Peter Noyes

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 5 · Sudbury, Massachusetts

Peter Noyes in Sudbury, Massachusetts enrolled 508 students in 2024-25 with 43.8 full-time teachers, 11.6 students per teacher against the Massachusetts elementary-school median of 12.1. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 70% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 72% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%).

Enrollment fell 10% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 10%

564 students in 2022-23, 571 students in 2023-24, 508 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 39.9 to 43.8.

Students enrolled at Peter Noyes by school year2022-23: 564, 2023-24: 571, 2024-25: 50802004006002022-235642023-245712024-25508
Students enrolled at Peter Noyes by school year2022-23: 564, 2023-24: 571, 2024-25: 50802004006002022-235642023-245712024-25508
Students enrolled at Peter Noyes by school year2022-23: 564, 2023-24: 571, 2024-25: 50802004006002022-235642023-245712024-25508
Students enrolled at Peter Noyes by school year2022-23: 564, 2023-24: 571, 2024-25: 50802004006002022-235642023-245712024-25508
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2356439.914.1
2023-2457144.812.8
2024-2550843.811.6

11.6 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 60 of every 100 Massachusetts elementary schools

Among the 1,012 Massachusetts elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Peter Noyes 11.6; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherPeter Noyes 11.6state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Peter Noyes 11.6; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherPeter Noyes 11.6state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Peter Noyes 11.6; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherPeter Noyes 11.6state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Peter Noyes 11.6; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherPeter Noyes 11.6state median 12.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 439 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Peter Noyes enrolled 571 students and had 1.3 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 1 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.3, one per 439 of the 571 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions1
  • Chronically absent8.2% (2022-23)

Who attends

72.6% of students were White, 10.6% Asian, 9.3% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White72.6%
  2. Asian10.6%
  3. Two or more races9.3%
  4. Hispanic5.7%
  5. Black1.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Peter Noyes scored proficient or above: 70% in reading in 2021-22 and 72% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Reading and language arts, 2021-2270%68%43.7%
Math, 2022-2372%73% (2021-22)42%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Sudbury

4 public elementary schools in Sudbury report 2024-25 enrollment; Peter Noyes is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Peter Noyes50811.6not reported
Israel Loring School42610.4not reported
Josiah Haynes39711.9not reported
General John Nixon Elementary38212.0not reported

All public schools in Sudbury →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Peter Noyes

  1. General John Nixon ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.7 miles away: 382 students, 12.0 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
  2. Israel Loring SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 2.3 miles away: 426 students, 10.4 per teacher (2024-25).2.3 mi
  3. Compare Peter Noyes with General John Nixon ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Sudbury Public Schools spends per student$23,100 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$23,100
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsPeter Noyes is the number 223 by size of 1,014 Massachusetts elementary schools open in 2024-25.#223 of 1,014
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher11.6 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 12.1 for elementary schools.11.6:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Peter Noyes

  1. How many students attend Peter Noyes?
    508 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 564 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Sudbury, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Peter Noyes?
    11.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for elementary schools is 12.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Peter Noyes a Title I school?
    Peter Noyes was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Peter Noyes do on state tests?
    The students tested at Peter Noyes scored proficient or above: 70% in reading in 2021-22 and 72% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Peter Noyes in?
    Sudbury Public Schools, NCES district ID 2511340. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 251134001877 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22