Hazelwood

Public school district · St. Louis County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2913830

Hazelwood spent $13,977 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 82% of the other Missouri districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,885). Its 31 schools enrolled 16,321 students in 2024-25; 24.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,941 per student, up 6.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 82% (Missouri: 89.3%).

Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hazelwood in enrollment (14,406 to 18,321 students) and Hazelwood itself.

Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Hazelwood, FY23Saint Louis $22,979; Kansas City Public Schools $18,743; Parkway Schools $13,983; Hazelwood $13,977; Lee's Summit R-7 $13,841; Fort Zumwalt $13,648; Blue Springs $12,950; Wentzville R-Iv $12,463; Francis Howell $12,462; Independence School District 30 $12,302; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.10k15k20k25kSaint Louis$22,979Kansas City Public Schools$18,743Parkway Schools$13,983Hazelwood$13,977Lee's Summit R-7$13,841Fort Zumwalt$13,648Blue Springs$12,950Wentzville R-Iv$12,463Francis Howell$12,462Independence School District 30$12,302State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Hazelwood, FY23Saint Louis $22,979; Kansas City Public Schools $18,743; Parkway Schools $13,983; Hazelwood $13,977; Lee's Summit R-7 $13,841; Fort Zumwalt $13,648; Blue Springs $12,950; Wentzville R-Iv $12,463; Francis Howell $12,462; Independence School District 30 $12,302; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.10k15k20k25kSaint Louis$22,979Kansas City Public Schools$18,743Parkway Schools$13,983Hazelwood$13,977Lee's Summit R-7$13,841Fort Zumwalt$13,648Blue Springs$12,950Wentzville R-Iv$12,463Francis Howell$12,462Independence School District 30$12,302State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Hazelwood, FY23Saint Louis $22,979; Kansas City Public Schools $18,743; Parkway Schools $13,983; Hazelwood $13,977; Lee's Summit R-7 $13,841; Fort Zumwalt $13,648; Blue Springs $12,950; Wentzville R-Iv $12,463; Francis Howell $12,462; Independence School District 30 $12,302; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.10k15k20k25kSaint Louis$22,979Kansas City Public Schools$18,743Parkway Schools$13,983Hazelwood$13,977Lee's Summit R-7$13,841Fort Zumwalt$13,648Blue Springs$12,950Wentzville R-Iv$12,463Francis Howell$12,462Independence School District 30$12,302State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Hazelwood, FY23Saint Louis $22,979; Kansas City Public Schools $18,743; Parkway Schools $13,983; Hazelwood $13,977; Lee's Summit R-7 $13,841; Fort Zumwalt $13,648; Blue Springs $12,950; Wentzville R-Iv $12,463; Francis Howell $12,462; Independence School District 30 $12,302; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.10k15k20k25kSaint Louis$22,979Kansas City Public Schools$18,743Parkway Schools$13,983Hazelwood$13,977Lee's Summit R-7$13,841Fort Zumwalt$13,648Blue Springs$12,950Wentzville R-Iv$12,463Francis Howell$12,462Independence School District 30$12,302State median, 1,000+ students $11,885

Where the money came from

$273,342,000 in revenue: 24.0% state, 68.0% local and 8.0% federal. Total spending including $19,500,000 of capital outlay was $255,150,000, or $15,839 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Hazelwood revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $65,506,000; Local $185,845,000; Federal $21,991,000; total $273,342,000.
  • State$65,506,000 24%
  • Local$185,845,000 68%
  • Federal$21,991,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 176 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

16,109 students in 2022-23, 16,262 students in 2023-24, 16,321 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Hazelwood enrollment by school year2022-23: 16,109, 2023-24: 16,262, 2024-25: 16,32105k10k15k20k2022-2316,1092023-2416,2622024-2516,321
Hazelwood enrollment by school year2022-23: 16,109, 2023-24: 16,262, 2024-25: 16,32105k10k15k20k2022-2316,1092023-2416,2622024-2516,321
Hazelwood enrollment by school year2022-23: 16,109, 2023-24: 16,262, 2024-25: 16,32105k10k15k20k2022-2316,1092023-2416,2622024-2516,321
Hazelwood enrollment by school year2022-23: 16,109, 2023-24: 16,262, 2024-25: 16,32105k10k15k20k2022-2316,1092023-2416,2622024-2516,321

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2316,1091087.814.8
2023-2416,2621039.815.6
2024-2516,321982.316.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$81,301,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,047 per student

Hazelwood booked $81,301,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,096 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $74,197 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 98 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$67,376,00082.9%
Special education$3,011,0003.7%
Vocational$2,614,0003.2%
Other programs$8,300,00010.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,273 in 2018-19, $4,460 in 2019-20, $4,764 in 2020-21, $4,818 in 2021-22, $5,047 in 2022-23.

Hazelwood teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,273, 2019-20: $4,460, 2020-21: $4,764, 2021-22: $4,818, 2022-23: $5,04702k4k6k2018-19$4,2732019-20$4,4602020-21$4,7642021-22$4,8182022-23$5,047
Hazelwood teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,273, 2019-20: $4,460, 2020-21: $4,764, 2021-22: $4,818, 2022-23: $5,04702k4k6k2018-19$4,2732019-20$4,4602020-21$4,7642021-22$4,8182022-23$5,047
Hazelwood teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,273, 2019-20: $4,460, 2020-21: $4,764, 2021-22: $4,818, 2022-23: $5,04702k4k6k2018-19$4,2732019-20$4,4602020-21$4,7642021-22$4,8182022-23$5,047
Hazelwood teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,273, 2019-20: $4,460, 2020-21: $4,764, 2021-22: $4,818, 2022-23: $5,04702k4k6k2018-19$4,2732019-20$4,4602020-21$4,7642021-22$4,8182022-23$5,047

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Hazelwood scored proficient or above: 26% in reading and 19% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMissouriStudents tested
Reading and language arts26%43.2%8,503
Math19%39.2%8,401

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

82% of the 1,263 students in Hazelwood's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMissouri
Four-year graduation rate82%89.3%
Students in the class1,26367,017

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

19 elementary schools, 7,486 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mccurdy Elementary53819.2100.0%Not Title I
Barrington Elementary51516.3100.0%Not Title I
Walker Elementary50813.9100.0%Not Title I
Jury Elementary48018.7100.0%Schoolwide program
Cold Water Elementary44916.8100.0%Not Title I
Brown Elementary44115.9100.0%Not Title I
Grannemann Elementary43812.9100.0%Schoolwide program
Mcnair Elementary41718.8100.0%Not Title I
Russell Elementary37313.737.4%Not Title I
Lusher Elementary37114.2100.0%Not Title I
Arrowpoint Elementary37113.4100.0%Schoolwide program
Armstrong Elementary36111.9100.0%Not Title I
The other 7 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Townsend Elementary35113.4100.0%Not Title I
Keeven Elementary33114.6100.0%Schoolwide program
Larimore Elementary33012.8100.0%Schoolwide program
Lawson Elementary31616.5100.0%Not Title I
Jamestown Elementary31414.7100.0%Not Title I
Garrett Elementary30913.3100.0%Not Title I
Twillman Elementary27312.8100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

6 middle schools, 3,546 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Northwest Middle77020.0100.0%Not Title I
West Middle72417.3100.0%Not Title I
North Middle70219.8100.0%Not Title I
Central Middle69214.8100.0%Not Title I
Southeast Middle49114.0100.0%Schoolwide program
East Middle1675.4100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 5,022 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hazelwood West High1,99420.247.0%Not Title I
Hazelwood Central High1,71827.9100.0%Not Title I
Hazelwood East High1,31025.561.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 other schools, 267 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Central Early Childhood Center1137.349.0%Not Title I
East Early Childhood Center865.996.5%Not Title I
West Early Childhood Center687.695.6%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Jana Elementary

School in Florissant; 419 students; 14.7 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Hazelwood

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Hazelwood

  1. Missouri districts by spending per studentHazelwood ranks 32 of 176 Missouri districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,977).#32 of 176
  2. Every school district in MissouriHazelwood is the number 11 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 16,109 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#11 of 558
  3. Fort Zumwalt School DistrictThe next larger Missouri district: 17,060 students in fall 2022, $13,648 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,648
  4. Blue Springs School DistrictThe next smaller Missouri district: 14,595 students in fall 2022, $12,950 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,950
  5. Compare Hazelwood with Fort Zumwalt School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Hazelwood West High, its largest high school1,994 students in 2024-25, 20.2 per teacher.1,994
  7. Teacher salary spending across MissouriHazelwood spent $74,197 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$74,197
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Hazelwood

  1. How many schools and students are in Hazelwood?
    31 schools were open in 2024-25 (19 elementary, 6 middle, 3 high, 3 other), enrolling 16,321 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Hazelwood spend per student?
    $13,977 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,885 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,941 per student, up 6.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Hazelwood's money come from?
    $273,342,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 24.0% state, 68.0% local and 8.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Hazelwood live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 4,213 of the 19,979 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 21.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Hazelwood spend on teacher salaries?
    $81,301,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,047 per student. Divided by the 1,096 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $74,197 per teacher, more than 98 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Hazelwood do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Hazelwood scored proficient or above: 26% in reading and 19% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Hazelwood?
    82% of the 1,263 students in Hazelwood's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Hazelwood's NCES district ID?
    2913830. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25