Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3

Public school district · Whiteside County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1732830

Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 spent $13,741 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 82% of the other Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,409). Its 4 schools enrolled 738 students in 2024-25; 40.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,473 per student, up 12.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-79% (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 in enrollment (778 to 803 students) and Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3, FY23South Holland SD 150 $17,995; Richland School District 88A $17,968; Lincoln CHSD 404 $17,162; Gavin SD 37 $15,247; LeRoy CUSD 2 $15,113; Central CUSD 3 $13,861; Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 $13,741; Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School District 70 $13,415; Wolf Branch $12,965; St Joseph CCSD 169 $12,336; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k12k14k16k18k20kSouth Holland SD 150$17,995Richland School District 88A$17,968Lincoln CHSD 404$17,162Gavin SD 37$15,247LeRoy CUSD 2$15,113Central CUSD 3$13,861Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CU…$13,741Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated Sc…$13,415Wolf Branch$12,965St Joseph CCSD 169$12,336State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3, FY23South Holland SD 150 $17,995; Richland School District 88A $17,968; Lincoln CHSD 404 $17,162; Gavin SD 37 $15,247; LeRoy CUSD 2 $15,113; Central CUSD 3 $13,861; Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 $13,741; Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School District 70 $13,415; Wolf Branch $12,965; St Joseph CCSD 169 $12,336; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k12k14k16k18k20kSouth Holland SD 150$17,995Richland School District 88A$17,968Lincoln CHSD 404$17,162Gavin SD 37$15,247LeRoy CUSD 2$15,113Central CUSD 3$13,861Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3$13,741Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School …$13,415Wolf Branch$12,965St Joseph CCSD 169$12,336State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3, FY23South Holland SD 150 $17,995; Richland School District 88A $17,968; Lincoln CHSD 404 $17,162; Gavin SD 37 $15,247; LeRoy CUSD 2 $15,113; Central CUSD 3 $13,861; Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 $13,741; Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School District 70 $13,415; Wolf Branch $12,965; St Joseph CCSD 169 $12,336; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k14k18k20kSouth Holland SD 150$17,995Richland School District 88A$17,968Lincoln CHSD 404$17,162Gavin SD 37$15,247LeRoy CUSD 2$15,113Central CUSD 3$13,861Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3$13,741Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School District…$13,415Wolf Branch$12,965St Joseph CCSD 169$12,336State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3, FY23South Holland SD 150 $17,995; Richland School District 88A $17,968; Lincoln CHSD 404 $17,162; Gavin SD 37 $15,247; LeRoy CUSD 2 $15,113; Central CUSD 3 $13,861; Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 $13,741; Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School District 70 $13,415; Wolf Branch $12,965; St Joseph CCSD 169 $12,336; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k14k18k20kSouth Holland SD 150$17,995Richland School District 88A$17,968Lincoln CHSD 404$17,162Gavin SD 37$15,247LeRoy CUSD 2$15,113Central CUSD 3$13,861Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3$13,741Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School Dist…$13,415Wolf Branch$12,965St Joseph CCSD 169$12,336State median, under 1,000 students $16,409

Where the money came from

$14,765,000 in revenue: 40.6% state, 47.7% local and 11.7% federal. Total spending including $566,000 of capital outlay was $12,512,000, or $15,818 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,988,000; Local $7,050,000; Federal $1,727,000; total $14,765,000.
  • State$5,988,000 41%
  • Local$7,050,000 48%
  • Federal$1,727,000 12%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 468 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

791 students in 2022-23, 765 students in 2023-24, 738 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 enrollment by school year2022-23: 791, 2023-24: 765, 2024-25: 73802004006008002022-237912023-247652024-25738
Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 enrollment by school year2022-23: 791, 2023-24: 765, 2024-25: 73802004006008002022-237912023-247652024-25738
Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 enrollment by school year2022-23: 791, 2023-24: 765, 2024-25: 73802004006008002022-237912023-247652024-25738
Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 enrollment by school year2022-23: 791, 2023-24: 765, 2024-25: 73802004006008002022-237912023-247652024-25738

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2379155.114.4
2023-2476555.513.8
2024-2573856.013.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 scored proficient or above: 41% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts41%29.9%378

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

70-79% of the 48 students in Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate70‑79%87.6%
Students in the class48149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 385 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Prophetstown Elementary School22915.4not reportedSchoolwide program
Tampico Elementary School15613.0not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 148 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
PLT Middle School14811.2not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 205 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Prophetstown High School20512.9not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentProphetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 ranks 386 of 468 Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,741).#386 of 468
  2. Every school district in IllinoisProphetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 is the number 459 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 791 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#459 of 865
  3. Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School District 70The next larger Illinois district: 796 students in fall 2022, $13,415 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,415
  4. Lincoln CHSD 404The next smaller Illinois district: 786 students in fall 2022, $17,162 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,162
  5. Compare Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 with Freeburg Cmnty Consolidated School District 70Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Prophetstown High School, its largest high school205 students in 2024-25, 12.9 per teacher.205
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3

  1. How many schools and students are in Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 738 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 spend per student?
    $13,741 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,409 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,473 per student, up 12.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3's money come from?
    $14,765,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 40.6% state, 47.7% local and 11.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 99 of the 909 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3 scored proficient or above: 41% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3?
    70-79% of the 48 students in Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico CUSD3's NCES district ID?
    1732830. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25