Midland Public Schools

Public school district · Midland County · Michigan · NCES district ID 2623820

Midland Public Schools spent $14,162 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 52% of the other Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,214). Its 13 schools enrolled 7,380 students in 2024-25; 62.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,483 per student, up 2.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 93% (Michigan: 81.8%).

Spending per student among Michigan districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Midland Public Schools in enrollment (6,871 to 7,970 students) and Midland Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Midland Public Schools, FY23Birmingham $20,475; Waterford $17,911; Clarkston Community Schools $16,234; Northville Public Schools $15,646; Port Huron Area $15,215; Huron Valley Schools $14,850; Midland Public Schools $14,162; Rockford Public Schools $13,705; Howell Public Schools $13,222; Grand Blanc Community $12,923; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kBirmingham$20,475Waterford$17,911Clarkston Community Schools$16,234Northville Public Schools$15,646Port Huron Area$15,215Huron Valley Schools$14,850Midland Public Schools$14,162Rockford Public Schools$13,705Howell Public Schools$13,222Grand Blanc Community$12,923State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Midland Public Schools, FY23Birmingham $20,475; Waterford $17,911; Clarkston Community Schools $16,234; Northville Public Schools $15,646; Port Huron Area $15,215; Huron Valley Schools $14,850; Midland Public Schools $14,162; Rockford Public Schools $13,705; Howell Public Schools $13,222; Grand Blanc Community $12,923; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kBirmingham$20,475Waterford$17,911Clarkston Community Schools$16,234Northville Public Schools$15,646Port Huron Area$15,215Huron Valley Schools$14,850Midland Public Schools$14,162Rockford Public Schools$13,705Howell Public Schools$13,222Grand Blanc Community$12,923State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Midland Public Schools, FY23Birmingham $20,475; Waterford $17,911; Clarkston Community Schools $16,234; Northville Public Schools $15,646; Port Huron Area $15,215; Huron Valley Schools $14,850; Midland Public Schools $14,162; Rockford Public Schools $13,705; Howell Public Schools $13,222; Grand Blanc Community $12,923; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.10k15k20k22.5kBirmingham$20,475Waterford$17,911Clarkston Community Schools$16,234Northville Public Schools$15,646Port Huron Area$15,215Huron Valley Schools$14,850Midland Public Schools$14,162Rockford Public Schools$13,705Howell Public Schools$13,222Grand Blanc Community$12,923State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Midland Public Schools, FY23Birmingham $20,475; Waterford $17,911; Clarkston Community Schools $16,234; Northville Public Schools $15,646; Port Huron Area $15,215; Huron Valley Schools $14,850; Midland Public Schools $14,162; Rockford Public Schools $13,705; Howell Public Schools $13,222; Grand Blanc Community $12,923; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.10k15k20k22.5kBirmingham$20,475Waterford$17,911Clarkston Community Schools$16,234Northville Public Schools$15,646Port Huron Area$15,215Huron Valley Schools$14,850Midland Public Schools$14,162Rockford Public Schools$13,705Howell Public Schools$13,222Grand Blanc Community$12,923State median, 1,000+ students $14,214

Where the money came from

$121,205,000 in revenue: 62.7% state, 31.6% local and 5.7% federal. Total spending including $9,797,000 of capital outlay was $119,447,000, or $16,063 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Midland Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $75,958,000; Local $38,336,000; Federal $6,911,000; total $121,205,000.
  • State$75,958,000 63%
  • Local$38,336,000 32%
  • Federal$6,911,000 6%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 347 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

7,436 students in 2022-23, 7,359 students in 2023-24, 7,380 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Midland Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 7,436, 2023-24: 7,359, 2024-25: 7,38002k4k6k8k2022-237,4362023-247,3592024-257,380
Midland Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 7,436, 2023-24: 7,359, 2024-25: 7,38002k4k6k8k2022-237,4362023-247,3592024-257,380
Midland Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 7,436, 2023-24: 7,359, 2024-25: 7,38002k4k6k8k2022-237,4362023-247,3592024-257,380
Midland Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 7,436, 2023-24: 7,359, 2024-25: 7,38002k4k6k8k2022-237,4362023-247,3592024-257,380

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-237,436424.517.5
2023-247,359441.116.7
2024-257,380433.417.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$29,591,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,979 per student

Midland Public Schools booked $29,591,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 431 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $68,730 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 77 in 100 Michigan districts with a figure (state median $62,387, 536 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$24,036,00081.2%
Special education$4,591,00015.5%
Vocational$667,0002.3%
Other programs$297,0001.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,603 in 2018-19, $3,679 in 2019-20, $3,919 in 2020-21, $3,843 in 2021-22, $3,979 in 2022-23.

Midland Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,603, 2019-20: $3,679, 2020-21: $3,919, 2021-22: $3,843, 2022-23: $3,97901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,6032019-20$3,6792020-21$3,9192021-22$3,8432022-23$3,979
Midland Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,603, 2019-20: $3,679, 2020-21: $3,919, 2021-22: $3,843, 2022-23: $3,97901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,6032019-20$3,6792020-21$3,9192021-22$3,8432022-23$3,979
Midland Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,603, 2019-20: $3,679, 2020-21: $3,919, 2021-22: $3,843, 2022-23: $3,97901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,6032019-20$3,6792020-21$3,9192021-22$3,8432022-23$3,979
Midland Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,603, 2019-20: $3,679, 2020-21: $3,919, 2021-22: $3,843, 2022-23: $3,97901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,6032019-20$3,6792020-21$3,9192021-22$3,8432022-23$3,979

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Midland Public Schools scored proficient or above: 60% in reading and 51% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Michigan, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMichiganStudents tested
Reading and language arts60%44%3,360
Math51%34%3,358

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

93% of the 571 students in Midland Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMichigan
Four-year graduation rate93%81.8%
Students in the class571115,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

7 elementary schools, 3,253 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Central Park Elementary School64615.856.8%Schoolwide program
Siebert Elementary School64318.323.8%Not Title I
Woodcrest Elementary School60017.326.2%Not Title I
Adams Elementary School47916.025.9%Not Title I
Chestnut Hill Elementary School41618.635.1%Not Title I
Plymouth Elementary School40616.448.5%Schoolwide program
PrePrimary Center at Carpenter Street School638.222.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 1,708 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Jefferson Middle School91917.825.6%Not Title I
Northeast Middle School78916.245.5%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 2,401 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
HH Dow High School1,27217.922.9%Not Title I
Midland High School1,12918.137.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 other schools, 18 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Juvenile Care Center113.445.5%Not Title I
Post Secondary Transition Program77.046.7%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Midland Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Midland Public Schools

  1. Michigan districts by spending per studentMidland Public Schools ranks 180 of 347 Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,162).#180 of 347
  2. Every school district in MichiganMidland Public Schools is the number 28 by size of 892 Michigan districts, with 7,436 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#28 of 892
  3. Wayne RESAThe next larger Michigan district: 7,509 students in fall 2022.
  4. Birmingham Public School DistrictThe next smaller Michigan district: 7,314 students in fall 2022, $20,475 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,475
  5. Compare Midland Public Schools with Wayne RESAEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. HH Dow High School, its largest high school1,272 students in 2024-25, 17.9 per teacher.1,272
  7. Teacher salary spending across MichiganMidland Public Schools spent $68,730 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,387); spending, not a salary.$68,730
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Midland Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Midland Public Schools?
    13 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high, 2 other), enrolling 7,380 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Midland Public Schools spend per student?
    $14,162 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Michigan median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,214 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,483 per student, up 2.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Midland Public Schools' money come from?
    $121,205,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 62.7% state, 31.6% local and 5.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Midland Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 702 of the 8,543 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 8.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Midland Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $29,591,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,979 per student. Divided by the 431 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $68,730 per teacher, more than 77 in 100 Michigan districts (state median $62,387). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Midland Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Midland Public Schools scored proficient or above: 60% in reading and 51% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Michigan's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Midland Public Schools?
    93% of the 571 students in Midland Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Midland Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    2623820. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25