Hanthorn Early Education
Public school, pre-kindergarten · Independence, Missouri
Hanthorn Early Education in Independence, Missouri enrolled 180 students in 2024-25 with 14.0 full-time teachers, 12.9 students per teacher against the Missouri median of 10.8. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 18% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 17%
220 students in 2022-23, 8 students in 2023-24, 180 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 12.0 to 14.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 220 | 12.0 | 18.3 |
| 2023-24 | 8 | 11.0 | 0.7 |
| 2024-25 | 180 | 14.0 | 12.9 |
12.9 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 63 of every 100 Missouri schools of this kind
Among the 123 Missouri schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 10.8; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
Programs and staff in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Hanthorn Early Education reported and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)0.0
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absentnot reported for this school
Who attends
38.9% of students were White, 27.8% Hispanic, 19.4% Black in 2024-25.
- White38.9%
- Hispanic27.8%
- Black19.4%
- Two or more races12.2%
- Pacific Islander1.1%
- American Indian0.6%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
Schools of this kind in Independence
3 public schools of this kind in Independence report 2024-25 enrollment; Hanthorn Early Education is the largest.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hanthorn Early Education | 180 | 12.9 | 96.1% |
| Early Childhood Ctr. | 133 | 11.3 | 41.4% |
| Sunshine Center | 106 | not reported | 51.9% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Hanthorn Early Education
- Sunshine CenterThe nearest public school of this kind, 3.0 miles away: 106 students (2024-25).3.0 mi
- Early Childhood Ctr.The next nearest public school of this kind, 4.3 miles away: 133 students, 11.3 per teacher (2024-25).4.3 mi
- Compare Hanthorn Early Education with Sunshine CenterStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Independence School District 30 spends per student$12,302 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,302
- The largest public schools in MissouriHanthorn Early Education is the number 38 by size of 141 Missouri schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#38 of 141
- Missouri schools by students per teacher12.9 students per teacher here against the Missouri median of 10.8 for schools of this kind.12.9:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Hanthorn Early Education
How many students attend Hanthorn Early Education?
180 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 220 in 2022-23. It is a public school in Independence, MO.What is the student-teacher ratio at Hanthorn Early Education?
12.9 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Missouri median for schools of this kind is 10.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Hanthorn Early Education a Title I school?
Hanthorn Early Education was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.What district is Hanthorn Early Education in?
Independence School District 30, NCES district ID 2915480. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 291548001485 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.