,8382021-22$4,2322022-23$4,237
Mission CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,482, 2019-20: $3,783, 2020-21: $3,838, 2021-22: $4,232, 2022-23: $4,23702k4k6k2018-19$3,4822019-20$3,7832020-21$3,8382021-22$4,2322022-23$4,237
Mission CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,482, 2019-20: $3,783, 2020-21: $3,838, 2021-22: $4,232, 2022-23: $4,23702k4k6k2018-19$3,4822019-20$3,7832020-21$3,8382021-22$4,2322022-23$4,237
Mission CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,482, 2019-20: $3,783, 2020-21: $3,838, 2021-22: $4,232, 2022-23: $4,23702k4k6k2018-19$3,4822019-20$3,7832020-21$3,8382021-22$4,2322022-23$4,237

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Mission CISD scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 28% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts43%52%5,944
Math28%42%4,930

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

93% of the 1,111 students in Mission CISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate93%90.3%
Students in the class1,111403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

14 elementary schools, 6,340 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mims Elementary67317.168.2%Schoolwide program
Hurla M Midkiff Elementary65716.776.6%Schoolwide program
Bryan Elementary65316.070.8%Schoolwide program
Cantu Elementary52117.190.8%Schoolwide program
Raquel Cavazos Elementary52117.684.6%Schoolwide program
Ollie O'grady Elementary45716.290.2%Schoolwide program
Leal Elementary43615.087.2%Schoolwide program
Marcell Elementary37813.985.7%Schoolwide program
Salinas Elementary36615.196.2%Schoolwide program
Carl C Waitz Elementary36114.496.7%Schoolwide program
Hilda C Escobar/Alicia C Rios Elementary34514.181.7%Schoolwide program
Alton Elementary33714.693.2%Schoolwide program
The other 2 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Castro Elementary32814.691.2%Schoolwide program
Pearson Elementary30713.590.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 middle schools, 2,952 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
White Junior High83113.685.0%Schoolwide program
Alton Memorial Junior High81912.993.5%Schoolwide program
Mission Junior High71111.574.0%Schoolwide program
Rafael a Cantu Junior High59114.286.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 high schools, 4,293 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mission High School2,15412.991.1%Schoolwide program
Veterans Memorial High School1,73712.381.2%Schoolwide program
Mission Collegiate High School39912.390.5%Schoolwide program
Hidalgo Co J J a E P3not reportednot reportedNot reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 183 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mission Early Learning18323.298.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Roosevelt Alternative School

School in Mission; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 46 students; 4.5 students per teacher.

Hidalgo Co J J a E P

High school in Mission; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (inactive); 3 students.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Mission CISD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Mission CISD

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentMission CISD ranks 96 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,955).#96 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasMission CISD is the number 87 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 14,502 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#87 of 1,212
  3. Abilene ISDThe next larger Texas district: 15,253 students in fall 2022, $11,604 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,604
  4. College Station ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 14,464 students in fall 2022, $10,959 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,959
  5. Compare Mission CISD with Abilene ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Mission High School, its largest high school2,154 students in 2024-25, 12.9 per teacher.2,154
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasMission CISD spent $63,252 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$63,252
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Mission CISD

  1. How many schools and students are in Mission CISD?
    23 schools were open in 2024-25 (14 elementary, 4 middle, 4 high, 1 other), enrolling 13,768 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Mission CISD spend per student?
    $13,955 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,264 per student, up 9.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Mission CISD's money come from?
    $226,780,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 53.2% state, 17.5% local and 29.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Mission CISD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 5,013 of the 14,866 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 33.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Mission CISD spend on teacher salaries?
    $61,440,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,237 per student. Divided by the 971 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $63,252 per teacher, more than 96 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Mission CISD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Mission CISD scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 28% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Mission CISD?
    93% of the 1,111 students in Mission CISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Mission CISD's NCES district ID?
    4831040. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25