Mustang North Middle School
Public middle school, grades 7 to 8 · Yukon, Oklahoma
Mustang North Middle School in Yukon, Oklahoma enrolled 725 students in 2024-25 with 44.0 full-time teachers, 16.5 students per teacher against the Oklahoma middle-school median of 15.4. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 34% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 32% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Oklahoma: 27.2% and 25.1%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 10%
724 students in 2022-23, 715 students in 2023-24, 725 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 49.0 to 44.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 724 | 49.0 | 14.8 |
| 2023-24 | 715 | 43.2 | 16.5 |
| 2024-25 | 725 | 44.0 | 16.5 |
16.5 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 63 of every 100 Oklahoma middle schools
Among the 354 Oklahoma middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.4; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 365 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Mustang North Middle School enrolled 729 students and had 2.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 52 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)2.0, one per 365 of the 729 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions52
- Chronically absent30.0% (2022-23)
Who attends
46.6% of students were White, 20.4% Hispanic, 12.7% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- White46.6%
- Hispanic20.4%
- Two or more races12.7%
- Asian9.4%
- Black8.3%
- American Indian2.5%
- Pacific Islander0.1%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Mustang North Middle School scored proficient or above: 34% in reading in 2021-22 and 32% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Oklahoma |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 34% | 37% | 27.2% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 32% | 37% (2021-22) | 25.1% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Yukon
6 public middle schools in Yukon report 2024-25 enrollment; Mustang North Middle School is number 3 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon Middle School | 1,410 | 18.6 | not reported |
| Independence Intermediate Schl | 794 | 18.3 | not reported |
| Mustang North Middle School | 725 | 16.5 | not reported |
| Lakeview Intermediate School | 604 | 16.6 | not reported |
| Meadow Brook Intermediate Elementary School | 561 | 14.0 | not reported |
| Mustang Central Middle School | 554 | 13.9 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Mustang North Middle School
- Canyon Ridge IesThe nearest public middle school, 1.6 miles away: 798 students, 17.0 per teacher (2024-25).1.6 mi
- Meadow Brook Intermediate Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 1.9 miles away: 561 students, 14.0 per teacher (2024-25).1.9 mi
- Compare Mustang North Middle School with Canyon Ridge IesStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Mustang spends per student$9,820 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$9,820
- The largest public schools in OklahomaMustang North Middle School is the number 52 by size of 355 Oklahoma middle schools open in 2024-25.#52 of 355
- Oklahoma schools by students per teacher16.5 students per teacher here against the Oklahoma median of 15.4 for middle schools.16.5:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Mustang North Middle School
How many students attend Mustang North Middle School?
725 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 724 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Yukon, OK.What is the student-teacher ratio at Mustang North Middle School?
16.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Oklahoma median for middle schools is 15.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Mustang North Middle School a Title I school?
Mustang North Middle School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Mustang North Middle School do on state tests?
The students tested at Mustang North Middle School scored proficient or above: 34% in reading in 2021-22 and 32% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Mustang North Middle School in?
Mustang, NCES district ID 4021000. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 402100001969 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.