Gordon Parks High School

Public high school, grades 7 to 12 · Saint Paul, Minnesota

Gordon Parks High School in Saint Paul, Minnesota enrolled 217 students in 2024-25 with 14.4 full-time teachers, 15.1 students per teacher against the Minnesota high-school median of 14.6. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, under 50% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Minnesota: 45.5%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 20-24% (Minnesota: 83.3%).

Enrollment rose 43% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 42%

152 students in 2022-23, 181 students in 2023-24, 217 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 10.1 to 14.4.

Students enrolled at Gordon Parks High School by school year2022-23: 152, 2023-24: 181, 2024-25: 21701002003002022-231522023-241812024-25217
Students enrolled at Gordon Parks High School by school year2022-23: 152, 2023-24: 181, 2024-25: 21701002003002022-231522023-241812024-25217
Students enrolled at Gordon Parks High School by school year2022-23: 152, 2023-24: 181, 2024-25: 21701002003002022-231522023-241812024-25217
Students enrolled at Gordon Parks High School by school year2022-23: 152, 2023-24: 181, 2024-25: 21701002003002022-231522023-241812024-25217
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2315210.115.0
2023-2418111.515.8
2024-2521714.415.1

15.1 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 53 of every 100 Minnesota high schools

Among the 672 Minnesota high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 14.6; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Minnesota high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 96.0; This school 15.1; state median 14.6.3 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 15.1state median 14.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Minnesota high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 96.0; This school 15.1; state median 14.6.3 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 15.1state median 14.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Minnesota high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 96.0; This school 15.1; state median 14.6.3 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 15.1state median 14.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Minnesota high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 96.0; This school 15.1; state median 14.6.3 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 15.1state median 14.6U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Gordon Parks High School enrolled 112 students; it reported 10 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensions10
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

50.7% of students were Black, 22.6% Asian, 14.7% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. Black50.7%
  2. Asian22.6%
  3. Hispanic14.7%
  4. Two or more races6.9%
  5. White4.1%
  6. American Indian0.9%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2022-23

In 2022-23, the students tested at Gordon Parks High School scored proficient or above: under 50% in math, against 45.5% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23.

Students proficient or above, 2022-23
SubjectThis schoolIts districtMinnesota
Mathunder 50%25% (2021-22)45.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

20-24% of the 121 students in Gordon Parks High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtMinnesota
Four-year graduation rate20‑24%68%83.3%
Students in the class1212,61069,945

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Saint Paul

42 public high schools in Saint Paul report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Minnesota Connections Academy 7-123,53641.255.7%
Central Senior High1,68226.335.9%
Harding Senior High1,59120.461.1%
Highland Park Senior High1,39224.634.4%
Johnson Senior High1,07619.164.4%
Washington Tech Secondary Magnet1,06319.872.5%
Como Park Senior High1,03419.863.1%
Humboldt High School95518.376.8%

All public schools in Saint Paul →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Gordon Parks High School

  1. High School for Recording ArtsThe nearest public high school, under 0.1 miles away: 181 students, 16.4 per teacher (2024-25).under 0.1 mi
  2. A. G. a. P. E. Teen ParentThe next nearest public high school, 0.4 miles away: 26 students, 4.7 per teacher (2024-25).0.4 mi
  3. Compare Gordon Parks High School with High School for Recording ArtsStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Saint Paul Public Schools spends per student$21,634 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$21,634
  5. The largest public schools in MinnesotaGordon Parks High School is the number 333 by size of 781 Minnesota high schools open in 2024-25.#333 of 781
  6. Minnesota schools by students per teacher15.1 students per teacher here against the Minnesota median of 14.6 for high schools.15.1:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Gordon Parks High School

  1. How many students attend Gordon Parks High School?
    217 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 152 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Saint Paul, MN.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Gordon Parks High School?
    15.1 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Minnesota median for high schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Gordon Parks High School a Title I school?
    Gordon Parks High School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Gordon Parks High School do on state tests?
    In 2022-23, the students tested at Gordon Parks High School scored proficient or above: under 50% in math, against 45.5% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Gordon Parks High School?
    20-24% of the 121 students in Gordon Parks High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Gordon Parks High School in?
    Saint Paul Public Schools, NCES district ID 2733840. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 273384001415 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22