Sudbury Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Sudbury (district ID 2511340)

Public school district · Middlesex County · Massachusetts · NCES district ID 2511340

Sudbury Public Schools spent $23,100 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 65% of the other Massachusetts districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $21,173). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,529 students in 2024-25; 41.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $24,263 per student, up 5.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Massachusetts districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Sudbury Public Schools in enrollment (2,492 to 2,594 students) and Sudbury Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Sudbury Public Schools, FY23Dedham Public Schools $27,349; Bedford $23,503; Sudbury Public Schools $23,100; Northampton Public Schools $21,537; Dighton-Rehoboth Regional $21,354; Medfield Public Schools $20,797; Saugus $20,177; Pembroke Public Schools $19,366; East Longmeadow $19,224; Auburn Public Schools $17,669; State median, 1,000+ students $21,173.15k20k25k30kDedham Public Schools$27,349Bedford$23,503Sudbury Public Schools$23,100Northampton Public Schools$21,537Dighton-Rehoboth Regional$21,354Medfield Public Schools$20,797Saugus$20,177Pembroke Public Schools$19,366East Longmeadow$19,224Auburn Public Schools$17,669State median, 1,000+ students $21,173
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Sudbury Public Schools, FY23Dedham Public Schools $27,349; Bedford $23,503; Sudbury Public Schools $23,100; Northampton Public Schools $21,537; Dighton-Rehoboth Regional $21,354; Medfield Public Schools $20,797; Saugus $20,177; Pembroke Public Schools $19,366; East Longmeadow $19,224; Auburn Public Schools $17,669; State median, 1,000+ students $21,173.15k20k25k30kDedham Public Schools$27,349Bedford$23,503Sudbury Public Schools$23,100Northampton Public Schools$21,537Dighton-Rehoboth Regional$21,354Medfield Public Schools$20,797Saugus$20,177Pembroke Public Schools$19,366East Longmeadow$19,224Auburn Public Schools$17,669State median, 1,000+ students $21,173
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Sudbury Public Schools, FY23Dedham Public Schools $27,349; Bedford $23,503; Sudbury Public Schools $23,100; Northampton Public Schools $21,537; Dighton-Rehoboth Regional $21,354; Medfield Public Schools $20,797; Saugus $20,177; Pembroke Public Schools $19,366; East Longmeadow $19,224; Auburn Public Schools $17,669; State median, 1,000+ students $21,173.15k20k25k30kDedham Public Schools$27,349Bedford$23,503Sudbury Public Schools$23,100Northampton Public Schools$21,537Dighton-Rehoboth Regional$21,354Medfield Public Schools$20,797Saugus$20,177Pembroke Public Schools$19,366East Longmeadow$19,224Auburn Public Schools$17,669State median, 1,000+ students $21,173
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Sudbury Public Schools, FY23Dedham Public Schools $27,349; Bedford $23,503; Sudbury Public Schools $23,100; Northampton Public Schools $21,537; Dighton-Rehoboth Regional $21,354; Medfield Public Schools $20,797; Saugus $20,177; Pembroke Public Schools $19,366; East Longmeadow $19,224; Auburn Public Schools $17,669; State median, 1,000+ students $21,173.15k20k25k30kDedham Public Schools$27,349Bedford$23,503Sudbury Public Schools$23,100Northampton Public Schools$21,537Dighton-Rehoboth Regional$21,354Medfield Public Schools$20,797Saugus$20,177Pembroke Public Schools$19,366East Longmeadow$19,224Auburn Public Schools$17,669State median, 1,000+ students $21,173

Where the money came from

$31,700,000 in revenue: 41.7% state, 50.8% local and 7.5% federal. Total spending including $733,000 of capital outlay was $61,226,000, or $24,010 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Sudbury Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $13,229,000; Local $16,088,000; Federal $2,383,000; total $31,700,000.
  • State$13,229,000 42%
  • Local$16,088,000 51%
  • Federal$2,383,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 243 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,535 students in 2022-23, 2,539 students in 2023-24, 2,529 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Sudbury Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,535, 2023-24: 2,539, 2024-25: 2,52901k2k3k2022-232,5352023-242,5392024-252,529
Sudbury Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,535, 2023-24: 2,539, 2024-25: 2,52901k2k3k2022-232,5352023-242,5392024-252,529
Sudbury Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,535, 2023-24: 2,539, 2024-25: 2,52901k2k3k2022-232,5352023-242,5392024-252,529
Sudbury Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,535, 2023-24: 2,539, 2024-25: 2,52901k2k3k2022-232,5352023-242,5392024-252,529

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,535205.112.4
2023-242,539229.011.1
2024-252,529232.410.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$21,634,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $8,484 per student

Sudbury Public Schools booked $21,634,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 205 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $105,470 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 95 in 100 Massachusetts districts with a figure (state median $83,840, 276 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$16,423,00075.9%
Special education$5,211,00024.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $7,204 in 2018-19, $7,361 in 2019-20, $8,006 in 2020-21, $8,438 in 2021-22, $8,484 in 2022-23.

Sudbury Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,204, 2019-20: $7,361, 2020-21: $8,006, 2021-22: $8,438, 2022-23: $8,48402.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,2042019-20$7,3612020-21$8,0062021-22$8,4382022-23$8,484
Sudbury Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,204, 2019-20: $7,361, 2020-21: $8,006, 2021-22: $8,438, 2022-23: $8,48402.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,2042019-20$7,3612020-21$8,0062021-22$8,4382022-23$8,484
Sudbury Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,204, 2019-20: $7,361, 2020-21: $8,006, 2021-22: $8,438, 2022-23: $8,48402.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,2042019-20$7,3612020-21$8,0062021-22$8,4382022-23$8,484
Sudbury Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,204, 2019-20: $7,361, 2020-21: $8,006, 2021-22: $8,438, 2022-23: $8,48402.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,2042019-20$7,3612020-21$8,0062021-22$8,4382022-23$8,484

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Sudbury Public Schools scored proficient or above: 68% in reading and 73% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMassachusettsStudents tested
Reading and language arts68%43.7%1,688
Math73%40.7%1,689

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

4 elementary schools, 1,713 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Peter Noyes50811.6not reportedNot Title I
Israel Loring School42610.4not reportedTargeted program
Josiah Haynes39711.9not reportedNot Title I
General John Nixon Elementary38212.0not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 816 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ephraim Curtis Middle8169.9not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Sudbury Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Sudbury Public Schools

  1. Massachusetts districts by spending per studentSudbury Public Schools ranks 85 of 243 Massachusetts districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($23,100).#85 of 243
  2. Every school district in MassachusettsSudbury Public Schools is the number 111 by size of 397 Massachusetts districts, with 2,550 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#111 of 397
  3. Dedham Public SchoolsThe next larger Massachusetts district: 2,556 students in fall 2022, $27,349 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$27,349
  4. Medfield Public SchoolsThe next smaller Massachusetts district: 2,531 students in fall 2022, $20,797 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,797
  5. Compare Sudbury Public Schools with Dedham Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across MassachusettsSudbury Public Schools spent $105,470 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $83,840); spending, not a salary.$105,470
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Sudbury Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Sudbury Public Schools?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 2,529 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Sudbury Public Schools spend per student?
    $23,100 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Massachusetts median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $21,173 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $24,263 per student, up 5.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Sudbury Public Schools' money come from?
    $31,700,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 41.7% state, 50.8% local and 7.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Sudbury Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 64 of the 2,955 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 2.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Sudbury Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $21,634,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $8,484 per student. Divided by the 205 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $105,470 per teacher, more than 95 in 100 Massachusetts districts (state median $83,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Sudbury Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Sudbury Public Schools scored proficient or above: 68% in reading and 73% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Sudbury Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    2511340. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25