Annie Kellond Elementary School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to ungraded · Tucson, Arizona

Annie Kellond Elementary School in Tucson, Arizona enrolled 366 students in 2024-25 with 28.5 full-time teachers, 12.8 students per teacher against the Arizona elementary-school median of 16.3. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 37% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 36% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Arizona: 40.4% and 34%).

Enrollment fell 13% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 21%

420 students in 2022-23, 372 students in 2023-24, 366 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 23.5 to 28.5.

Students enrolled at Annie Kellond Elementary School by school year2022-23: 420, 2023-24: 372, 2024-25: 36602004006002022-234202023-243722024-25366
Students enrolled at Annie Kellond Elementary School by school year2022-23: 420, 2023-24: 372, 2024-25: 36602004006002022-234202023-243722024-25366
Students enrolled at Annie Kellond Elementary School by school year2022-23: 420, 2023-24: 372, 2024-25: 36602004006002022-234202023-243722024-25366
Students enrolled at Annie Kellond Elementary School by school year2022-23: 420, 2023-24: 372, 2024-25: 36602004006002022-234202023-243722024-25366
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2342023.517.9
2023-2437228.213.2
2024-2536628.512.8

12.8 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 83 of every 100 Arizona elementary schools

Among the 1,150 Arizona elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 16.3; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Arizona elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.4 to 70.5; This school 12.8; state median 16.3.2 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 12.8state median 16.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Arizona elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.4 to 70.5; This school 12.8; state median 16.3.2 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 12.8state median 16.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Arizona elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.4 to 70.5; This school 12.8; state median 16.3.2 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 12.8state median 16.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Arizona elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.4 to 70.5; This school 12.8; state median 16.3.2 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 12.8state median 16.3U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 453 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Annie Kellond Elementary School enrolled 453 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 15 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 453 of the 453 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions15
  • Chronically absent33.1% (2022-23)

Who attends

49.5% of students were Hispanic, 35.5% White, 6.0% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic49.5%
  2. White35.5%
  3. Two or more races6.0%
  4. Black4.9%
  5. American Indian2.2%
  6. Asian1.9%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Annie Kellond Elementary School scored proficient or above: 37% in reading in 2021-22 and 36% in math in 2022-23, against 40.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 34% in math in 2022-23 across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtArizona
Reading and language arts, 2021-2237%29%40.4%
Math, 2022-2336%22% (2021-22)34%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Tucson

135 public elementary schools in Tucson report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Legacy Traditional School - Northwest Tucson1,28425.717.0%
Leman Academy of Excellence1,16712.7not reported
Leman Academy of Excellence East Tucson1,15713.1not reported
McCorkle PK-81,04819.264.9%
Twin Peaks Elementary School88615.322.0%
La Paloma Academy (Lakeside)85526.750.9%
Desert Willow Elementary School81117.826.0%
Sierra 2-8 School80115.079.0%

All public schools in Tucson →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Annie Kellond Elementary School

  1. Booth-Fickett Math/Science Magnet SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.7 miles away: 299 students, 12.2 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
  2. Hudlow Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.9 miles away: 146 students, 9.1 per teacher (2024-25).0.9 mi
  3. Compare Annie Kellond Elementary School with Booth-Fickett Math/Science Magnet SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Tucson Unified School District spends per student$13,783 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,783
  5. The largest public schools in ArizonaAnnie Kellond Elementary School is the number 789 by size of 1,211 Arizona elementary schools open in 2024-25.#789 of 1,211
  6. Arizona schools by students per teacher12.8 students per teacher here against the Arizona median of 16.3 for elementary schools.12.8:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Annie Kellond Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Annie Kellond Elementary School?
    366 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 420 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Tucson, AZ.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Annie Kellond Elementary School?
    12.8 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Arizona median for elementary schools is 16.3. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Annie Kellond Elementary School a Title I school?
    Annie Kellond Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Annie Kellond Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Annie Kellond Elementary School scored proficient or above: 37% in reading in 2021-22 and 36% in math in 2022-23, against 40.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 34% in math in 2022-23 across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Annie Kellond Elementary School in?
    Tucson Unified School District, NCES district ID 0408800. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 040880000819 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22