Moreland
Public school district · Santa Clara County · California · NCES district ID 0625770
Moreland spent $17,654 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 59% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,855). Its 7 schools enrolled 3,788 students in 2024-25; 34.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,232 per student, up 14.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Moreland in enrollment (3,877 to 3,976 students) and Moreland itself.
Where the money came from
$98,806,000 in revenue: 34.8% state, 59.3% local and 5.9% federal. Total spending including $15,797,000 of capital outlay was $91,972,000, or $23,343 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$34,383,000 35%
- Local$58,626,000 59%
- Federal$5,797,000 6%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
3,930 students in 2022-23, 3,849 students in 2023-24, 3,788 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 3,930 | 187.5 | 21.0 |
| 2023-24 | 3,849 | 190.3 | 20.2 |
| 2024-25 | 3,788 | 187.5 | 20.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$21,651,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,495 per student
Moreland booked $21,651,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 187 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $115,478 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 75 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $17,711,000 | 81.8% |
| Special education | $3,735,000 | 17.3% |
| Other programs | $205,000 | 0.9% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,442 in 2018-19, $4,399 in 2019-20, $4,639 in 2020-21, $5,056 in 2021-22, $5,495 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Moreland scored proficient or above: 65% in reading and 57% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 65% | 45% | 2,646 |
| Math | 57% | 34% | 2,695 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
6 elementary schools, 3,081 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Easterbrook Discovery | 952 | 22.3 | 21.0% | Not reported |
| Latimer | 491 | 19.8 | 40.1% | Not reported |
| Country Lane Elementary | 444 | 21.1 | 27.9% | Not reported |
| George C. Payne Elementary | 417 | 20.3 | 27.1% | Not reported |
| Gussie M. Baker Elementary | 400 | 20.0 | 16.8% | Not reported |
| Leroy Anderson Elementary | 377 | 21.5 | 77.7% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 707 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moreland Middle | 707 | 17.3 | 33.5% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Moreland
- Website: moreland.org
- Phone: (408) 874-2901
- Office: 4711 Campbell Ave., San Jose, CA 95130
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Moreland
- California districts by spending per studentMoreland ranks 264 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,654).#264 of 646
- Every school district in CaliforniaMoreland is the number 328 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 3,940 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#328 of 1,991
- Belmont-Redwood Shores School DistrictThe next larger California district: 3,945 students in fall 2022, $14,744 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,744
- Mendota UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 3,920 students in fall 2022, $16,730 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,730
- Compare Moreland with Belmont-Redwood Shores School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaMoreland spent $115,478 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$115,478
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Moreland
How many schools and students are in Moreland?
7 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 3,788 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Moreland spend per student?
$17,654 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,232 per student, up 14.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Moreland's money come from?
$98,806,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 34.8% state, 59.3% local and 5.9% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Moreland live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 354 of the 5,372 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Moreland spend on teacher salaries?
$21,651,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,495 per student. Divided by the 187 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $115,478 per teacher, more than 75 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Moreland do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Moreland scored proficient or above: 65% in reading and 57% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Moreland's NCES district ID?
0625770. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25