Higley Virtual Academy

Public school, kindergarten to grade 12 · Gilbert, Arizona

Higley Virtual Academy in Gilbert, Arizona enrolled 162 students in 2024-25. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 50-54% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 35-39% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Arizona: 40.4% and 34%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Arizona: 77.8%).

Enrollment rose 31% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 80%

124 students in 2022-23, 102 students in 2023-24, 162 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 4.9 to 1.0.

Students enrolled at Higley Virtual Academy by school year2022-23: 124, 2023-24: 102, 2024-25: 1620501001502002022-231242023-241022024-25162
Students enrolled at Higley Virtual Academy by school year2022-23: 124, 2023-24: 102, 2024-25: 1620501001502002022-231242023-241022024-25162
Students enrolled at Higley Virtual Academy by school year2022-23: 124, 2023-24: 102, 2024-25: 1620501001502002022-231242023-241022024-25162
Students enrolled at Higley Virtual Academy by school year2022-23: 124, 2023-24: 102, 2024-25: 1620501001502002022-231242023-241022024-25162
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231244.925.3
2023-241022.246.4
2024-251621.0162.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25.

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Higley Virtual Academy enrolled 182 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

63.0% of students were White, 19.8% Hispanic, 6.2% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White63.0%
  2. Hispanic19.8%
  3. Two or more races6.2%
  4. Asian5.6%
  5. Black4.3%
  6. American Indian1.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Higley Virtual Academy scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading in 2021-22 and 35-39% in math in 2022-23, against 40.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 34% in math in 2022-23 across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtArizona
Reading and language arts, 2021-2250‑54%60%40.4%
Math, 2022-2335‑39%57% (2021-22)34%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 94 students in Higley Virtual Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtArizona
Four-year graduation rate95% or more96%77.8%
Students in the class941,10393,470

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

Schools of this kind in Gilbert

9 public schools of this kind in Gilbert report 2024-25 enrollment; Higley Virtual Academy is number 7 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
American Leadership Academy Gilbert North K-122,35712.3not reported
Arizona Connections Academy1,89119.4not reported
EDUPRIZE SCHOOL Gilbert1,27012.8not reported
San Tan Charter School91441.5not reported
Freedom Prep Academy - Mesa448not reportednot reported
GPS Global Academy38316.0not reported
Higley Virtual Academy162not reported16.9%
Elona P. Cooley Early Child Development Center764.235.8%

All public schools in Gilbert →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Higley Virtual Academy

  1. American Leadership Academy of Applied TechnologiesThe nearest public school of this kind, 2.3 miles away: 628 students, 9.2 per teacher (2024-25).2.3 mi
  2. Elona P. Cooley Early Child Development CenterThe next nearest public school of this kind, 2.3 miles away: 76 students, 4.2 per teacher (2024-25).2.3 mi
  3. Compare Higley Virtual Academy with American Leadership Academy of Applied TechnologiesStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Higley Unified School District 60 spends per student$9,611 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$9,611
  5. The largest public schools in ArizonaHigley Virtual Academy is the number 96 by size of 177 Arizona schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#96 of 177
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Higley Virtual Academy

  1. How many students attend Higley Virtual Academy?
    162 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 124 in 2022-23. It is a public school in Gilbert, AZ.
  2. Is Higley Virtual Academy a Title I school?
    Higley Virtual Academy was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  3. How do students at Higley Virtual Academy do on state tests?
    The students tested at Higley Virtual Academy scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading in 2021-22 and 35-39% in math in 2022-23, against 40.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 34% in math in 2022-23 across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  4. What is the graduation rate at Higley Virtual Academy?
    95% or more of the 94 students in Higley Virtual Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Higley Virtual Academy in?
    Higley Unified School District 60, NCES district ID 0403780. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 040378003689 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22