Monroe County Board of Education

Listed by NCES as Monroe County (district ID 0102400)

Public school district · Monroe County · Alabama · NCES district ID 0102400

Monroe County Board of Education spent $13,365 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 70% of the other Alabama districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,720). Its 7 schools enrolled 2,963 students in 2024-25; 56.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,762 per student, up 3.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 83% (Alabama: 90%).

Spending per student among Alabama districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Monroe County Board of Education in enrollment (2,896 to 3,270 students) and Monroe County Board of Education itself.

Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Monroe County Board of Education, FY23Bessemer City Schools $15,437; Bibb County Schools $13,558; Monroe County Board of Education $13,365; Chambers County $13,105; Muscle Shoals City Schools $12,852; Alexander City $12,834; Cullman City Schools $12,808; Butler County $12,670; Dale County $12,213; Covington County Schools $11,826; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.10k12k14k16kBessemer City Schools$15,437Bibb County Schools$13,558Monroe County Board of Educati…$13,365Chambers County$13,105Muscle Shoals City Schools$12,852Alexander City$12,834Cullman City Schools$12,808Butler County$12,670Dale County$12,213Covington County Schools$11,826State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Monroe County Board of Education, FY23Bessemer City Schools $15,437; Bibb County Schools $13,558; Monroe County Board of Education $13,365; Chambers County $13,105; Muscle Shoals City Schools $12,852; Alexander City $12,834; Cullman City Schools $12,808; Butler County $12,670; Dale County $12,213; Covington County Schools $11,826; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.10k12k14k16kBessemer City Schools$15,437Bibb County Schools$13,558Monroe County Board of Education$13,365Chambers County$13,105Muscle Shoals City Schools$12,852Alexander City$12,834Cullman City Schools$12,808Butler County$12,670Dale County$12,213Covington County Schools$11,826State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Monroe County Board of Education, FY23Bessemer City Schools $15,437; Bibb County Schools $13,558; Monroe County Board of Education $13,365; Chambers County $13,105; Muscle Shoals City Schools $12,852; Alexander City $12,834; Cullman City Schools $12,808; Butler County $12,670; Dale County $12,213; Covington County Schools $11,826; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.10k12k14k16kBessemer City Schools$15,437Bibb County Schools$13,558Monroe County Board of Education$13,365Chambers County$13,105Muscle Shoals City Schools$12,852Alexander City$12,834Cullman City Schools$12,808Butler County$12,670Dale County$12,213Covington County Schools$11,826State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Monroe County Board of Education, FY23Bessemer City Schools $15,437; Bibb County Schools $13,558; Monroe County Board of Education $13,365; Chambers County $13,105; Muscle Shoals City Schools $12,852; Alexander City $12,834; Cullman City Schools $12,808; Butler County $12,670; Dale County $12,213; Covington County Schools $11,826; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.10k12k14k16kBessemer City Schools$15,437Bibb County Schools$13,558Monroe County Board of Education$13,365Chambers County$13,105Muscle Shoals City Schools$12,852Alexander City$12,834Cullman City Schools$12,808Butler County$12,670Dale County$12,213Covington County Schools$11,826State median, 1,000+ students $12,720

Where the money came from

$47,808,000 in revenue: 56.8% state, 19.2% local and 24.0% federal. Total spending including $3,396,000 of capital outlay was $46,282,000, or $15,041 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Monroe County Board of Education revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $27,165,000; Local $9,159,000; Federal $11,484,000; total $47,808,000.
  • State$27,165,000 57%
  • Local$9,159,000 19%
  • Federal$11,484,000 24%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 130 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,077 students in 2022-23, 3,031 students in 2023-24, 2,963 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Monroe County Board of Education enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,077, 2023-24: 3,031, 2024-25: 2,96301k2k3k4k2022-233,0772023-243,0312024-252,963
Monroe County Board of Education enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,077, 2023-24: 3,031, 2024-25: 2,96301k2k3k4k2022-233,0772023-243,0312024-252,963
Monroe County Board of Education enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,077, 2023-24: 3,031, 2024-25: 2,96301k2k3k4k2022-233,0772023-243,0312024-252,963
Monroe County Board of Education enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,077, 2023-24: 3,031, 2024-25: 2,96301k2k3k4k2022-233,0772023-243,0312024-252,963

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,077181.517.0
2023-243,031184.016.5
2024-252,963180.716.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$12,082,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,927 per student

Monroe County Board of Education booked $12,082,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 182 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $66,567 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 43 in 100 Alabama districts with a figure (state median $66,861, 140 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Alabama teacher salary at $55,834 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$9,699,00080.3%
Special education$1,245,00010.3%
Vocational$777,0006.4%
Other programs$361,0003.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,235 in 2018-19, $3,353 in 2019-20, $3,649 in 2020-21, $3,787 in 2021-22, $3,927 in 2022-23.

Monroe County Board of Education teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,235, 2019-20: $3,353, 2020-21: $3,649, 2021-22: $3,787, 2022-23: $3,92701k2k3k4k2018-19$3,2352019-20$3,3532020-21$3,6492021-22$3,7872022-23$3,927
Monroe County Board of Education teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,235, 2019-20: $3,353, 2020-21: $3,649, 2021-22: $3,787, 2022-23: $3,92701k2k3k4k2018-19$3,2352019-20$3,3532020-21$3,6492021-22$3,7872022-23$3,927
Monroe County Board of Education teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,235, 2019-20: $3,353, 2020-21: $3,649, 2021-22: $3,787, 2022-23: $3,92701k2k3k4k2018-19$3,2352019-20$3,3532020-21$3,6492021-22$3,7872022-23$3,927
Monroe County Board of Education teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,235, 2019-20: $3,353, 2020-21: $3,649, 2021-22: $3,787, 2022-23: $3,92701k2k3k4k2018-19$3,2352019-20$3,3532020-21$3,6492021-22$3,7872022-23$3,927

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Monroe County Board of Education scored proficient or above: 31% in reading and 14% in math, against 47.3% in reading and 27.2% in math across Alabama. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Alabama, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtAlabamaStudents tested
Reading and language arts31%47.3%1,638
Math14%27.2%1,643

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

83% of the 247 students in Monroe County Board of Education's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90% across Alabama. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtAlabama
Four-year graduation rate83%90%
Students in the class24752,928

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 461 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Monroeville Elementary School40616.279.6%Targeted program
Monroe Intermediate School557.990.9%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 264 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Monroeville Middle School26413.980.7%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 302 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Monroe County High School30216.380.5%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 other schools, 1,936 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Excel High School1,01018.559.6%Targeted program
J U Blacksher School74717.953.8%Targeted program
J F Shields High School17911.981.0%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Monroe County Board of Education

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Monroe County Board of Education

  1. Alabama districts by spending per studentMonroe County Board of Education ranks 39 of 130 Alabama districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,365).#39 of 130
  2. Every school district in AlabamaMonroe County Board of Education is the number 64 by size of 149 Alabama districts, with 3,077 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#64 of 149
  3. Bibb County SchoolsThe next larger Alabama district: 3,098 students in fall 2022, $13,558 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,558
  4. Covington County SchoolsThe next smaller Alabama district: 3,040 students in fall 2022, $11,826 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,826
  5. Compare Monroe County Board of Education with Bibb County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Monroe County High School, its largest high school302 students in 2024-25, 16.3 per teacher.302
  7. Teacher salary spending across AlabamaMonroe County Board of Education spent $66,567 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $66,861); spending, not a salary.$66,567
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Monroe County Board of Education

  1. How many schools and students are in Monroe County Board of Education?
    7 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 3 other), enrolling 2,963 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Monroe County Board of Education spend per student?
    $13,365 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Alabama median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,720 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,762 per student, up 3.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Monroe County Board of Education's money come from?
    $47,808,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 56.8% state, 19.2% local and 24.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Monroe County Board of Education live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 853 of the 2,884 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 29.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Monroe County Board of Education spend on teacher salaries?
    $12,082,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,927 per student. Divided by the 182 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $66,567 per teacher, more than 43 in 100 Alabama districts (state median $66,861). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Alabama teacher salary at $55,834 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Monroe County Board of Education do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Monroe County Board of Education scored proficient or above: 31% in reading and 14% in math, against 47.3% in reading and 27.2% in math across Alabama. Alabama's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Monroe County Board of Education?
    83% of the 247 students in Monroe County Board of Education's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90% across Alabama. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Monroe County Board of Education's NCES district ID?
    0102400. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25