Rsu 68/Msad 68

Public school district · Piscataquis County · Maine · NCES district ID 2314761

Rsu 68/Msad 68 spent $9,878 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 99% of the other Maine districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $20,194). Its 2 schools enrolled 668 students in 2024-25; 49.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,431 per student, up 5.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Maine districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Rsu 68/Msad 68 in enrollment (845 to 1,135 students) and Rsu 68/Msad 68 itself.

Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 68/Msad 68, FY23Kittery $22,127; Winslow Schools $20,418; Rsu 25 $19,676; Rsu 55/Msad 55 $16,728; Rsu 67 $16,546; Rsu 03/Msad 03 $15,673; Rsu 64/Msad 64 $15,146; Rsu 72/Msad 72 $13,769; Rsu 53/Msad 53 $12,798; Rsu 68/Msad 68 $9,878; State median, under 1,000 students $20,194.5k10k15k20k25kKittery$22,127Winslow Schools$20,418Rsu 25$19,676Rsu 55/Msad 55$16,728Rsu 67$16,546Rsu 03/Msad 03$15,673Rsu 64/Msad 64$15,146Rsu 72/Msad 72$13,769Rsu 53/Msad 53$12,798Rsu 68/Msad 68$9,878State median, under 1,000 students $20,194
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 68/Msad 68, FY23Kittery $22,127; Winslow Schools $20,418; Rsu 25 $19,676; Rsu 55/Msad 55 $16,728; Rsu 67 $16,546; Rsu 03/Msad 03 $15,673; Rsu 64/Msad 64 $15,146; Rsu 72/Msad 72 $13,769; Rsu 53/Msad 53 $12,798; Rsu 68/Msad 68 $9,878; State median, under 1,000 students $20,194.5k10k15k20k25kKittery$22,127Winslow Schools$20,418Rsu 25$19,676Rsu 55/Msad 55$16,728Rsu 67$16,546Rsu 03/Msad 03$15,673Rsu 64/Msad 64$15,146Rsu 72/Msad 72$13,769Rsu 53/Msad 53$12,798Rsu 68/Msad 68$9,878State median, under 1,000 students $20,194
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 68/Msad 68, FY23Kittery $22,127; Winslow Schools $20,418; Rsu 25 $19,676; Rsu 55/Msad 55 $16,728; Rsu 67 $16,546; Rsu 03/Msad 03 $15,673; Rsu 64/Msad 64 $15,146; Rsu 72/Msad 72 $13,769; Rsu 53/Msad 53 $12,798; Rsu 68/Msad 68 $9,878; State median, under 1,000 students $20,194.5k15k25kKittery$22,127Winslow Schools$20,418Rsu 25$19,676Rsu 55/Msad 55$16,728Rsu 67$16,546Rsu 03/Msad 03$15,673Rsu 64/Msad 64$15,146Rsu 72/Msad 72$13,769Rsu 53/Msad 53$12,798Rsu 68/Msad 68$9,878State median, under 1,000 students $20,194
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 68/Msad 68, FY23Kittery $22,127; Winslow Schools $20,418; Rsu 25 $19,676; Rsu 55/Msad 55 $16,728; Rsu 67 $16,546; Rsu 03/Msad 03 $15,673; Rsu 64/Msad 64 $15,146; Rsu 72/Msad 72 $13,769; Rsu 53/Msad 53 $12,798; Rsu 68/Msad 68 $9,878; State median, under 1,000 students $20,194.5k15k25kKittery$22,127Winslow Schools$20,418Rsu 25$19,676Rsu 55/Msad 55$16,728Rsu 67$16,546Rsu 03/Msad 03$15,673Rsu 64/Msad 64$15,146Rsu 72/Msad 72$13,769Rsu 53/Msad 53$12,798Rsu 68/Msad 68$9,878State median, under 1,000 students $20,194

Where the money came from

$15,815,000 in revenue: 49.5% state, 37.9% local and 12.6% federal. Total spending including $212,000 of capital outlay was $14,745,000, or $14,864 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Rsu 68/Msad 68 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,833,000; Local $5,997,000; Federal $1,985,000; total $15,815,000.
  • State$7,833,000 50%
  • Local$5,997,000 38%
  • Federal$1,985,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 139 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

668 students in 2022-23, 642 students in 2023-24, 668 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Rsu 68/Msad 68 enrollment by school year2022-23: 668, 2023-24: 642, 2024-25: 66802004006008002022-236682023-246422024-25668
Rsu 68/Msad 68 enrollment by school year2022-23: 668, 2023-24: 642, 2024-25: 66802004006008002022-236682023-246422024-25668
Rsu 68/Msad 68 enrollment by school year2022-23: 668, 2023-24: 642, 2024-25: 66802004006008002022-236682023-246422024-25668
Rsu 68/Msad 68 enrollment by school year2022-23: 668, 2023-24: 642, 2024-25: 66802004006008002022-236682023-246422024-25668

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2366849.913.4
2023-2464252.412.3
2024-2566855.312.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,747,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $2,769 per student

Rsu 68/Msad 68 booked $2,747,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 50 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $55,050 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 27 in 100 Maine districts with a figure (state median $60,073, 173 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Maine teacher salary at $58,757 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,352,00085.6%
Special education$373,00013.6%
Other programs$22,0000.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,283 in 2018-19, $2,210 in 2019-20, $2,477 in 2020-21, $2,570 in 2021-22, $2,769 in 2022-23.

Rsu 68/Msad 68 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,283, 2019-20: $2,210, 2020-21: $2,477, 2021-22: $2,570, 2022-23: $2,76901k2k3k2018-19$2,2832019-20$2,2102020-21$2,4772021-22$2,5702022-23$2,769
Rsu 68/Msad 68 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,283, 2019-20: $2,210, 2020-21: $2,477, 2021-22: $2,570, 2022-23: $2,76901k2k3k2018-19$2,2832019-20$2,2102020-21$2,4772021-22$2,5702022-23$2,769
Rsu 68/Msad 68 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,283, 2019-20: $2,210, 2020-21: $2,477, 2021-22: $2,570, 2022-23: $2,76901k2k3k2018-19$2,2832019-20$2,2102020-21$2,4772021-22$2,5702022-23$2,769
Rsu 68/Msad 68 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,283, 2019-20: $2,210, 2020-21: $2,477, 2021-22: $2,570, 2022-23: $2,76901k2k3k2018-19$2,2832019-20$2,2102020-21$2,4772021-22$2,5702022-23$2,769

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Rsu 68/Msad 68 scored proficient or above: 83% in reading and 80% in math, against 84.1% in reading and 81.5% in math across Maine. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Maine, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMaineStudents tested
Reading and language arts83%84.1%403
Math80%81.5%404

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 355 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Se Do Mo Cha Elementary School35510.946.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 313 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Se Do Mo Cha Middle School31313.847.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Rsu 68/Msad 68

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Rsu 68/Msad 68

  1. Maine districts by spending per studentRsu 68/Msad 68 ranks 138 of 139 Maine districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($9,878).#138 of 139
  2. Every school district in MaineRsu 68/Msad 68 is the number 65 by size of 234 Maine districts, with 992 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#65 of 234
  3. Rsu 55/Msad 55The next larger Maine district: 998 students in fall 2022, $16,728 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,728
  4. Kittery School DistrictThe next smaller Maine district: 959 students in fall 2022, $22,127 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$22,127
  5. Compare Rsu 68/Msad 68 with Rsu 55/Msad 55Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across MaineRsu 68/Msad 68 spent $55,050 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $60,073); spending, not a salary.$55,050
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Rsu 68/Msad 68

  1. How many schools and students are in Rsu 68/Msad 68?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 668 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Rsu 68/Msad 68 spend per student?
    $9,878 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Maine median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $20,194 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,431 per student, up 5.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Rsu 68/Msad 68's money come from?
    $15,815,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 49.5% state, 37.9% local and 12.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Rsu 68/Msad 68 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 183 of the 1,082 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Rsu 68/Msad 68 spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,747,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $2,769 per student. Divided by the 50 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $55,050 per teacher, more than 27 in 100 Maine districts (state median $60,073). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Maine teacher salary at $58,757 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Rsu 68/Msad 68 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Rsu 68/Msad 68 scored proficient or above: 83% in reading and 80% in math, against 84.1% in reading and 81.5% in math across Maine. Maine's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Rsu 68/Msad 68's NCES district ID?
    2314761. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25