Borden-Henryville School Corporation

Public school district · Clark County · Indiana · NCES district ID 1800212

Borden-Henryville School Corporation spent $13,177 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 73% of the other Indiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,329). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,733 students in 2024-25; 66.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,192 per student, up 0.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Indiana: 88.1%).

Spending per student among Indiana districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Borden-Henryville School Corporation in enrollment (1,653 to 1,777 students) and Borden-Henryville School Corporation itself.

Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Borden-Henryville School Corporation, FY23Brown County School Corporation $14,439; Borden-Henryville School Corporation $13,177; Southwest School Corporation $12,997; Garrett-Keyser-Butler Com Sch Corp $12,053; Eastbrook Schools $11,196; Centerville-Abington Com Schs $10,958; Baugo Community Schools $10,808; Salem Community Schools $10,700; Knox Community School Corporation $10,246; Cloverdale Community School Corporation $9,654; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k10k12k14k16kBrown County School Corporation$14,439Borden-Henryville School Corpo…$13,177Southwest School Corporation$12,997Garrett-Keyser-Butler Com Sch …$12,053Eastbrook Schools$11,196Centerville-Abington Com Schs$10,958Baugo Community Schools$10,808Salem Community Schools$10,700Knox Community School Corporat…$10,246Cloverdale Community School Co…$9,654State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Borden-Henryville School Corporation, FY23Brown County School Corporation $14,439; Borden-Henryville School Corporation $13,177; Southwest School Corporation $12,997; Garrett-Keyser-Butler Com Sch Corp $12,053; Eastbrook Schools $11,196; Centerville-Abington Com Schs $10,958; Baugo Community Schools $10,808; Salem Community Schools $10,700; Knox Community School Corporation $10,246; Cloverdale Community School Corporation $9,654; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k10k12k14k16kBrown County School Corporation$14,439Borden-Henryville School Corporation$13,177Southwest School Corporation$12,997Garrett-Keyser-Butler Com Sch Corp$12,053Eastbrook Schools$11,196Centerville-Abington Com Schs$10,958Baugo Community Schools$10,808Salem Community Schools$10,700Knox Community School Corporation$10,246Cloverdale Community School Corpora…$9,654State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Borden-Henryville School Corporation, FY23Brown County School Corporation $14,439; Borden-Henryville School Corporation $13,177; Southwest School Corporation $12,997; Garrett-Keyser-Butler Com Sch Corp $12,053; Eastbrook Schools $11,196; Centerville-Abington Com Schs $10,958; Baugo Community Schools $10,808; Salem Community Schools $10,700; Knox Community School Corporation $10,246; Cloverdale Community School Corporation $9,654; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k12k16kBrown County School Corporation$14,439Borden-Henryville School Corporation$13,177Southwest School Corporation$12,997Garrett-Keyser-Butler Com Sch Corp$12,053Eastbrook Schools$11,196Centerville-Abington Com Schs$10,958Baugo Community Schools$10,808Salem Community Schools$10,700Knox Community School Corporation$10,246Cloverdale Community School Corporation$9,654State median, 1,000+ students $12,329
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Borden-Henryville School Corporation, FY23Brown County School Corporation $14,439; Borden-Henryville School Corporation $13,177; Southwest School Corporation $12,997; Garrett-Keyser-Butler Com Sch Corp $12,053; Eastbrook Schools $11,196; Centerville-Abington Com Schs $10,958; Baugo Community Schools $10,808; Salem Community Schools $10,700; Knox Community School Corporation $10,246; Cloverdale Community School Corporation $9,654; State median, 1,000+ students $12,329.8k12k16kBrown County School Corporation$14,439Borden-Henryville School Corporation$13,177Southwest School Corporation$12,997Garrett-Keyser-Butler Com Sch Corp$12,053Eastbrook Schools$11,196Centerville-Abington Com Schs$10,958Baugo Community Schools$10,808Salem Community Schools$10,700Knox Community School Corporation$10,246Cloverdale Community School Corporation$9,654State median, 1,000+ students $12,329

Where the money came from

$23,572,000 in revenue: 66.4% state, 26.6% local and 7.0% federal. Total spending including $6,031,000 of capital outlay was $29,088,000, or $16,951 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Borden-Henryville School Corporation revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $15,645,000; Local $6,270,000; Federal $1,657,000; total $23,572,000.
  • State$15,645,000 66%
  • Local$6,270,000 27%
  • Federal$1,657,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 240 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,716 students in 2022-23, 1,743 students in 2023-24, 1,733 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Borden-Henryville School Corporation enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,716, 2023-24: 1,743, 2024-25: 1,73305001k1.5k2k2022-231,7162023-241,7432024-251,733
Borden-Henryville School Corporation enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,716, 2023-24: 1,743, 2024-25: 1,73305001k1.5k2k2022-231,7162023-241,7432024-251,733
Borden-Henryville School Corporation enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,716, 2023-24: 1,743, 2024-25: 1,73305001k1.5k2k2022-231,7162023-241,7432024-251,733
Borden-Henryville School Corporation enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,716, 2023-24: 1,743, 2024-25: 1,73305001k1.5k2k2022-231,7162023-241,7432024-251,733

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,716115.014.9
2023-241,743124.014.1
2024-251,733131.013.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,135,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,575 per student

Borden-Henryville School Corporation booked $6,135,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 115 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $53,348 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 64 in 100 Indiana districts with a figure (state median $51,375, 357 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,036,00082.1%
Special education$968,00015.8%
Vocational$41,0000.7%
Other programs$90,0001.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2020-21 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,370 in 2020-21, $3,206 in 2021-22, $3,575 in 2022-23.

Borden-Henryville School Corporation teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2020-21: $2,370, 2021-22: $3,206, 2022-23: $3,57501k2k3k4k2020-21$2,3702021-22$3,2062022-23$3,575
Borden-Henryville School Corporation teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2020-21: $2,370, 2021-22: $3,206, 2022-23: $3,57501k2k3k4k2020-21$2,3702021-22$3,2062022-23$3,575
Borden-Henryville School Corporation teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2020-21: $2,370, 2021-22: $3,206, 2022-23: $3,57501k2k3k4k2020-21$2,3702021-22$3,2062022-23$3,575
Borden-Henryville School Corporation teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2020-21: $2,370, 2021-22: $3,206, 2022-23: $3,57501k2k3k4k2020-21$2,3702021-22$3,2062022-23$3,575

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Borden-Henryville School Corporation scored proficient or above: 44% in reading and 35% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Indiana, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIndianaStudents tested
Reading and language arts44%41.3%915
Math35%37.5%914

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 109 students in Borden-Henryville School Corporation's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIndiana
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%88.1%
Students in the class10977,216

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 944 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Henryville Elementary School61113.335.7%Schoolwide program
William W Borden Elementary School33313.637.2%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 789 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Henryville Jr & Sr High School48714.128.1%Eligible, no program
William W Borden High School30211.623.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Borden-Henryville School Corporation

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Borden-Henryville School Corporation

  1. Indiana districts by spending per studentBorden-Henryville School Corporation ranks 66 of 240 Indiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,177).#66 of 240
  2. Every school district in IndianaBorden-Henryville School Corporation is the number 151 by size of 414 Indiana districts, with 1,716 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#151 of 414
  3. Southwest School CorporationThe next larger Indiana district: 1,743 students in fall 2022, $12,997 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,997
  4. Cloverdale Community School CorporationThe next smaller Indiana district: 1,686 students in fall 2022, $9,654 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,654
  5. Compare Borden-Henryville School Corporation with Southwest School CorporationEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Henryville Jr & Sr High School, its largest high school487 students in 2024-25, 14.1 per teacher.487
  7. Teacher salary spending across IndianaBorden-Henryville School Corporation spent $53,348 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,375); spending, not a salary.$53,348
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Borden-Henryville School Corporation

  1. How many schools and students are in Borden-Henryville School Corporation?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 2 high), enrolling 1,733 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Borden-Henryville School Corporation spend per student?
    $13,177 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Indiana median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,329 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,192 per student, up 0.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Borden-Henryville School Corporation's money come from?
    $23,572,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 66.4% state, 26.6% local and 7.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Borden-Henryville School Corporation live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 179 of the 2,787 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Borden-Henryville School Corporation spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,135,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,575 per student. Divided by the 115 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $53,348 per teacher, more than 64 in 100 Indiana districts (state median $51,375). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Borden-Henryville School Corporation do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Borden-Henryville School Corporation scored proficient or above: 44% in reading and 35% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Indiana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Borden-Henryville School Corporation?
    90-94% of the 109 students in Borden-Henryville School Corporation's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Borden-Henryville School Corporation's NCES district ID?
    1800212. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25