Indian Creek School District

Listed by NCES as Indian Creek CUSD 425 (district ID 1735970)

Public school district · DeKalb County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1735970

Indian Creek School District spent $17,703 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 64% of the other Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,409). Its 3 schools enrolled 750 students in 2024-25; 23.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,266 per student, down 2.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Indian Creek in enrollment (700 to 716 students) and Indian Creek itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Indian Creek, FY23Fairview District 72 $25,362; Roselle SD 12 $17,941; Christopher USD 99 $17,703; Indian Creek $17,703; Amboy Community Unit School District #272 $17,197; East Alton SD 13 $17,061; Eastland CUSD 308 $16,381; Gallatin CUSD 7 $15,645; River Grove SD 85-5 $15,588; Millstadt CCSD 160 $14,006; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k15k20k25k30kFairview District 72$25,362Roselle SD 12$17,941Christopher USD 99$17,703Indian Creek$17,703Amboy Community Unit School Di…$17,197East Alton SD 13$17,061Eastland CUSD 308$16,381Gallatin CUSD 7$15,645River Grove SD 85-5$15,588Millstadt CCSD 160$14,006State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Indian Creek, FY23Fairview District 72 $25,362; Roselle SD 12 $17,941; Christopher USD 99 $17,703; Indian Creek $17,703; Amboy Community Unit School District #272 $17,197; East Alton SD 13 $17,061; Eastland CUSD 308 $16,381; Gallatin CUSD 7 $15,645; River Grove SD 85-5 $15,588; Millstadt CCSD 160 $14,006; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k15k20k25k30kFairview District 72$25,362Roselle SD 12$17,941Christopher USD 99$17,703Indian Creek$17,703Amboy Community Unit School Distric…$17,197East Alton SD 13$17,061Eastland CUSD 308$16,381Gallatin CUSD 7$15,645River Grove SD 85-5$15,588Millstadt CCSD 160$14,006State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Indian Creek, FY23Fairview District 72 $25,362; Roselle SD 12 $17,941; Christopher USD 99 $17,703; Indian Creek $17,703; Amboy Community Unit School District #272 $17,197; East Alton SD 13 $17,061; Eastland CUSD 308 $16,381; Gallatin CUSD 7 $15,645; River Grove SD 85-5 $15,588; Millstadt CCSD 160 $14,006; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k20k30kFairview District 72$25,362Roselle SD 12$17,941Christopher USD 99$17,703Indian Creek$17,703Amboy Community Unit School District #272$17,197East Alton SD 13$17,061Eastland CUSD 308$16,381Gallatin CUSD 7$15,645River Grove SD 85-5$15,588Millstadt CCSD 160$14,006State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Indian Creek, FY23Fairview District 72 $25,362; Roselle SD 12 $17,941; Christopher USD 99 $17,703; Indian Creek $17,703; Amboy Community Unit School District #272 $17,197; East Alton SD 13 $17,061; Eastland CUSD 308 $16,381; Gallatin CUSD 7 $15,645; River Grove SD 85-5 $15,588; Millstadt CCSD 160 $14,006; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.10k20k30kFairview District 72$25,362Roselle SD 12$17,941Christopher USD 99$17,703Indian Creek$17,703Amboy Community Unit School District #2…$17,197East Alton SD 13$17,061Eastland CUSD 308$16,381Gallatin CUSD 7$15,645River Grove SD 85-5$15,588Millstadt CCSD 160$14,006State median, under 1,000 students $16,409

Where the money came from

$17,875,000 in revenue: 23.4% state, 71.3% local and 5.3% federal. Total spending including $2,410,000 of capital outlay was $15,370,000, or $21,617 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Indian Creek School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $4,190,000; Local $12,741,000; Federal $944,000; total $17,875,000.
  • State$4,190,000 23%
  • Local$12,741,000 71%
  • Federal$944,000 5%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 468 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

711 students in 2022-23, 736 students in 2023-24, 750 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Indian Creek School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 711, 2023-24: 736, 2024-25: 75002004006008002022-237112023-247362024-25750
Indian Creek School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 711, 2023-24: 736, 2024-25: 75002004006008002022-237112023-247362024-25750
Indian Creek School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 711, 2023-24: 736, 2024-25: 75002004006008002022-237112023-247362024-25750
Indian Creek School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 711, 2023-24: 736, 2024-25: 75002004006008002022-237112023-247362024-25750

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2371163.011.3
2023-2473665.211.3
2024-2575065.311.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Indian Creek School District scored proficient or above: 27% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts27%29.9%356

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-84% of the 63 students in Indian Creek School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate80‑84%87.6%
Students in the class63149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 269 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Indian Creek Elementary School26910.3not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 213 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Indian Creek Middle School21311.5not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 268 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Indian Creek High School26812.9not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Indian Creek School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Indian Creek School District

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentIndian Creek School District ranks 167 of 468 Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,703).#167 of 468
  2. Every school district in IllinoisIndian Creek School District is the number 484 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 711 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#484 of 865
  3. Eastland CUSD 308The next larger Illinois district: 714 students in fall 2022, $16,381 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,381
  4. Gallatin CUSD 7The next smaller Illinois district: 704 students in fall 2022, $15,645 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,645
  5. Compare Indian Creek School District with Eastland CUSD 308Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Indian Creek High School, its largest high school268 students in 2024-25, 12.9 per teacher.268
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Indian Creek School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Indian Creek School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 750 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Indian Creek School District spend per student?
    $17,703 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,409 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,266 per student, down 2.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Indian Creek School District's money come from?
    $17,875,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 23.4% state, 71.3% local and 5.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Indian Creek School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 44 of the 781 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Indian Creek School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Indian Creek School District scored proficient or above: 27% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Indian Creek School District?
    80-84% of the 63 students in Indian Creek School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Indian Creek School District's NCES district ID?
    1735970. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25