Spring Hill

Public school district · Johnson County · Kansas · NCES district ID 2011850

Spring Hill spent $10,928 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 96% of the other Kansas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,446). Its 10 schools enrolled 5,545 students in 2024-25; 67.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,426 per student, up 4.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85% (Kansas: 88%).

Spending per student among Kansas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Spring Hill in enrollment (3,891 to 6,310 students) and Spring Hill itself.

Current spending per student, Kansas districts closest in size to Spring Hill, FY23Emporia Public Schools $15,701; Hutchinson Public Schools $15,236; Goddard $14,463; Turner USD 202 $13,315; Haysville Public Schools $13,026; Gardner Edgerton School District 231 $12,882; Auburn-Washburn USD 437 $12,682; Liberal $12,351; Seaman School District USD 345 $12,171; Spring Hill $10,928; State median, 1,000+ students $13,446.8k10k12k14k16k18kEmporia Public Schools$15,701Hutchinson Public Schools$15,236Goddard$14,463Turner USD 202$13,315Haysville Public Schools$13,026Gardner Edgerton School Distri…$12,882Auburn-Washburn USD 437$12,682Liberal$12,351Seaman School District USD 345$12,171Spring Hill$10,928State median, 1,000+ students $13,446
Current spending per student, Kansas districts closest in size to Spring Hill, FY23Emporia Public Schools $15,701; Hutchinson Public Schools $15,236; Goddard $14,463; Turner USD 202 $13,315; Haysville Public Schools $13,026; Gardner Edgerton School District 231 $12,882; Auburn-Washburn USD 437 $12,682; Liberal $12,351; Seaman School District USD 345 $12,171; Spring Hill $10,928; State median, 1,000+ students $13,446.8k10k12k14k16k18kEmporia Public Schools$15,701Hutchinson Public Schools$15,236Goddard$14,463Turner USD 202$13,315Haysville Public Schools$13,026Gardner Edgerton School District 231$12,882Auburn-Washburn USD 437$12,682Liberal$12,351Seaman School District USD 345$12,171Spring Hill$10,928State median, 1,000+ students $13,446
Current spending per student, Kansas districts closest in size to Spring Hill, FY23Emporia Public Schools $15,701; Hutchinson Public Schools $15,236; Goddard $14,463; Turner USD 202 $13,315; Haysville Public Schools $13,026; Gardner Edgerton School District 231 $12,882; Auburn-Washburn USD 437 $12,682; Liberal $12,351; Seaman School District USD 345 $12,171; Spring Hill $10,928; State median, 1,000+ students $13,446.8k12k16k18kEmporia Public Schools$15,701Hutchinson Public Schools$15,236Goddard$14,463Turner USD 202$13,315Haysville Public Schools$13,026Gardner Edgerton School District 231$12,882Auburn-Washburn USD 437$12,682Liberal$12,351Seaman School District USD 345$12,171Spring Hill$10,928State median, 1,000+ students $13,446
Current spending per student, Kansas districts closest in size to Spring Hill, FY23Emporia Public Schools $15,701; Hutchinson Public Schools $15,236; Goddard $14,463; Turner USD 202 $13,315; Haysville Public Schools $13,026; Gardner Edgerton School District 231 $12,882; Auburn-Washburn USD 437 $12,682; Liberal $12,351; Seaman School District USD 345 $12,171; Spring Hill $10,928; State median, 1,000+ students $13,446.8k12k16k18kEmporia Public Schools$15,701Hutchinson Public Schools$15,236Goddard$14,463Turner USD 202$13,315Haysville Public Schools$13,026Gardner Edgerton School District 231$12,882Auburn-Washburn USD 437$12,682Liberal$12,351Seaman School District USD 345$12,171Spring Hill$10,928State median, 1,000+ students $13,446

Where the money came from

$79,187,000 in revenue: 67.1% state, 29.4% local and 3.5% federal. Total spending including $16,390,000 of capital outlay was $83,248,000, or $15,500 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Spring Hill revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $53,152,000; Local $23,284,000; Federal $2,751,000; total $79,187,000.
  • State$53,152,000 67%
  • Local$23,284,000 29%
  • Federal$2,751,000 3%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 83 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

5,357 students in 2022-23, 5,350 students in 2023-24, 5,545 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Spring Hill enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,357, 2023-24: 5,350, 2024-25: 5,54502k4k6k2022-235,3572023-245,3502024-255,545
Spring Hill enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,357, 2023-24: 5,350, 2024-25: 5,54502k4k6k2022-235,3572023-245,3502024-255,545
Spring Hill enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,357, 2023-24: 5,350, 2024-25: 5,54502k4k6k2022-235,3572023-245,3502024-255,545
Spring Hill enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,357, 2023-24: 5,350, 2024-25: 5,54502k4k6k2022-235,3572023-245,3502024-255,545

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-235,357324.016.5
2023-245,350320.016.7
2024-255,545334.016.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$16,886,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,144 per student

Spring Hill booked $16,886,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 337 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $50,107 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 15 in 100 Kansas districts with a figure (state median $57,761, 260 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kansas teacher salary at $54,815 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$13,302,00078.8%
Special education$2,964,00017.6%
Vocational$482,0002.9%
Other programs$138,0000.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,714 in 2018-19, $2,927 in 2019-20, $2,445 in 2020-21, $2,889 in 2021-22, $3,144 in 2022-23.

Spring Hill teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,714, 2019-20: $2,927, 2020-21: $2,445, 2021-22: $2,889, 2022-23: $3,14401k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7142019-20$2,9272020-21$2,4452021-22$2,8892022-23$3,144
Spring Hill teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,714, 2019-20: $2,927, 2020-21: $2,445, 2021-22: $2,889, 2022-23: $3,14401k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7142019-20$2,9272020-21$2,4452021-22$2,8892022-23$3,144
Spring Hill teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,714, 2019-20: $2,927, 2020-21: $2,445, 2021-22: $2,889, 2022-23: $3,14401k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7142019-20$2,9272020-21$2,4452021-22$2,8892022-23$3,144
Spring Hill teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,714, 2019-20: $2,927, 2020-21: $2,445, 2021-22: $2,889, 2022-23: $3,14401k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7142019-20$2,9272020-21$2,4452021-22$2,8892022-23$3,144

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Spring Hill scored proficient or above: 42% in reading and 38% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kansas, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtKansasStudents tested
Reading and language arts42%32.5%2,544
Math38%29.4%2,545

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85% of the 376 students in Spring Hill's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtKansas
Four-year graduation rate85%88%
Students in the class37636,783

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

6 elementary schools, 2,644 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Spring Hill Elementary School60013.521.2%Targeted program
Kansas Virtual Academy (KSVA)58432.4not reportedNot Title I
Prairie Creek Elementary43214.95.6%Not Title I
Timber Sage Elementary School40113.86.2%Not Title I
Wolf Creek Elementary School33613.211.9%Eligible, no program
Dayton Creek Elementary School29112.914.8%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 621 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Woodland Spring Middle School33313.33.6%Not Title I
Spring Hill Middle School28810.324.7%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 2,280 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Insight School of Kansas1,15933.6not reportedNot Title I
Spring Hill High School1,12114.313.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Spring Hill

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Spring Hill

  1. Kansas districts by spending per studentSpring Hill ranks 80 of 83 Kansas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,928).#80 of 83
  2. Every school district in KansasSpring Hill is the number 21 by size of 290 Kansas districts, with 5,371 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#21 of 290
  3. Haysville Public SchoolsThe next larger Kansas district: 5,788 students in fall 2022, $13,026 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,026
  4. LiberalThe next smaller Kansas district: 4,659 students in fall 2022, $12,351 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,351
  5. Compare Spring Hill with Haysville Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Insight School of Kansas, its largest high school1,159 students in 2024-25, 33.6 per teacher.1,159
  7. Teacher salary spending across KansasSpring Hill spent $50,107 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $57,761); spending, not a salary.$50,107
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Spring Hill

  1. How many schools and students are in Spring Hill?
    10 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high), enrolling 5,545 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Spring Hill spend per student?
    $10,928 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kansas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,446 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,426 per student, up 4.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Spring Hill's money come from?
    $79,187,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 67.1% state, 29.4% local and 3.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Spring Hill live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 135 of the 4,048 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 3.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Spring Hill spend on teacher salaries?
    $16,886,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,144 per student. Divided by the 337 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $50,107 per teacher, more than 15 in 100 Kansas districts (state median $57,761). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kansas teacher salary at $54,815 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Spring Hill do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Spring Hill scored proficient or above: 42% in reading and 38% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Kansas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Spring Hill?
    85% of the 376 students in Spring Hill's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Spring Hill's NCES district ID?
    2011850. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25