Mckinley Elementary

Public elementary school, grades 1 to 3 · Fergus Falls, Minnesota

Mckinley Elementary in Fergus Falls, Minnesota enrolled 249 students in 2024-25 with 18.0 full-time teachers, 13.9 students per teacher against the Minnesota elementary-school median of 13.3. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).

Enrollment rose 3% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 6%

242 students in 2022-23, 225 students in 2023-24, 249 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 16.9 to 18.0.

Students enrolled at Mckinley Elementary by school year2022-23: 242, 2023-24: 225, 2024-25: 24901002003002022-232422023-242252024-25249
Students enrolled at Mckinley Elementary by school year2022-23: 242, 2023-24: 225, 2024-25: 24901002003002022-232422023-242252024-25249
Students enrolled at Mckinley Elementary by school year2022-23: 242, 2023-24: 225, 2024-25: 24901002003002022-232422023-242252024-25249
Students enrolled at Mckinley Elementary by school year2022-23: 242, 2023-24: 225, 2024-25: 24901002003002022-232422023-242252024-25249
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2324216.914.3
2023-2422519.011.9
2024-2524918.013.9

13.9 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 59 of every 100 Minnesota elementary schools

Among the 949 Minnesota elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.3; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Minnesota elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 88.0; Mckinley Elementary 13.9; state median 13.3.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherMckinley Elementary 13.9state median 13.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Minnesota elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 88.0; Mckinley Elementary 13.9; state median 13.3.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherMckinley Elementary 13.9state median 13.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Minnesota elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 88.0; Mckinley Elementary 13.9; state median 13.3.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherMckinley Elementary 13.9state median 13.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Minnesota elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 88.0; Mckinley Elementary 13.9; state median 13.3.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherMckinley Elementary 13.9state median 13.3U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 715 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Mckinley Elementary enrolled 236 students and had 0.3 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.3, one per 715 of the 236 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent20.2% (2022-23)

Who attends

85.5% of students were White, 6.0% of two or more races, 3.2% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White85.5%
  2. Two or more races6.0%
  3. Hispanic3.2%
  4. Black3.2%
  5. American Indian1.2%
  6. Asian0.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Elementary schools in Fergus Falls

5 public elementary schools in Fergus Falls report 2024-25 enrollment; Mckinley Elementary is number 3 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Cleveland Elementary36119.329.4%
Adams Elementary25412.927.2%
Mckinley Elementary24913.935.3%
iQ Academy K-5208not reported63.9%
Fergus Falls Elementary Sp Ed 5-84not reportednot reported

All public schools in Fergus Falls →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Mckinley Elementary

  1. Cleveland ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.9 miles away: 361 students, 19.3 per teacher (2024-25).0.9 mi
  2. Fergus Falls Elementary Sp Ed 5-8The next nearest public elementary school, 1.0 miles away: 4 students (2024-25).1.0 mi
  3. Compare Mckinley Elementary with Cleveland ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Fergus Falls Public School District spends per student$11,865 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,865
  5. The largest public schools in MinnesotaMckinley Elementary is the number 709 by size of 994 Minnesota elementary schools open in 2024-25.#709 of 994
  6. Minnesota schools by students per teacher13.9 students per teacher here against the Minnesota median of 13.3 for elementary schools.13.9:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Mckinley Elementary

  1. How many students attend Mckinley Elementary?
    249 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 242 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Fergus Falls, MN.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Mckinley Elementary?
    13.9 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Minnesota median for elementary schools is 13.3. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Mckinley Elementary a Title I school?
    Mckinley Elementary ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Mckinley Elementary in?
    Fergus Falls Public School District, NCES district ID 2711880. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 271188000581 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22