Macon County

Public school district · Macon County · Tennessee · NCES district ID 4702550

Macon County spent $9,939 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 93% of the other Tennessee districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $11,310). Its 8 schools enrolled 4,216 students in 2024-25; 60.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,446 per student, up 5.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 91% (Tennessee: 87.3%).

Spending per student among Tennessee districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Macon County in enrollment (3,987 to 4,395 students) and Macon County itself.

Current spending per student, Tennessee districts closest in size to Macon County, FY23Bristol $12,440; Claiborne County Schools $11,671; Coffee County $11,597; Rhea County $11,563; Weakley County $11,298; Lebanon $11,149; Cocke County $11,098; Henderson County Schools $10,487; Lincoln County Schools $10,374; Macon County $9,939; State median, 1,000+ students $11,310.8k10k12k14kBristol$12,440Claiborne County Schools$11,671Coffee County$11,597Rhea County$11,563Weakley County$11,298Lebanon$11,149Cocke County$11,098Henderson County Schools$10,487Lincoln County Schools$10,374Macon County$9,939State median, 1,000+ students $11,310
Current spending per student, Tennessee districts closest in size to Macon County, FY23Bristol $12,440; Claiborne County Schools $11,671; Coffee County $11,597; Rhea County $11,563; Weakley County $11,298; Lebanon $11,149; Cocke County $11,098; Henderson County Schools $10,487; Lincoln County Schools $10,374; Macon County $9,939; State median, 1,000+ students $11,310.8k10k12k14kBristol$12,440Claiborne County Schools$11,671Coffee County$11,597Rhea County$11,563Weakley County$11,298Lebanon$11,149Cocke County$11,098Henderson County Schools$10,487Lincoln County Schools$10,374Macon County$9,939State median, 1,000+ students $11,310
Current spending per student, Tennessee districts closest in size to Macon County, FY23Bristol $12,440; Claiborne County Schools $11,671; Coffee County $11,597; Rhea County $11,563; Weakley County $11,298; Lebanon $11,149; Cocke County $11,098; Henderson County Schools $10,487; Lincoln County Schools $10,374; Macon County $9,939; State median, 1,000+ students $11,310.8k10k12k14kBristol$12,440Claiborne County Schools$11,671Coffee County$11,597Rhea County$11,563Weakley County$11,298Lebanon$11,149Cocke County$11,098Henderson County Schools$10,487Lincoln County Schools$10,374Macon County$9,939State median, 1,000+ students $11,310
Current spending per student, Tennessee districts closest in size to Macon County, FY23Bristol $12,440; Claiborne County Schools $11,671; Coffee County $11,597; Rhea County $11,563; Weakley County $11,298; Lebanon $11,149; Cocke County $11,098; Henderson County Schools $10,487; Lincoln County Schools $10,374; Macon County $9,939; State median, 1,000+ students $11,310.8k10k12k14kBristol$12,440Claiborne County Schools$11,671Coffee County$11,597Rhea County$11,563Weakley County$11,298Lebanon$11,149Cocke County$11,098Henderson County Schools$10,487Lincoln County Schools$10,374Macon County$9,939State median, 1,000+ students $11,310

Where the money came from

$49,814,000 in revenue: 60.2% state, 18.7% local and 21.0% federal. Total spending including $5,518,000 of capital outlay was $48,248,000, or $11,403 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Macon County revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $29,999,000; Local $9,340,000; Federal $10,475,000; total $49,814,000.
  • State$29,999,000 60%
  • Local$9,340,000 19%
  • Federal$10,475,000 21%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 124 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2023-24

4,231 students in 2022-23, 4,235 students in 2023-24, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Macon County enrollment by school year2022-23: 4,231, 2023-24: 4,23502k4k6k2022-234,2312023-244,235
Macon County enrollment by school year2022-23: 4,231, 2023-24: 4,23502k4k6k2022-234,2312023-244,235
Macon County enrollment by school year2022-23: 4,231, 2023-24: 4,23502k4k6k2022-234,2312023-244,235
Macon County enrollment by school year2022-23: 4,231, 2023-24: 4,23502k4k6k2022-234,2312023-244,235

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-234,231258.016.4
2023-244,235235.818.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$13,942,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,295 per student

Macon County booked $13,942,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 258 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $54,039 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 27 in 100 Tennessee districts with a figure (state median $57,379, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Tennessee teacher salary at $53,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$11,765,00084.4%
Special education$1,311,0009.4%
Vocational$755,0005.4%
Other programs$111,0000.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,083 in 2018-19, $3,229 in 2019-20, $3,234 in 2020-21, $3,231 in 2021-22, $3,295 in 2022-23.

Macon County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,083, 2019-20: $3,229, 2020-21: $3,234, 2021-22: $3,231, 2022-23: $3,29501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0832019-20$3,2292020-21$3,2342021-22$3,2312022-23$3,295
Macon County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,083, 2019-20: $3,229, 2020-21: $3,234, 2021-22: $3,231, 2022-23: $3,29501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0832019-20$3,2292020-21$3,2342021-22$3,2312022-23$3,295
Macon County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,083, 2019-20: $3,229, 2020-21: $3,234, 2021-22: $3,231, 2022-23: $3,29501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0832019-20$3,2292020-21$3,2342021-22$3,2312022-23$3,295
Macon County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,083, 2019-20: $3,229, 2020-21: $3,234, 2021-22: $3,231, 2022-23: $3,29501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0832019-20$3,2292020-21$3,2342021-22$3,2312022-23$3,295

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Macon County scored proficient or above: 33% in reading and 36-37% in math, against 35% in reading and 35% in math across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTennesseeStudents tested
Reading and language arts33%35%1,831
Math36-37%35%1,823

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

91% of the 235 students in Macon County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTennessee
Four-year graduation rate91%87.3%
Students in the class23571,510

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

5 elementary schools, 2,146 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Fairlane Elementary47817.6All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Central Elementary47315.3All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Lafayette Elementary School44217.3All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Westside Elementary39017.7All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Red Boiling Springs Elementary36315.5All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 778 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Macon County Junior High School77817.7All free (CEP)Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 1,292 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Macon County High School96417.8All free (CEP)Eligible, no program
Red Boiling Springs School32810.9All free (CEP)Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Macon County

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Macon County

  1. Tennessee districts by spending per studentMacon County ranks 116 of 124 Tennessee districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($9,939).#116 of 124
  2. Every school district in TennesseeMacon County is the number 54 by size of 148 Tennessee districts, with 4,231 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#54 of 148
  3. Cocke CountyThe next larger Tennessee district: 4,339 students in fall 2022, $11,098 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,098
  4. LebanonThe next smaller Tennessee district: 4,221 students in fall 2022, $11,149 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,149
  5. Compare Macon County with Cocke CountyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Macon County High School, its largest high school964 students in 2024-25, 17.8 per teacher.964
  7. Teacher salary spending across TennesseeMacon County spent $54,039 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $57,379); spending, not a salary.$54,039
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Macon County

  1. How many schools and students are in Macon County?
    8 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high), enrolling 4,216 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Macon County spend per student?
    $9,939 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Tennessee median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,310 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,446 per student, up 5.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Macon County's money come from?
    $49,814,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 60.2% state, 18.7% local and 21.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Macon County live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 951 of the 5,044 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 18.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Macon County spend on teacher salaries?
    $13,942,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,295 per student. Divided by the 258 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $54,039 per teacher, more than 27 in 100 Tennessee districts (state median $57,379). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Tennessee teacher salary at $53,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Macon County do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Macon County scored proficient or above: 33% in reading and 36-37% in math, against 35% in reading and 35% in math across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Macon County?
    91% of the 235 students in Macon County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Macon County's NCES district ID?
    4702550. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25