Pershing County School District

Public school district · Pershing County · Nevada · NCES district ID 3200420

Pershing County School District spent $18,081 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23. Its 4 schools enrolled 666 students in 2024-25; 76.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,617 per student, up 30.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Nevada: 81.4%).

Spending per student among Nevada districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Pershing County in enrollment (88 to 3,329 students) and Pershing County itself.

Current spending per student, Nevada districts closest in size to Pershing County, FY23Esmeralda County $35,114; Eureka County $28,030; Davidson Academy $23,724; Storey County $20,563; Mineral County $18,490; Pershing County $18,081; Lincoln County $16,711; White Pine County $16,685; Lander County $14,753; Humboldt County $14,283; State median, under 1,000 students $20,563.10k20k30k40kEsmeralda County$35,114Eureka County$28,030Davidson Academy$23,724Storey County$20,563Mineral County$18,490Pershing County$18,081Lincoln County$16,711White Pine County$16,685Lander County$14,753Humboldt County$14,283State median, under 1,000 students $20,563
Current spending per student, Nevada districts closest in size to Pershing County, FY23Esmeralda County $35,114; Eureka County $28,030; Davidson Academy $23,724; Storey County $20,563; Mineral County $18,490; Pershing County $18,081; Lincoln County $16,711; White Pine County $16,685; Lander County $14,753; Humboldt County $14,283; State median, under 1,000 students $20,563.10k20k30k40kEsmeralda County$35,114Eureka County$28,030Davidson Academy$23,724Storey County$20,563Mineral County$18,490Pershing County$18,081Lincoln County$16,711White Pine County$16,685Lander County$14,753Humboldt County$14,283State median, under 1,000 students $20,563
Current spending per student, Nevada districts closest in size to Pershing County, FY23Esmeralda County $35,114; Eureka County $28,030; Davidson Academy $23,724; Storey County $20,563; Mineral County $18,490; Pershing County $18,081; Lincoln County $16,711; White Pine County $16,685; Lander County $14,753; Humboldt County $14,283; State median, under 1,000 students $20,563.10k20k30k40kEsmeralda County$35,114Eureka County$28,030Davidson Academy$23,724Storey County$20,563Mineral County$18,490Pershing County$18,081Lincoln County$16,711White Pine County$16,685Lander County$14,753Humboldt County$14,283State median, under 1,000 students $20,563
Current spending per student, Nevada districts closest in size to Pershing County, FY23Esmeralda County $35,114; Eureka County $28,030; Davidson Academy $23,724; Storey County $20,563; Mineral County $18,490; Pershing County $18,081; Lincoln County $16,711; White Pine County $16,685; Lander County $14,753; Humboldt County $14,283; State median, under 1,000 students $20,563.10k20k30k40kEsmeralda County$35,114Eureka County$28,030Davidson Academy$23,724Storey County$20,563Mineral County$18,490Pershing County$18,081Lincoln County$16,711White Pine County$16,685Lander County$14,753Humboldt County$14,283State median, under 1,000 students $20,563

Where the money came from

$14,398,000 in revenue: 76.2% state, 10.1% local and 13.7% federal. Total spending including $1,626,000 of capital outlay was $14,609,000, or $22,035 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Pershing County School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,974,000; Local $1,447,000; Federal $1,977,000; total $14,398,000.
  • State$10,974,000 76%
  • Local$1,447,000 10%
  • Federal$1,977,000 14%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 7 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

663 students in 2022-23, 636 students in 2023-24, 666 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Pershing County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 663, 2023-24: 636, 2024-25: 66602004006008002022-236632023-246362024-25666
Pershing County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 663, 2023-24: 636, 2024-25: 66602004006008002022-236632023-246362024-25666
Pershing County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 663, 2023-24: 636, 2024-25: 66602004006008002022-236632023-246362024-25666
Pershing County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 663, 2023-24: 636, 2024-25: 66602004006008002022-236632023-246362024-25666

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2366345.014.7
2023-2463647.013.5
2024-2566644.015.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,000,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,525 per student

Pershing County School District booked $3,000,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 46 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $65,217 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 33 in 100 Nevada districts with a figure (state median $68,256, 13 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nevada teacher salary at $57,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,354,00078.5%
Special education$527,00017.6%
Vocational$87,0002.9%
Other programs$32,0001.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,515 in 2018-19, $4,908 in 2019-20, $5,298 in 2020-21, $4,499 in 2021-22, $4,525 in 2022-23.

Pershing County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,515, 2019-20: $4,908, 2020-21: $5,298, 2021-22: $4,499, 2022-23: $4,52502k4k6k2018-19$5,5152019-20$4,9082020-21$5,2982021-22$4,4992022-23$4,525
Pershing County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,515, 2019-20: $4,908, 2020-21: $5,298, 2021-22: $4,499, 2022-23: $4,52502k4k6k2018-19$5,5152019-20$4,9082020-21$5,2982021-22$4,4992022-23$4,525
Pershing County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,515, 2019-20: $4,908, 2020-21: $5,298, 2021-22: $4,499, 2022-23: $4,52502k4k6k2018-19$5,5152019-20$4,9082020-21$5,2982021-22$4,4992022-23$4,525
Pershing County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,515, 2019-20: $4,908, 2020-21: $5,298, 2021-22: $4,499, 2022-23: $4,52502k4k6k2018-19$5,5152019-20$4,9082020-21$5,2982021-22$4,4992022-23$4,525

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Pershing County School District scored proficient or above: 35% in reading and 16% in math, against 43.5% in reading and 28.4% in math across Nevada. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Nevada, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNevadaStudents tested
Reading and language arts35%43.5%343
Math16%28.4%343

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 43 students in Pershing County School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.4% across Nevada. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNevada
Four-year graduation rate90% or more81.4%
Students in the class4338,348

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 317 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lovelock Elementary School30115.1100.0%Schoolwide program
Imlay Elementary School1616.0100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 162 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pershing County Middle School16215.441.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 187 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pershing County High School18715.0100.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Pershing County School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Pershing County School District

  1. Every school district in NevadaPershing County School District is the number 14 by size of 20 Nevada districts, with 663 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#14 of 20
  2. Lincoln County School DistrictThe next larger Nevada district: 958 students in fall 2022, $16,711 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,711
  3. Mineral County School DistrictThe next smaller Nevada district: 613 students in fall 2022, $18,490 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,490
  4. Compare Pershing County School District with Lincoln County School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  5. Pershing County High School, its largest high school187 students in 2024-25, 15.0 per teacher.187
  6. Teacher salary spending across NevadaPershing County School District spent $65,217 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $68,256); spending, not a salary.$65,217
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Pershing County School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Pershing County School District?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 666 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Pershing County School District spend per student?
    $18,081 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,617 per student, up 30.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Pershing County School District's money come from?
    $14,398,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 76.2% state, 10.1% local and 13.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Pershing County School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 127 of the 826 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Pershing County School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,525 per student. Divided by the 46 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $65,217 per teacher, more than 33 in 100 Nevada districts (state median $68,256). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nevada teacher salary at $57,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Pershing County School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Pershing County School District scored proficient or above: 35% in reading and 16% in math, against 43.5% in reading and 28.4% in math across Nevada. Nevada's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Pershing County School District?
    90% or more of the 43 students in Pershing County School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.4% across Nevada. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Pershing County School District's NCES district ID?
    3200420. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25