South Summit School District

Listed by NCES as South Summit District (district ID 4900990)

Public school district · Summit County · Utah · NCES district ID 4900990

South Summit School District spent $13,207 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 84% of the other Utah districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $10,273). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,616 students in 2024-25; 19.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,100 per student, up 21.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Utah: 88.3%).

Spending per student among Utah districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to South Summit in enrollment (1,397 to 2,013 students) and South Summit itself.

Current spending per student, Utah districts closest in size to South Summit, FY23Spectrum Academy $18,354; Grand District $14,004; Beaver District $13,347; South Summit $13,207; Kane District $13,032; Utah Virtual Academy $12,103; Summit Academy $9,486; Syracuse Arts Academy $9,438; Excelsior Academy $8,666; American Leadership Academy $8,555; State median, 1,000+ students $10,273.5k10k15k20kSpectrum Academy$18,354Grand District$14,004Beaver District$13,347South Summit$13,207Kane District$13,032Utah Virtual Academy$12,103Summit Academy$9,486Syracuse Arts Academy$9,438Excelsior Academy$8,666American Leadership Academy$8,555State median, 1,000+ students $10,273
Current spending per student, Utah districts closest in size to South Summit, FY23Spectrum Academy $18,354; Grand District $14,004; Beaver District $13,347; South Summit $13,207; Kane District $13,032; Utah Virtual Academy $12,103; Summit Academy $9,486; Syracuse Arts Academy $9,438; Excelsior Academy $8,666; American Leadership Academy $8,555; State median, 1,000+ students $10,273.5k10k15k20kSpectrum Academy$18,354Grand District$14,004Beaver District$13,347South Summit$13,207Kane District$13,032Utah Virtual Academy$12,103Summit Academy$9,486Syracuse Arts Academy$9,438Excelsior Academy$8,666American Leadership Academy$8,555State median, 1,000+ students $10,273
Current spending per student, Utah districts closest in size to South Summit, FY23Spectrum Academy $18,354; Grand District $14,004; Beaver District $13,347; South Summit $13,207; Kane District $13,032; Utah Virtual Academy $12,103; Summit Academy $9,486; Syracuse Arts Academy $9,438; Excelsior Academy $8,666; American Leadership Academy $8,555; State median, 1,000+ students $10,273.5k10k15k20kSpectrum Academy$18,354Grand District$14,004Beaver District$13,347South Summit$13,207Kane District$13,032Utah Virtual Academy$12,103Summit Academy$9,486Syracuse Arts Academy$9,438Excelsior Academy$8,666American Leadership Academy$8,555State median, 1,000+ students $10,273
Current spending per student, Utah districts closest in size to South Summit, FY23Spectrum Academy $18,354; Grand District $14,004; Beaver District $13,347; South Summit $13,207; Kane District $13,032; Utah Virtual Academy $12,103; Summit Academy $9,486; Syracuse Arts Academy $9,438; Excelsior Academy $8,666; American Leadership Academy $8,555; State median, 1,000+ students $10,273.5k10k15k20kSpectrum Academy$18,354Grand District$14,004Beaver District$13,347South Summit$13,207Kane District$13,032Utah Virtual Academy$12,103Summit Academy$9,486Syracuse Arts Academy$9,438Excelsior Academy$8,666American Leadership Academy$8,555State median, 1,000+ students $10,273

Where the money came from

$31,059,000 in revenue: 19.2% state, 77.4% local and 3.4% federal. Total spending including $5,049,000 of capital outlay was $29,198,000, or $17,005 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

South Summit School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,961,000; Local $24,040,000; Federal $1,058,000; total $31,059,000.
  • State$5,961,000 19%
  • Local$24,040,000 77%
  • Federal$1,058,000 3%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 59 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,717 students in 2022-23, 1,685 students in 2023-24, 1,616 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

South Summit School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,717, 2023-24: 1,685, 2024-25: 1,61605001k1.5k2k2022-231,7172023-241,6852024-251,616
South Summit School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,717, 2023-24: 1,685, 2024-25: 1,61605001k1.5k2k2022-231,7172023-241,6852024-251,616
South Summit School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,717, 2023-24: 1,685, 2024-25: 1,61605001k1.5k2k2022-231,7172023-241,6852024-251,616
South Summit School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,717, 2023-24: 1,685, 2024-25: 1,61605001k1.5k2k2022-231,7172023-241,6852024-251,616

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,71791.518.8
2023-241,68590.918.5
2024-251,61687.318.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$7,060,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,112 per student

South Summit School District booked $7,060,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 92 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $77,116 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 74 in 100 Utah districts with a figure (state median $68,176, 139 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Utah teacher salary at $58,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,955,00070.2%
Special education$522,0007.4%
Vocational$538,0007.6%
Other programs$1,045,00014.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,082 in 2018-19, $3,351 in 2019-20, $3,856 in 2020-21, $4,112 in 2022-23.

South Summit School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,082, 2019-20: $3,351, 2020-21: $3,856, 2022-23: $4,11202k4k6k2018-19$3,0822019-20$3,3512020-21$3,8562022-23$4,112
South Summit School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,082, 2019-20: $3,351, 2020-21: $3,856, 2022-23: $4,11202k4k6k2018-19$3,0822019-20$3,3512020-21$3,8562022-23$4,112
South Summit School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,082, 2019-20: $3,351, 2020-21: $3,856, 2022-23: $4,11202k4k6k2018-19$3,0822019-20$3,3512020-21$3,8562022-23$4,112
South Summit School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,082, 2019-20: $3,351, 2020-21: $3,856, 2022-23: $4,11202k4k6k2018-19$3,0822019-20$3,3512020-21$3,8562022-23$4,112

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 131 students in South Summit School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.3% across Utah. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtUtah
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%88.3%
Students in the class13152,066

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 551 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
South Summit School49618.414.1%Targeted program
Silver Summit School5514.59.1%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 475 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
South Summit Middle47520.213.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 590 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
South Summit High48619.812.3%Not Title I
Silver Summit Academy10412.53.8%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact South Summit School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about South Summit School District

  1. Utah districts by spending per studentSouth Summit School District ranks 10 of 59 Utah districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,207).#10 of 59
  2. Every school district in UtahSouth Summit School District is the number 38 by size of 157 Utah districts, with 1,717 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#38 of 157
  3. Syracuse Arts AcademyThe next larger Utah district: 1,739 students in fall 2022, $9,438 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,438
  4. American Leadership AcademyThe next smaller Utah district: 1,629 students in fall 2022, $8,555 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,555
  5. Compare South Summit School District with Syracuse Arts AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. South Summit High, its largest high school486 students in 2024-25, 19.8 per teacher.486
  7. Teacher salary spending across UtahSouth Summit School District spent $77,116 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $68,176); spending, not a salary.$77,116
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about South Summit School District

  1. How many schools and students are in South Summit School District?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high), enrolling 1,616 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does South Summit School District spend per student?
    $13,207 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Utah median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $10,273 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,100 per student, up 21.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does South Summit School District's money come from?
    $31,059,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 19.2% state, 77.4% local and 3.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in South Summit School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 73 of the 1,518 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 4.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does South Summit School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $7,060,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,112 per student. Divided by the 92 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $77,116 per teacher, more than 74 in 100 Utah districts (state median $68,176). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Utah teacher salary at $58,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. What is the graduation rate in South Summit School District?
    90-94% of the 131 students in South Summit School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.3% across Utah. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is South Summit School District's NCES district ID?
    4900990. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25