Gilbert Public Schools
Listed by NCES as Gilbert Unified District (4239) (district ID 0403400)
Public school district · Maricopa County · Arizona · NCES district ID 0403400
Gilbert Public Schools spent $10,928 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 63% of the other Arizona districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $10,493). Its 38 schools enrolled 31,660 students in 2024-25; 50.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,767 per student, up 0.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 88% (Arizona: 77.8%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Arizona's largest districts
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Gilbert Public Schools ranks 8.
Where the money came from
$423,679,000 in revenue: 50.7% state, 40.4% local and 8.9% federal. Total spending including $66,831,000 of capital outlay was $449,549,000, or $13,763 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$214,666,000 51%
- Local$171,201,000 40%
- Federal$37,812,000 9%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 157 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
33,281 students in 2022-23, 32,402 students in 2023-24, 31,277 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 33,281 | 1879.0 | 17.7 |
| 2023-24 | 32,402 | 1956.2 | 16.6 |
| 2024-25 | 31,277 | 1894.2 | 16.5 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$122,897,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,763 per student
Gilbert Public Schools booked $122,897,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,879 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $65,407 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 60 in 100 Arizona districts with a figure (state median $62,248, 172 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Arizona teacher salary at $54,580 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $96,243,000 | 78.3% |
| Special education | $19,340,000 | 15.7% |
| Vocational | $4,106,000 | 3.3% |
| Other programs | $3,208,000 | 2.6% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,099 in 2018-19, $3,164 in 2019-20, $3,522 in 2020-21, $3,461 in 2021-22, $3,763 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Gilbert Public Schools scored proficient or above: 56% in reading and 53% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Arizona | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 56% | 40.4% | 17,306 |
| Math | 53% | 34.8% | 17,386 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
88% of the 2,960 students in Gilbert Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Arizona | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 88% | 77.8% |
| Students in the class | 2,960 | 93,470 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
26 elementary schools, 15,457 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenfield Elementary School | 919 | 18.1 | 3.9% | Not Title I |
| Canyon Rim Elementary | 905 | 16.7 | 19.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Augusta Ranch Elementary | 855 | 14.4 | 21.0% | Eligible, no program |
| Meridian | 850 | 15.2 | 15.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Neely Traditional Academy | 805 | 16.3 | 10.9% | Not Title I |
| Highland Park Elementary | 787 | 15.4 | 11.0% | Not Title I |
| Ashland Elementary | 741 | 14.4 | 13.0% | Not Title I |
| Superstition Springs Elementary | 731 | 14.8 | 23.0% | Eligible, no program |
| Towne Meadows Elementary School | 647 | 16.2 | 18.9% | Not Title I |
| Finley Farms Elementary | 588 | 15.5 | 16.0% | Not Title I |
| Mesquite Elementary School | 584 | 16.1 | 18.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Spectrum Elementary | 578 | 13.0 | 20.9% | Eligible, no program |
The other 14 elementary schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gilbert Elementary School | 563 | 13.7 | 23.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Carol Rae Ranch Elementary | 561 | 13.7 | 15.9% | Not Title I |
| Settlers Point Elementary | 524 | 14.2 | 19.0% | Eligible, no program |
| Patterson Elementary School | 518 | 14.7 | 21.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Val Vista Lakes Elementary School | 506 | 14.3 | 16.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Quartz Hill Elementary | 469 | 13.3 | 15.8% | Not Title I |
| Sonoma Ranch Elementary School | 466 | 11.8 | 20.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Boulder Creek Elementary | 461 | 12.7 | 28.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Islands Elementary School | 451 | 13.7 | 32.0% | Targeted program |
| Burk Elementary School | 440 | 11.4 | 38.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Playa del Rey Elementary School | 431 | 12.0 | 28.9% | Targeted program |
| Oak Tree Elementary | 384 | 11.7 | 40.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Harris Elementary School | 383 | 10.9 | 62.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Pioneer Elementary School | 310 | 9.9 | 25.0% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
5 middle schools, 4,569 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greenfield Junior High School | 1,160 | 20.7 | 14.0% | Not Title I |
| Highland Jr High School | 961 | 18.5 | 22.0% | Not Title I |
| Desert Ridge Jr. High | 925 | 19.4 | 18.9% | Eligible, no program |
| South Valley Jr. High | 875 | 20.4 | 15.0% | Not Title I |
| Mesquite Jr High School | 648 | 15.2 | 39.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
6 high schools, 11,251 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highland High School | 2,992 | 21.6 | 10.0% | Not Title I |
| Gilbert High School | 2,418 | 19.5 | 20.0% | Eligible, no program |
| Desert Ridge High | 2,103 | 19.7 | 15.0% | Not Title I |
| Campo Verde High School | 1,863 | 20.2 | 10.0% | Not Title I |
| Mesquite High School | 1,303 | 17.8 | 25.0% | Not Title I |
| Gilbert Classical Academy 7-12 | 572 | 18.1 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 other school, 383 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPS Global Academy | 383 | 16.0 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
GPS Global Academy
School in Gilbert; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (inactive); 383 students; 16.0 students per teacher.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact Gilbert Public Schools
- Website: gilbertschools.net
- Phone: (480) 497-3300
- Office: 1016 N Burk St, Gilbert, AZ 85234
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Gilbert Public Schools
- Arizona districts by spending per studentGilbert Public Schools ranks 59 of 157 Arizona districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,928).#59 of 157
- Every school district in ArizonaGilbert Public Schools is the number 5 by size of 661 Arizona districts, with 33,281 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#5 of 661
- Peoria Unified School DistrictThe next larger Arizona district: 36,527 students in fall 2022, $10,026 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,026
- Deer Valley Unified School DistrictThe next smaller Arizona district: 33,199 students in fall 2022, $10,940 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,940
- Compare Gilbert Public Schools with Peoria Unified School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Highland High School, its largest high school2,992 students in 2024-25, 21.6 per teacher.2,992
- Teacher salary spending across ArizonaGilbert Public Schools spent $65,407 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,248); spending, not a salary.$65,407
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Gilbert Public Schools
How many schools and students are in Gilbert Public Schools?
38 schools were open in 2024-25 (26 elementary, 5 middle, 6 high, 1 other), enrolling 31,660 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Gilbert Public Schools spend per student?
$10,928 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Arizona median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $10,493 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,767 per student, up 0.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Gilbert Public Schools' money come from?
$423,679,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 50.7% state, 40.4% local and 8.9% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Gilbert Public Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 2,497 of the 42,471 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Gilbert Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
$122,897,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,763 per student. Divided by the 1,879 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $65,407 per teacher, more than 60 in 100 Arizona districts (state median $62,248). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Arizona teacher salary at $54,580 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Gilbert Public Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Gilbert Public Schools scored proficient or above: 56% in reading and 53% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Gilbert Public Schools?
88% of the 2,960 students in Gilbert Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Gilbert Public Schools' NCES district ID?
0403400. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25